We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay at Firenze”
Review of Villa La Vedetta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa La Vedetta
Ranked #43 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I stayed at the Bellavista Suite of Hotel Villa la Veddeta with my wife and daughter in mid August.
The suite was awesome - everything were perfect.
Hotel services were also very comfortable and reliable, all staff were gentle and friendly.

The hotel locates just 15-20 minutes walking distance from famous Ponte Vecchio, 10 minutes drive from S.M.Novella train station by taxi, but the surrounding environment is very quiet and comfortable, you can feel that you are in a very high class resort at a beautiful highland.
We could retreat us from a hustle and bustle of central district of Firenze city, where a lot of tourists crushed everywhere under typical summer holiday season.

Bellavista Suite:

- perfect setting with panorama view of Firenze city from wide windows. We could stay everyday in a famous "post card" view.
- well appointed room facilities : air-conditioning, well equipped two bathrooms, very comfortable bedding even in the upper side of duplex, appropriate lighting set-up etc. etc.
- the suite is always kept clean.
- swimming pool is beautiful and charming. This is perfect place in the late afternoon to relax after spending busy time at the Firenze city.
- breakfast at the terrance under fresh air is also perfect set-up before starting busy day at the Firenze city.

I definitely recommend to stay Bellavista Suite at the Hotel Villa la Vedetta.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TYH20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (555)
There are newer reviews for Villa La Vedetta
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 555 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

We had a perfect romantic wedding at the Villa. No glitches at all- how many can say that on their wedding day? I left it all in the wonderful hands of the event planner. From the moment we arrived every detailed was not only to our specifications (considering that it as all arranged only via email) but the hotel extended extra touches to add to our wedding experience. Alina the party planner was exceptional and professional. I did not have to think about anything the entire wedding day, it was all taken care of. Our grand delux room was a good size, quite with view of the garden and fountain, the bathroom Jacuzzi tub was wonderful. The wedding banquet was superb, I was impressed with how considerate they were with many of the food restrictions and allergies my guests had. The new chef is excellent. The views are exceptional of Florence and the grounds ideal for family to enjoy the day. The pool definitely helped cool off and entertained my guests between the day's events. The free shuttle into and out of the tourist area of Florence is a bonus. I can not thank the staff and hotel enough for my special day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giang N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We spent 2 nights here, staying for a wedding held at the hotel. This property has many plusses, most obviously the stunning panoramic view of Florence from its terrace, as well as its gorgeously landscaped grounds. Our room was in the category the hotel calls a Double Gran Deluxe Room, and we were very pleased with it (some wedding guests remarked that their rooms in other categories were too small for comfort). The bed was a bit too firm for me, but not enough to keep me from falling asleep. Our room had one window overlooking the garden and the other Florence, though we spent little time looking out them since even better views can be had from the main terrace and the rooftop terrace. The bathroom was fit for one of the Medicis, not huge, but all old marble with beautiful inlays, not to mention a jacuzzi tub.

We had a car and found it very convenient being able to come and go from Villa La Vedetta's own lot, free of charge. Parking in central Florence can pose more of a challenge and be quite expensive.

However, there were a few negatives. There to attend a formal event, we needed to press the travel creases from our clothes, but apparently because of the historic nature of the property, guests may not iron in their rooms, and instead must have the hotel's laundry service do this. This pressing service was quite costly and though they did a decent job, it wasn't as good as I can manage, not to mention that "express service" (= 50% more expensive vs. non-rush service) to press two shirts took more than 2 hours.

Though the front-desk staff were superb, the hotel's waiters were not as professional as one would expect from a property of this calibre; they were personable enough, but during the wedding banquet they were excruciatingly slow with the service. We were also unimpressed by the service during our dinner for two the previous night at the hotel's Onice restaurant (reviewed separately). Another minor irritant: there were never enough serving utensils at the buffet breakfast.

Free wi-fi was provided, but was so slow and unreliable that we gave up on it after our first evening.

Overall, we preferred our stay the next 2 nights in Florence across the Arno at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni. However, clearly the items I flagged above as problematic should not be difficult for the hotel to rectify if it so chose, and with those points attended to, Villa La Vedetta would earn a higher recommendation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WMarkR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We were guests at Villa La Vedetta for a wedding which took over the main building of the Villa. Service was excellent. The staff was helpful with information and suggestions for local restaurants, stores and services. The building and grounds are lovely, with an unbeatable view of Florence (and the Duomo). The free shuttle will take you to town and pick you up at an agreed-upon time. The breakfast (included) is lovely and plentiful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank my-place-in-the-sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

From the spectacular location to the excellent service, this is an ideal spot for a visit to Florence. The easy stroll downhill into the city is made all that much easier by the regular shuttle back from Ponte Vecchio. Nothing was too much trouble, including booking museum visits.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CPC7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We were there for 3 nights to visit Florence. The hotel is situated on top of a mountain outside the city centre but still very close to it. The rooms need a refurbishment, with a small badroom and shower inside the tube. It has a shuttle service to ponte vecchio. The pool is nice but very small and outdated umbrella and chairs. First hotel during this trip where they did not ask how we enjoyed our stay and if everything was in order.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Dutchie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Everything is perfect at La Vedetta, amazing view of Firenze, the room, the swimming pool and the garden, very quiet area to sleep.
We were a little bit disappointed by the restaurant, because new style of Italian cooking that we didn't appreciate.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardMousties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Villa Cora
#5 of 411 in Florence
954 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#22 of 411 in Florence
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Il Salviatino
#89 of 411 in Florence
758 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Sina Villa Medici
Sina Villa Medici
#103 of 411 in Florence
732 reviews
Hotel David
#2 of 411 in Florence
3,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Vedetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Vedetta

Address: Viale Michelangiolo 78, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Piazzale Michelangelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#39 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#59 Family Hotel in Florence
#90 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £198 - £399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa La Vedetta 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true 'Urban Resort' unique in Florence. Romantic neo-renaissance villa, today a lavish hotel of only 18 deluxe rooms and suites in exclusive panoramic position on Piazzale Michelangelo, with breathtaking view of Florence only a few steps from Ponte Vecchio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa La Vedetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Vedetta Hotel Florence
Hotel La Vedetta
Boutique Hotel La Vedetta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing