We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa La Vedetta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa La Vedetta
Ranked #67 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 16 February 2008

Whilst the views were phenomenal, our stay in this hotel was marred by the fact that our room smelt of raw sewerage and the shower would not drain causing our bedroom to flood.

They were VERY reluctant to relocate us, instead promising that they would have maintenance look at the issue. I'm not convinced if anyone actually did anything other than add a few more scented sticks to the room. When we arrived back late from our days touring, the room odour was very bad. Again the following morning we complained after enduring the flooding again - I had to insist that they changed our room OR found us another hotel.

Whilst the staff are "friendly" they tend to be very ineffectual. The next room we were given was in the main building which was better, though looking a little tired.

Its a great location for the view BUT if you're wanting to explore the centre of florence then you'd be a lot better located in the centre. This hotel is a litle cut off from town and restaurants/bars are very limited.

  • Liked — The view (the downside is the remote location)
  • Disliked — The smelly rooms and lack of interest shown by staff to resolve the situation
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt_Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    84
    33
    9
    9
See reviews for
95
306
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2008

We stayed at La Vedetta during our Florence wedding and honeymoon in Sept '06 and simply loved it! The views were spectacular and so were the grounds. The staff was super friendly, the room was outstanding and clean. We had dinner that was truly art.

  • Liked — The rooms and the views
  • Disliked — Just be aware that it's not centrally located - which was part of the attraction for us
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sebibond1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire, Scotland
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2008

It would be worth considering this hotel for the panoramic views alone. Outside the hotel grounds are extensive and lovely while inside the rooms are beautiful - both bedrooms and public areas.

The best thing is the service which makes this hotel truly special. This was more than excellent - from the moment we arrived all of the staff knew who we were and genuinely cared about making things perfect - a friendly personal touch that made our stay wonderful, larger hotels try but never quite get it.

I have stayed in a few good hotels but this was the best I have stayed in. Its informal, friendly luxury at its best!

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Great views mean its at the top of a hill
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank miao-miao-miao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2008

My wife and I stayed here for our heneymoon. After looking into a number of hotels, we decided to try something with a little more modern chic and elegant touch. The rooms were simply luxurious; bed, towels, accessories were all excellent and we could have a complete view of the city....that's so romantic, above all in the evening!!!!
we also had a dinner in hotel restaurant: they offered a good a la carte choice. Breakfast was well presented with a huge selection of cakes, patries
The fresh garden made us feel relaxed
Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bobby63Wellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2007

The hotel is located overlooking Florence and some of the views are outstanding. The hotel is however right next to a camping/caravan site
which also forms part of the view. Being located out of the city centre there are limited options for dining nearby which seem to offer
expensive and very poor quality food and service. This is exploited by the hotel which charges very high prices for eating within the hotel (captive audience).

The hotel itself was generally clean but the rooms are not spacious and I would suggest are not at a similar standard to other 5 star accommodation at which I have stayed in Florence. We were during our visit provided with a lower classification room and had a great deal of problems getting this resolved with less than helpful staff. This continued after we returned as the hotel tried to charge us for higher
classification rooms.

The breakfast in the morning was a reasonable standard and a reasonable selection of food. The hotel does offer a taxi service to take you into Florence before 6.00 p.m. at night if you so require (it is quite a walk from the centre with the hotel being located on a hill).

If you are looking for a taste of Florence I would suggest that there are better hotels located in the heart of the city which offer more character and a real five star service.

  • Liked — Some of the views were outstanding but temepered by the proximity of the adjacent caravan site
  • Disliked — poor customer service, wrong room classification provided, overcharged for the time at the hotel
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellinggeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2007

we spent two weeks in Europe for a fall break and through all the hotels we stayed in this hotel was among the best. On the arrival day it was my wife's birthday and they put a special gift in the room when we arrived. Plus we tried the fabulous Onice restaurant - by the way worth it!!!! - and the chef came out with a birthday cake and all the staff gathered around us and it was really a nice suprise! the staff was always very kind. I must say that the standard rooms are not that huge, so would reccomend to book at least a deluxe room. But still the room was very clean and Firenze is amazing!!!! Absolutely worth every eurocent we spent!!!! Will go back again!

  • Liked — the location - unique views of the city
  • Disliked — the size of the standard room
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank kenny72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2007

We stayed at Villa La Vedetta for a couple of nights in October. We chosen Villa La Vedetta becuase my husband discovered this beautiful villa into a brochure of Italian luxury hotels and we very appreciated this oasis of luxury, comfort and graciousness. The reception staff was extremely helpful and efficient and served us with a genuine smile as if we were the only guests in the hotel. The room assigned us was......... wonderful!! Very high ceilings and beautiful furniture and fabrics. The view on the exclusive garden was terrific! Furthemore, my husband has really appreciated the free wi-fi connection: he worked with his laptop in an elegant living room with fireplace! The first night we had dinner at Onice, the restaurant inside the hotel. It is top-notch and the courses was the best food we had in Italy. The restaurant has a Michelin Star, so you do pay for the quality!!
Thanks Villa La Vedetta for making our stay so enjoyable!

  • Liked — The location and the service
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank LuiseSantini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#18 of 421 in Florence
931 reviews
Il Salviatino
#92 of 421 in Florence
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Cora
#7 of 421 in Florence
843 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#16 of 421 in Florence
737 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#15 of 421 in Florence
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Vedetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Vedetta

Property: Villa La Vedetta
Address: Viale Michelangiolo 78, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Piazzale Michelangelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#41 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#59 Family Hotel in Florence
#89 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa La Vedetta 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true 'Urban Resort' unique in Florence. Romantic neo-renaissance villa, today a lavish hotel of only 18 deluxe rooms and suites in exclusive panoramic position on Piazzale Michelangelo, with breathtaking view of Florence only a few steps from Ponte Vecchio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa La Vedetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Vedetta Hotel Florence
Hotel La Vedetta
Boutique Hotel La Vedetta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing