We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view!”
Review of Villa La Vedetta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa La Vedetta
Ranked #58 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, NE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic view!”
Reviewed 11 June 2007

We had a beautiful suite in a lovely setting with a fantastic view! The staff were superb! However, these attributes were somewhat offset by the sporadic air conditioning and the uncomfortable mattress. And while we thought that the breakfast buffet was very good, we thought that it should have been included in the rate.

  • Liked — View and the restaurant
  • Disliked — mattress
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank NSOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    88
    34
    9
    9
See reviews for
102
322
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2007

We picked this hotel for our Honeymoon and everything exceeded our expectations in every way. Our room was out of this world, it had a superb bed and lounge area with a huge balcony over the gardens, not that we needed then we had to flat screen tvs and fun wardrobes!! The staff could not do enough. The pool and views superb although service in that area could of been better. The Restaurant was faultless, expensive but worth every penny.

  • Liked — They had thought of everthing - Luxury
  • Disliked — The bathroom could of been bigger - but that is being supper critical
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Whizzmethere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2007

amazing!
you couldn't wipe the grin from my face as we were given a tour of the premises when we checked in. the building, the view, the staff. it was perfect. we had room 305 in the annex but it was lovely (same room number as in florence where we stayed for 2 nights before - spooky, with a view of the leaning tower). In Florence, we had a turn over sevice and little gifts were left each evening (sweets or a weather card & verse) the oil in the room is for sale - but use the www. in the room (free), find the shop and go and buy from the huge choice (only 5 euro less- but the shop is nice too). the food is expensive but delicious.
they have a free shuttle bus but if your'e fit or have time then the walk is great- walk up to piazza michelangelo (right out of the hotel) and then down through the gardens. there are some small tuscan bar/restuarants at the bottom of the hill and the food is amazing (but the menu is in italian!... they will help you order). If you turn left at the bottom of the hill and walk back up the hill again, there is a castle that has free opera and concerts with the back drop of florence- very popular with the residents.
tip: have breakfast, stay by the pool until 2pm, they walk to florence to sight see and eat in the city before coming home later in the evening for a drink on the veranda overlooking the city in darkness. perfect
some residents had booked in January and been upgraded, we booked in March and didn't.
i did shed a tear as the taxi pulled away on our departure.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
12 Thank whereyougoingnext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2007

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights in Feb this year for a romantic getaway for our birthdays and valentines day.

Upon arrival we were sat down and given a complimentary drink while we were checked in. The staff were really great they even gave us a map of the city and circled points of interest on it for us while we were sat down.

The hotel i stunning and the grounds are beautiful. The hotel has the most amazing view over Florence from the terrace, unfortunately the outdoor pool and jacuzzi weren't on but it was Feb! The weather rained on the first night, and the hotel gave us an umbrella, but was sunny after that.

The rooms was a decent size but the bathrooms were great! The jacuzzi bath tub was a treat! The room was kept very clean and was tuned down at night which was nice.

The mini bars are expensive as is the in house restaurant and bar so we asked reception to recommend a restaurant in the city to try and they happily obliged.

There is a bus stop outside the hotel to go into the city or a taxi costs about 15 euros. You can walk but it takes a while an the walk down the hill could be a bit steep if you are not a strong walker.

Florence itself is beautiful and I would definitely return to the Villa La Vedetta.

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Ganymede_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2007

We stayed for 4 days at Villa La Vedetta this Easter. My husband, our 10-year old daughter and me enjoyed every minute of our trip. The hotel is a charming and cosy villa with approximately 12 rooms and suites. It can be proud of the excellent location in the quite and picturesque part of Florence, Oltrarno, on the high bank of the river. The Florence's most famous panoramic Piazzale Michaelangelo is next to the Villa, but the view from this place can't be compared to the breathtaking panorama from the hotel terrace. The hotel restaurant is a must point. It has a Michelin star and its chef is a prodigy indeed. The hotel's wine cellar is always not to be missed. But be ready to pick up a restaurant bill as impressive as the chef's talent.The hotel staff is friendly and helpful, they even managed to book us a tour around the Uffizi Gallery on the Easter's Eve! I do hope that once we'll come back to Villa La Vedetta.

  • Liked — location and restaurant
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank AddictTraveller69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2007

This hotel is simply stunning. The friendly and genuine service offered by all the staff was outstanding. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel/chain to all.

  • Liked — Sumptuous room with very comfortable bed
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank RuthEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Ga
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2007

We spent two nights here for our Honeymoon throughout Italy. They were sweet enough to deliver us a bottle of champagne to celebrate. This is a magnificant place to just absorb the views of Florence. The room is very modern and the marble floors are beautiful. You also get free internet on the tv.
The hike isn't bad down the hill. But after a long day of touring the town on foot it can be a haul. So for about $8 you can get a cab. It is true that Florence has the best gelato so make sure to not miss out. It's worth your time to get reservations for the museum since as the other reviewer wrote you will have a long wait no matter what season. I would definitely recommend this hotel and plan to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank ladynred9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Villa Cora
#7 of 411 in Florence
908 reviews
Il Salviatino
#93 of 411 in Florence
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Sina Villa Medici
Sina Villa Medici
#111 of 411 in Florence
705 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 411 in Florence
780 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montebello Splendid
Hotel Montebello Splendid
#71 of 411 in Florence
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Vedetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Vedetta

Property: Villa La Vedetta
Address: Viale Michelangiolo 78, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Piazzale Michelangelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#39 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#59 Family Hotel in Florence
#90 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa La Vedetta 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true 'Urban Resort' unique in Florence. Romantic neo-renaissance villa, today a lavish hotel of only 18 deluxe rooms and suites in exclusive panoramic position on Piazzale Michelangelo, with breathtaking view of Florence only a few steps from Ponte Vecchio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Villa La Vedetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Vedetta Hotel Florence
Hotel La Vedetta
Boutique Hotel La Vedetta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing