We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Gem in Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa La Vedetta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa La Vedetta
Ranked #58 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gem in Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2007

We stayed at La Vedetta for three nights and found it absolutely wonderful. The pool area was so relaxing, (especially on a hot summers day after shopping), the staff were excellent and great with our 3 year old, the restuarant is extremely good - but it is expensive (a Michelin Star from memory) - but just up the road are casual pizza places in the Plaza overlooking the city - the views from the hotel terraces and pool are stunning. And the room was also great. Promixity to the city was fine as the hotel shuttle service dropped us off and picked us up when we called. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Views and Pool
  • Disliked — Not in the center of town - but shuttle made this not an issue
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank Pigacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    84
    33
    9
    9
See reviews for
97
307
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2007

Renovated villa with wonderful views over Florence. Our room in annex was smelly especially after rain. This was partially remedied by the application of deodorising tablets into the drain. There were deliberately no sink plugs to avoid overfilling sinks from the automatic taps; the management eventually agreed to supply the plugs from a local shop. The bath/shower surrounds were less than spruce and modern. Pool had to be cleared in the evening to avoid upsetting diners in the adjacent restaurant area. Dining area expensive and menu precious hence relatively few diners. Service around the pool was indifferent. Shuttle service was operated on a demand basis although hours of operation were rather limited. Breakfasts were limited and of poor quality; I thought the croissants were stale but the attending staff were not interested. Despite the small hotel size and exclusive scale tariffs, there was no senior management introduction and any sense of hospitality; merely dressing relatively inexperienced staff in some form of uniform is not good enough. This could be fabulous in every sense but at the moment it seems to be a lost opportunity.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bertiedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2007

I booked this hotel after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. I was a little worried that the hotel would be too far from the centre but in fact the location coudln't be better. I stayed for just one night on our way down to the Amalfi coast with my husband and 2 children but would definitely like to return. This is a really chic hotel with stunning views over Florence and it only takes 5 minutes by car to get into town. We had two beautiful and very quiet rooms overlooking the garden. We had a quick lunch at the hotel and the food seemed to be excellent - I regret not having had dinner in their restaurant. A special mention for breakfast on the terrace - great buffet and great view, really enjoyable. The hotel also has a beautiful pool with a little bar from which you can also admire the view over Firenze.

  • Liked — The location
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joanna-Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2007

We loved this place. The staff was amazing, so friendly and extremely helpful. The grounds are beautiful and we had a wonderful suite. Breakfast was excellent. The cold foods were buffet style and you ordered your hot food so that it arrived to the table fresh out of the kitchen. We will definitely visit again.

  • Liked — The staff and the view
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank operakids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2007

Firenze is my favorite city in the world and I had been trying to take my wife for about 7 years. On our recent trip we planned for 3 nights there at the Grand Hotel Minerva.

The Grand Hotel Minerva is a very nice hotel with a great location on the Piazza di Santa Maria Novella and a wonderful rooftop pool offering a great view of the Doumo and beyond. The only temporary problem is the work being done tearing up and replacing the Piazza on which it sits. Construction should be finished by end of summer according to the Minerva.

After two nights of sleep being interrupted around 6:00 AM with jackhammer work, the manager there arranged for our transfer to this hotel. Villa La Vedetta is one of the most beautiful boutique hotels I have visited. It has the most beautiful views of Firenze that a hotel can offer. The views are from the Pool bar, the pool, the patio, the restuarant and the rooms. The service was tremendous.

It saved Firenze for us and was one of the high points of the entire Italy trip.

  • Liked — The location.
  • Disliked — The price tag
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank pistol69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, NE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2007

We had a beautiful suite in a lovely setting with a fantastic view! The staff were superb! However, these attributes were somewhat offset by the sporadic air conditioning and the uncomfortable mattress. And while we thought that the breakfast buffet was very good, we thought that it should have been included in the rate.

  • Liked — View and the restaurant
  • Disliked — mattress
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank NSOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2007

We picked this hotel for our Honeymoon and everything exceeded our expectations in every way. Our room was out of this world, it had a superb bed and lounge area with a huge balcony over the gardens, not that we needed then we had to flat screen tvs and fun wardrobes!! The staff could not do enough. The pool and views superb although service in that area could of been better. The Restaurant was faultless, expensive but worth every penny.

  • Liked — They had thought of everthing - Luxury
  • Disliked — The bathroom could of been bigger - but that is being supper critical
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Whizzmethere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Il Salviatino
#88 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#19 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Cora
#7 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#16 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#15 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Vedetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Vedetta

Property: Villa La Vedetta
Address: Viale Michelangiolo 78, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Piazzale Michelangelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#39 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#59 Family Hotel in Florence
#89 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa La Vedetta 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true 'Urban Resort' unique in Florence. Romantic neo-renaissance villa, today a lavish hotel of only 18 deluxe rooms and suites in exclusive panoramic position on Piazzale Michelangelo, with breathtaking view of Florence only a few steps from Ponte Vecchio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa La Vedetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Vedetta Hotel Florence
Hotel La Vedetta
Boutique Hotel La Vedetta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing