We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Room With A Breathtaking View”
Review of Villa La Vedetta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa La Vedetta
Ranked #66 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Villa La Vedetta for a week in late May 2012.
The view of Florence is quite breathtaking. The hotel is on a hill so you can see all the main sites of Florence from the hotel terrace.
The staff are extremely helpful and the breakfast that was included in the price was excellent.
Rooms were furnished to a high standard.
The pool area was lovely but be warned the pool is not heated.
The hotel feels like a private villa as it does not have too many rooms.
There are lovely works of art in the grounds and in the hotel.
The hotel is only 15-20 minutes walk to the centre of Florence but the climb back up the hill via a series of steps is not for the faint hearted although my fitness really improved after a week of hill climbs.
Still it was worth it for the views.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanineHam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roberto b, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa La Vedetta, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Dear Guest ,

thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor . It is our best satisfaction to read such wonderful review and this will help us to keep working this way to guarantee the top standard of service to all future guests.

Thank you very much for your attention

Roberto Boccacelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 3 days at the end of August and had an amazing experience. From the moment we walked in the door, the staff was extremely welcoming and accomodating (special thanks to Laura and Valentina!). We had informed the hotel that we were celebrating our anniversary and hoped to have a room with a view of the city. Not only did we have a room with a tremendous view, we were also left with a bottle of champagne - what a wonderful surprise! The hotel is beautiful, great location, and the pool was a fantastic way to spend our pre-dinner time. If we are lucky enough to get back to Florence one day, we will definitely be staying at Villa La Vedetta again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyandMike0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We would like to thank you and your staff for the incredible work you have done for our dinner in La vedetta on the 23rd of august!


We have organised a dinner in that amazing place for 90 people two days before our wedding! We had a fantastic experience.

All our friends were so impressed with La Vedetta and we couldn't stop taking pictures there! :)

We couldn't find a better place to start our wedding weekend! So calm, relaxed and incredibly stunning.

All the staff were incredibly kind, friendly and very helpful! They really helped us to create a magic night with all our friends!

We will definitely advise that hotel to all our friend who will be visiting Florence! :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anastasia2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed at VlV for yet another year. It was our fortune beind able to stay for 10 nights in July/August. things have changed a bit since last year and our last review. New management has seen to the following.

Improving
foodservice at the terrace and the restaurant, due to flexible approach;
prices for food in tha restaurant and minibar dropped considerably from stratospheric to regular
very little marriages and parties going on from outsiders

Maintaining
cleaning level of the room is up to the top twice a day from housekeeping
clean swimming pool

Degrading
opening the pool to outsiders on Sunday, which caused families to come in for a swim and a lunch. Regular guests were seated on the grass, while guests are enjoying service and beds

This is a good hotel. It is a small hotel for normal people: no posh attitudes for guests or staff and that is really good [at least for us].

How come it went to four bullets: well it is all a matter of comparison with the renovated Villa Cora around the corner and the Salviatino accross town.

We would return to the hotel, but not next year or so. We wonder where the hotel is going and look forward to returning after this is all clear and set

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Florence and in the main building are preferable in here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FDMUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I spent eight days at the hotel with my wife, our daughter joined us after four days.
It was a good experience, the hotel is on a hill above the city and gives delightful views over the city's architectural delights, also in the heat of the day and evenings there was a constant cool breeze which was well appreciated. The hotel is immaculately clean and very well appointed, the gardens are very well kept and a pleasure to walk within. The staff were very helpful and in particular the reception staff were excellent, the hotel taxi driver superb!
The food at the hotel is typical Italian fare, I must admit that I thought the breakfast meal was expensive; perhaps because I am not a breakfast person, for my coffee and a roll I paid the same as all others eighteen Euros, we are spoilt in England with such inexpensive good food this past years,
The hotel is ideally positioned to stroll down into the city, we enjoyed that walk every morning and took about 25min to get to the city centre. The city is wonderful and no need to add to what people already know. If I can recommend a small eating house then I will ; 'Casa del Vin Santo ' a delightful little restuarant off a side street, excellent food and the right price and delightful wine, staff were a delight.
The hotel manager at the Hotel La Vadetta is a 'hands on' manager and a great conversationalist. He was most helpful to us while we were there. I was confident that if we had any problems he would have sorted it immediately

At the end of the day a glass of wine on the hotel terrace overlooking the city was our late evening delight before sleep called. In all a very good eight days and I will go back again.

Room Tip: It is just a nice place, we stayed in a room off the main hotel and found it very good, restful and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haydndavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

What a nice place to be... Just out of the crowd. About 20 inutes walk from the antique city of Florence.
We rented a suite in July 2012. It was very clean. Lots of space, luxury decoration.
Of all the hotel we went during the 2 weeks we where in Italy, it was the better place for breakfast! Viennoises where so goood !! Very wide choice of fruits. Very attentive and helpful staff.
We highly recommand this place.

Room Tip: Go take pictures on rooftop of the hotel, views are wonderful. Ask front desk for key fast passes t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grangalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

For a trip to Florence and Tuscany, we agonized on whether to stay in a hotel in the heart Florence, outside Florence, or further in the Tuscany countryside. We ended up staying 2 nights at Villa La Vedetta and then another 2 nights in Colle Val D'Elsa. The Villa La Vedetta was a wonderful hotel and location. It was removed from the hustle/bustle and noise of Florence. There was a campground nearby but this wasn't an issue. The Hotel has a shuttle bus to/from a location near Ponte Vecchio - it took a few tries to understand exact location of the pickup spot; good to coordinate this in advance. The grounds are very special as the mornings and evenings sitting on the terrace over-looking Florence were without comparison. We enjoyed looking at the beautfiul pool, below the terrace and one of the restaurants, but unfortunately could not fit a swim into our schedule. The breakfasts were wonderful and we had an excellent lunch and dinner at the restaurant as well. We had 2 suites - the Belle Vista Suite and a suite across the hall. Both appeared to have been renovated in the past few years and were spacious. As to other reviewers, there are many hotels in Europe where shower takes a bit of skill because of the required handicap-accessibility. One evening, there was a birthday party on the terrrace and, after one request, the management was sure to make sure the noise died down at a reasonable time. Laura, who met and coordinated us on arrival, was excellent. We would definitely stay again, probably longer, and consider this as a base for trips to the Tuscan countryside.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Villa Cora
#4 of 409 in Florence
1,003 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#19 of 409 in Florence
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Il Salviatino
#72 of 409 in Florence
772 reviews
Uffizi
Bernini Palace Hotel
Bernini Palace Hotel
#35 of 409 in Florence
1,225 reviews
Pitti
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
#18 of 409 in Florence
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Vedetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Vedetta

Address: Viale Michelangiolo 78, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Piazzale Michelangelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#44 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#59 Family Hotel in Florence
#90 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £152 - £386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa La Vedetta 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true 'Urban Resort' unique in Florence. Romantic neo-renaissance villa, today a lavish hotel of only 18 deluxe rooms and suites in exclusive panoramic position on Piazzale Michelangelo, with breathtaking view of Florence only a few steps from Ponte Vecchio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villa La Vedetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Vedetta Hotel Florence
Hotel La Vedetta
Boutique Hotel La Vedetta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing