We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”
Review of Villa La Vedetta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa La Vedetta
Ranked #66 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2009

I organized a surprise to my wife for the day corresponding to our 10th wedding anniversary. Amongst different 5 stars hotel throughout Europe, I chose Villa La Vedetta ... and our stay was extraordinary.

Obviously the views from the hotel and from our suite were breathtaking; that is evidently not the sole fabulous point for this hotel. The service is perfect, the restaurant totally deserves one star at the Michelin guide.

At the end of the afternoon in Florence, it is such a relief to call the Hotel's shuttle to quit the busy streets and return to the peaceful and romantic atmosphere of Villa La Vedetta.

This hotel together with the city of Florence are definitely a perfect destination for unforgettable and very romantic holidays

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PAM1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2009

La Vedetta is in the top range.
The loaction is fantastic a stone away from the Michelangelio plaza.
The romantic suite was very comfortable and room features are of what you can expect for the range.
What makes it a special place is staff friendlyness, genuine smiles and interest in customers satisfaction.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slyandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2008

We had an upper floor suite overlooking the river. The room was large, quiet and well apportioned with flatscreen tv's and a jacuzzi. The property is located on the hill across the river from the main tourist sites.

Overall, the hotel service was superb. They offer free shuttle rides in the daytime hours between the city and the property. Staff are there to help you and remember your name.

On breakfast, the buffet was plentiful and the conservatory where served beautiful. Fresh orange juice, multiple choices for eggs, pancakes, bakery items, etc. Yes, the price is 50 Euro for two.

The restaurant is in the lower level of the property and is very small. Seats are well spaced, and table size comfortable. Ask the chef for the "relais menus" as they are not on the carte. You have the choice of meat or fish and 5/10 courses and can mix match. The wine list is well chosen and Tuscan oriented as expected.

Rail Italia had a stricke the day we arrived from Rome so we drove to Florence. The hotel arranged our pick-up and took care of everything for us. Our Uffizzi tickets were waiting for us. Front desk service is truly outstanding.

There are no "local" dining options within 5 minute walking distance that are not bus tourist stands. So if you want to eat in city center, walk down the hill and cab back if you have a hearty dinner.

All-in-all a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2008

On a luxurious two week tour of Italy, Villa La Vedetta is the third hotel we have stayed at. Upon being driven up to the villa we were pleasantly surprised by the loveliness of the villa and the view of Florence. However everything afterward was disappointing. The room (although we booked in the spring) was not overlooking Florence but instead the gardens which were nice, but not the view we paid for. The room we were given was small and outside of the elevator so quite noisy at times. Since the hotel is outside of the city there is nothing really close by (walking distance) so it seems we were taken advantage of with absurdly high prices: 238 euros for a dinner and 50 euros for two for breakfast which seemed to consist of the same stale breads and cakes every morning. At one breakfast I actually saw one couple turn away an order of poached eggs only to have the same eggs brought out to me. When I said they were cold the waiter brought them to the kitchen, warmed them up and brought them back out! NOT the way a five star hotel should operate. I agree with another person who signed their guestbook: Save your money, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BeauConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2008

We had our wedding reception at this hotel and it was fantastic. The hotel is a gem set in a pretty garden in a lovely quiet location away from all the hustle and bustle with breathtaking views of the city but just a 10-15 minute walk to the centre and main attractions. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, the food was wonderful and the room was beautiful with an amazing view of Florence. We found something really special at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ChezBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2008

Villa la Vedetta has one of the most beautiful hotel views I have ever seen. To sit on the terrace looking out over the roof tops of Florence was magical both by day and night. We had a lovely stay in this small but well appointed hotel. The pool area had plenty of chairs and a shady bar area and breakfast served on the terrace was well thought. My one criticism would be the restaurant, where the food is very ornate. We tried twice to order lamb but was told it was not available however ,we were given a free dessert the second time by way of an apology. The bar menu is not very inspiring so if you do not want a full dining experience every night you are better off going out to eat. Over all a great place for a few nights, you can see hectic, busy , Florence by day and retreat to hotel above it all when you have had enough.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Lulurose3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2008

I took my Mum here for her 60th birthday present. We stayed 5 nights and thought the hotel was marvellous. The staff were extremely helpful but not at all intrusive – they even left a cake in our room for Mum’s birthday. Our room was huge, and we had fabulous views from 3 windows over Florence. Breakfast was excellent – we didn’t have an evening meal here because the menu definitely didn’t cater for vegetarians, but we found plenty of places to eat in the centre, and also a pizzeria a short stroll up the road.
The hotel is set up above the town which is lovely because it was quiet, but the walk back up is quite strenuous (we did it once and then just used the shuttle or a taxi).
The pool was fantastic with plenty of comfortable sun loungers, and we often had it to ourselves. (We didn’t find it too cold to swim in, as a previous review stated, and we are lightweight southerners!)
We thought Florence was beautiful, don’t miss David at the Galleria Academia. Ask the hotel to pre book your tickets to here and the Uffizi, it saved hours of queueing. Call them before you arrive in Florence if you can. We asked on Day 1 of our 5 day stay and only just managed to get a slot at the Galleria. It costs extra, and you need to pay the hotel in cash, but it’s worth it.
Definitely a place for romantic strolls – next time I’ll take my husband, and I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Mrs_ESussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Villa Cora
#4 of 409 in Florence
999 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#19 of 409 in Florence
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Il Salviatino
#81 of 409 in Florence
772 reviews
Uffizi
Bernini Palace Hotel
Bernini Palace Hotel
#35 of 409 in Florence
1,225 reviews
Pitti
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
#18 of 409 in Florence
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Vedetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Vedetta

Address: Viale Michelangiolo 78, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Piazzale Michelangelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#44 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#59 Family Hotel in Florence
#90 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £152 - £390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa La Vedetta 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true 'Urban Resort' unique in Florence. Romantic neo-renaissance villa, today a lavish hotel of only 18 deluxe rooms and suites in exclusive panoramic position on Piazzale Michelangelo, with breathtaking view of Florence only a few steps from Ponte Vecchio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villa La Vedetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Vedetta Hotel Florence
Hotel La Vedetta
Boutique Hotel La Vedetta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing