We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous views but service does not live up to expectations”
Review of Villa La Vedetta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa La Vedetta
Ranked #66 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed here as our friends held their wedding here. Beautiful views on the terrace overlooking Florence and the pool is a great spot to relax after the hustle and bustle of walking around in the gorgeous city of Florence.
Positives: romantic setting for the wedding, excellent food and wine served throughout the wedding, comfortable beds, small hotel so it feels intimate and cozy. The wedding guests were able to stay in the library area for several hours talking until the early morning. Helpful with restaurant bookings and use of the ad-hoc shuttle service to ponte vecchio.
Downsides: service issues (lack thereof) we were dismayed after going to bed at 4am to be woken up by the loud noises of clanging at 9am as the hotel were preparing for another wedding being hosted the subsequent night, and no warning was provided to any of us either on checking in OR by way of a note under the door the previous night (not expected for a 5 star hotel). Breakfast was limited in terms of buffet, and we were not told that hot options were actually available (no menu was provided nor did the staff mention this). Also in relation to the subsequent wedding, we came back from Florence centre at the exact time the other bride was about to walk down the aisle and we were therefore prevented from entering the property for at least 15 minutes- they should have warned us so we would have stayed in the centre longer or grabbed a coffee instead of loitering on our tired feet at the entrance. Bathtub was raised a bit high so difficult for someone with shorter legs to access with ease.

Room Tip: Check whether there is a wedding happening and ask for a room as far away from the wedding reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Allison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this wonderful hotel to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. The setting is stunning with fantastic views over Florence, especially from the relatively hidden roof terrace. The pool was a god send in the high temperatures and made the hotel the perfect escape from city sightseeing. The staff were all fantastic, incredibly helpful with restaurant bookings etc. we caught the shuttle half of the time and walked the rest. It's about a 30 minute walk down but with stunning views. It is steep but that's why the views are so good! Breakfasts were wonderful, the hot food is made to order, coffee delicious. As always, there are a few things that would make it even better, such as soft drinks by the poolside, but they are minor things in the context of a fantastic hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank busby_ruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We visited for one night and absolutely loved our stay. We were looked after so well and received a room upgrade to a suite which was stunning. The views over Florence are amazing and although just above Florence we took the complimentary shuttle down in the evening without any issues. We enjoyed a dip in the pool during the afternoon which was very pleasant and I felt very relaxed there. We were there to enquire about using it as a wedding venue for next year and the events organiser Alina is such a lovely lady and I know you would be so well looked after by her and her team.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

the main reason for choosing this hotel is the view;it is a small hotel so facilities limited although nice but small gardens and out door pool which is more than most city centre hotels;
although not far from ponte vecchio but difficult to walk down as on steep hill[ limited free shuttle bus - approx hourly from 9am til noon then from 4-8pm has pick up/drop off point close to ponte vecchio and small supermarket if want to stock up on water etc;
we stayed in deluxe/small suite in annexe - nice and roomy , good sized sitting area and bathroom
breakfast was acceptable but limited for 5 star property but reflecting small no. of guests staying;
FREE afternoon tea and cake served in library or terrace refreshing after long days of site-seeing;
we ate twice in hotel restaurant onice - food v good but relatively expensive- main problem was limited choice and menu did not change during the week we were staying there;
IMPORTANT to note that this hotel is extremely popular venue for weddings and parties which means guests may not be able to use some of public rooms/spaces including terrace;
overall lovely hotel, small and generally quiet and we would probably stay here again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minerva10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Yes, lots of good things and some for improvement. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it. But, some things to note. The setting is wonderful. In tranquil gardens with magnificent view across the Arno to the City. But busy roads all around equals traffic noise. Also it is Siren Central, but then it is Italy. The building is fine and well presented and it meets its aims to be a country house near the city. Really good shuttle service from Hotel to Ponte Vecchio and back; takes all the hassle out of getting around. Room was elegant and well appointed; perhaps a new mattress would be a good idea. Room prices are what you would expect; especially good if you pay in advance. Reception staff were extremely helpful and pleasant; all had very good English.
Breakfast was very good, especially the fresh fruit and the excellent coffee [so hard to find good strong coffee]. But, fruiyt juice was supermaket carton and not fresh. Easily remedied.
Now, the pool. We chose the hotel as one of the few with a proper outdoor pool; we like a swim. It is a good pool. Bad news is that it is not heated; but good news is that this means you may have it to yourself.
The hotel website implies a pool bar etc; this simply wasn't in action. No staff visited the pool area to tidy up or check on towels etc. They jumped when we asked, but no process in place.
The restaurant is OK but not a wonderful overall experience [see separate review]. If you are staying a few nights I suggest you eat in 50% and out 50%.
So, overall, if you want to be just outside the city and don't want to pay San Michele prices, this could be for you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We had our wedding here for 35 guests on May 17 and everything was perfect. The villa is more gorgeous in real life than the pictures suggest. Alina was amazing at coordinating the event, vendors, everything! Not only is the setting so beautiful the service was exceptional. I would not change a thing about our wedding or 4 night stay at the hotel. I would recommend the villa for anyone looking for a dream wedding :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cmw338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The hotel was so lovely and upgraded our room to a suite for the 5 nights of the trip. The staff were all amazing and so helpful. Go to this hotel!!! We had the best food and even the room service was tasty, Thank you all for a great stay

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank emrees76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Villa Cora
#4 of 409 in Florence
1,003 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#19 of 409 in Florence
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Il Salviatino
#72 of 409 in Florence
772 reviews
Uffizi
Bernini Palace Hotel
Bernini Palace Hotel
#35 of 409 in Florence
1,225 reviews
Pitti
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
#18 of 409 in Florence
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Vedetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Vedetta

Address: Viale Michelangiolo 78, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Piazzale Michelangelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#44 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#59 Family Hotel in Florence
#90 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £152 - £386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa La Vedetta 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true 'Urban Resort' unique in Florence. Romantic neo-renaissance villa, today a lavish hotel of only 18 deluxe rooms and suites in exclusive panoramic position on Piazzale Michelangelo, with breathtaking view of Florence only a few steps from Ponte Vecchio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villa La Vedetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Vedetta Hotel Florence
Hotel La Vedetta
Boutique Hotel La Vedetta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing