We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite hotel in Florence”
Review of Villa La Vedetta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa La Vedetta
Ranked #74 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Over the years we have stayed in several hotels in Florence including some of the „palaces“. Villa Vedetta is our favorite because of its discrete elegance, the superb view and the very friendly and efficient management and staff. Of course not all rooms are created equal but the reception does everything to give you the best room among those available on arrival, in our case a wonderful room with a fantastic view over Florence.
Breakfast buffet might appear smaller than in other hotels but hot dishes are prepared freshly to order which is much better than eggs remaining on the stoves for hours.
The hotel is not in the city center. The view over the city largely compensates for this. Also, after a day of sightseeing in the usually crowded city the distance is welcome. To relax there is a beautiful pool in the hotel garden. It’s an easy walk down hill of about 20 min to the center. There is a regular shuttle service if you’d rather skip the walk.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephanBrux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this charming hotel - chic, modern and perfect in every way. The breakfast was delicious, the location couldn't be faulted with fantastic views over Florence in a quiet location. The real stars of the show are the lovely staff, all of whom are delightful and helpful. We would love to return. This hotel has a truly home from home feel. Please go!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My fiance and I stayed here last week for 2 nights. I cannot fault it. Our bedroom was sumptuous, with wonderful views of the city. Dinner was perfection and the breakfast was delicious!
All of the staff were so efficient, helpful and friendly. Laura and Valentina made sure we had the best of stays.
We hope very much to return one day.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

we booked this as a group of girls, every effort was made to make our stay fab, the staff are all so helpful, gave great recommendations, excellent room, all in all perfect, I echo someone elses comment 5 star too low

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amandastuttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We chose this boutique hotel for our stay when we got married in Florence.

Although it is located outside of the city and on the other side of the Arno, it is a wonderful place to stay. There is a free navette service to the city and back.

We had the Bellavista Suite with a magnifient view over Florence.

The suite could not have been any better!

Breakfast was great and so was dinner at the restaurant.

We will for sure stay there again.

Room Tip: The Bellavista Suite is definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dimitris462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

If you are looking for a good hotel outside of busy Florence I definetly recommend it.
They have a pick up service in the city center which works really well, at the beggining they gave us a timetable with the pick up service schedule, but in fact they come pick you up in the center when you call them without a problem.
They gave us a great suite as an upgrade to our honeymoon. Dealed with our rental car issues very well. The place is beautiful, with an amazing view. The spa is the only down side, there is just a little sauna and a couple of machines to exercise, if you are expecting to relax in a sauna or workout, that's not the place. The restaurant was great, the food and wine as well, it was a pitty it was empty when we went. If I went back to Florence I would definetly go back, mostyl in the summer to be able to enjoy the swimming pool and the terrace, as we went in October2013 it was cold already.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mimi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We had a long weekend in November 2013 it is wonderful small Hotel on top of the hill overlooking Florence, so although it is not in the heart of town and up a steep hill the walk down to the Ponte Vecchio was not bad but the Hotel also provided a minibus to take you down and you could phone to be picked up too from the bridge. Wonderful continental breakfast included fresh & dried fruit cereals bread yogurt, cheese cold meats ect. Also little cakes and drinks provided most of the day in the library / lounge area which was a nice touch. Our room was clean and bright and tastefully decorated the large marble clad bathroom was lovely. The restaurant was in a conservatory room which looked over onto the terrace overlooking Florence it also had a super garden and outdoor pool which would be lovely in the summer months. The staff were very welcoming and efficient and all in all very pleasant to deal with my husband was very impressed.
However one of the best parts was the staff who months

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artyfarty6101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#19 of 411 in Florence
884 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montebello Splendid
Hotel Montebello Splendid
#78 of 411 in Florence
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Cora
#6 of 411 in Florence
1,030 reviews
Pitti
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
#18 of 411 in Florence
418 reviews
Il Salviatino
#80 of 411 in Florence
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Vedetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Vedetta

Address: Viale Michelangiolo 78, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Piazzale Michelangelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#47 Family Hotel in Florence
#47 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#90 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £149 - £379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa La Vedetta 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true 'Urban Resort' unique in Florence. Romantic neo-renaissance villa, today a lavish hotel of only 18 deluxe rooms and suites in exclusive panoramic position on Piazzale Michelangelo, with breathtaking view of Florence only a few steps from Ponte Vecchio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Villa La Vedetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Vedetta Hotel Florence
Hotel La Vedetta
Boutique Hotel La Vedetta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing