We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Experience in Firenze”
Review of Villa La Vedetta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa La Vedetta
Ranked #67 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Hotel Experience in Firenze”
Reviewed 10 July 2007

Firenze is my favorite city in the world and I had been trying to take my wife for about 7 years. On our recent trip we planned for 3 nights there at the Grand Hotel Minerva.

The Grand Hotel Minerva is a very nice hotel with a great location on the Piazza di Santa Maria Novella and a wonderful rooftop pool offering a great view of the Doumo and beyond. The only temporary problem is the work being done tearing up and replacing the Piazza on which it sits. Construction should be finished by end of summer according to the Minerva.

After two nights of sleep being interrupted around 6:00 AM with jackhammer work, the manager there arranged for our transfer to this hotel. Villa La Vedetta is one of the most beautiful boutique hotels I have visited. It has the most beautiful views of Firenze that a hotel can offer. The views are from the Pool bar, the pool, the patio, the restuarant and the rooms. The service was tremendous.

It saved Firenze for us and was one of the high points of the entire Italy trip.

  • Liked — The location.
  • Disliked — The price tag
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank pistol69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    86
    34
    9
    9
See reviews for
98
310
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, NE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2007

We had a beautiful suite in a lovely setting with a fantastic view! The staff were superb! However, these attributes were somewhat offset by the sporadic air conditioning and the uncomfortable mattress. And while we thought that the breakfast buffet was very good, we thought that it should have been included in the rate.

  • Liked — View and the restaurant
  • Disliked — mattress
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank NSOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2007

We picked this hotel for our Honeymoon and everything exceeded our expectations in every way. Our room was out of this world, it had a superb bed and lounge area with a huge balcony over the gardens, not that we needed then we had to flat screen tvs and fun wardrobes!! The staff could not do enough. The pool and views superb although service in that area could of been better. The Restaurant was faultless, expensive but worth every penny.

  • Liked — They had thought of everthing - Luxury
  • Disliked — The bathroom could of been bigger - but that is being supper critical
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Whizzmethere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2007

amazing!
you couldn't wipe the grin from my face as we were given a tour of the premises when we checked in. the building, the view, the staff. it was perfect. we had room 305 in the annex but it was lovely (same room number as in florence where we stayed for 2 nights before - spooky, with a view of the leaning tower). In Florence, we had a turn over sevice and little gifts were left each evening (sweets or a weather card & verse) the oil in the room is for sale - but use the www. in the room (free), find the shop and go and buy from the huge choice (only 5 euro less- but the shop is nice too). the food is expensive but delicious.
they have a free shuttle bus but if your'e fit or have time then the walk is great- walk up to piazza michelangelo (right out of the hotel) and then down through the gardens. there are some small tuscan bar/restuarants at the bottom of the hill and the food is amazing (but the menu is in italian!... they will help you order). If you turn left at the bottom of the hill and walk back up the hill again, there is a castle that has free opera and concerts with the back drop of florence- very popular with the residents.
tip: have breakfast, stay by the pool until 2pm, they walk to florence to sight see and eat in the city before coming home later in the evening for a drink on the veranda overlooking the city in darkness. perfect
some residents had booked in January and been upgraded, we booked in March and didn't.
i did shed a tear as the taxi pulled away on our departure.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
12 Thank whereyougoingnext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2007

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights in Feb this year for a romantic getaway for our birthdays and valentines day.

Upon arrival we were sat down and given a complimentary drink while we were checked in. The staff were really great they even gave us a map of the city and circled points of interest on it for us while we were sat down.

The hotel i stunning and the grounds are beautiful. The hotel has the most amazing view over Florence from the terrace, unfortunately the outdoor pool and jacuzzi weren't on but it was Feb! The weather rained on the first night, and the hotel gave us an umbrella, but was sunny after that.

The rooms was a decent size but the bathrooms were great! The jacuzzi bath tub was a treat! The room was kept very clean and was tuned down at night which was nice.

The mini bars are expensive as is the in house restaurant and bar so we asked reception to recommend a restaurant in the city to try and they happily obliged.

There is a bus stop outside the hotel to go into the city or a taxi costs about 15 euros. You can walk but it takes a while an the walk down the hill could be a bit steep if you are not a strong walker.

Florence itself is beautiful and I would definitely return to the Villa La Vedetta.

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Ganymede_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2007

We stayed for 4 days at Villa La Vedetta this Easter. My husband, our 10-year old daughter and me enjoyed every minute of our trip. The hotel is a charming and cosy villa with approximately 12 rooms and suites. It can be proud of the excellent location in the quite and picturesque part of Florence, Oltrarno, on the high bank of the river. The Florence's most famous panoramic Piazzale Michaelangelo is next to the Villa, but the view from this place can't be compared to the breathtaking panorama from the hotel terrace. The hotel restaurant is a must point. It has a Michelin star and its chef is a prodigy indeed. The hotel's wine cellar is always not to be missed. But be ready to pick up a restaurant bill as impressive as the chef's talent.The hotel staff is friendly and helpful, they even managed to book us a tour around the Uffizi Gallery on the Easter's Eve! I do hope that once we'll come back to Villa La Vedetta.

  • Liked — location and restaurant
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank AddictTraveller69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2007

This hotel is simply stunning. The friendly and genuine service offered by all the staff was outstanding. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel/chain to all.

  • Liked — Sumptuous room with very comfortable bed
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank RuthEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Il Salviatino
#91 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#21 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Cora
#7 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#17 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#14 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Vedetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Vedetta

Property: Villa La Vedetta
Address: Viale Michelangiolo 78, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Piazzale Michelangelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#42 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#59 Family Hotel in Florence
#89 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa La Vedetta 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true 'Urban Resort' unique in Florence. Romantic neo-renaissance villa, today a lavish hotel of only 18 deluxe rooms and suites in exclusive panoramic position on Piazzale Michelangelo, with breathtaking view of Florence only a few steps from Ponte Vecchio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa La Vedetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Vedetta Hotel Florence
Hotel La Vedetta
Boutique Hotel La Vedetta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing