We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B with Top Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residenza Johanna I - Antiche Dimore Fiorentine
Ranked #47 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2012

My husband, son, and I enjoyed our stay in Florence after arriving at the Residenza. We drove in and had not printed out their directions and instead relyed on GPS (don't do that-it doesn't know the one way and restricted streets). Luca, who was the manager for most of our stay, patiently stayed on the phone to guide us there-he should be sainted. Throughout the stay, he gave us great advice on where to eat, what to do, directions, etc. The other staff were also incredibly helpful. It is like having a private concierge, as the Residenza is small.
The rooms are beautifully appointed, although small by American standards, but comfortable. It is about a 15-20 min. walk away from the central activities, which helps allow for the peaceful atmosphere-one just has to have good walking shoes. You can then eat more delicious Florentine food after walking!The whole place is meticulously maintained. We would definately stay there again. Thank you to all!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wsald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illyfirenze, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Residenza Johanna I - Antiche Dimore Fiorentine, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2012

Dear family from Washington DC,

thank you SO much for your lovely words and kindness!
It was a pleasure having you all here knowing you fully enjoyed our residence atmosphere and service and our dear Florence - as hosts, we are committed to make your stay as pleasant and interesting and tasty as we possibly can.
So it would be great welcoming you again in our residence for further exploring the beauties and tastes of Florence and until then we wish you a Merry Christmas & A Happy New Year!

From Luca and all the staff of Johanna I

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 621 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2012

Stayed here with my daughter in the middle of October and thoroughly enjoyed our time in this friendly and charming Bed and Breakfast. I liked the fact it was small, which lent to the atmosphere, as well as the central location meaning that we only had a 10 minute walk into the centre. Also good was the proximity of various Restaurants, Bars and Cafes. The B&B itself was in a quiet area and the fact that you had to get through 3 doors in order to get into the building only added to the sense of security rather than any frustration at having so many keys! The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful, proactively recommending sights to see and providing tips as when and where to go.

I loved the honesty Bar and the free drinks and cake which were provided in the afternoon. The room was comfortable and the bathroom clean (towels were more like large dishcloths than the fluffy variety though!).

The only slight criticism I have is that the breakfast was fairly sparse and lacked variety. Also on the second day we were there workmen erected scaffolding right in front of our room which was a bit of a shock as they could look straight through our window. We hadn't been pre warned which would have been nice as it did create some noise as well as being an invasion of privacy.

Apart from that we really enjoyed our stay and would stay without hesitation again! Many thanks

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illyfirenze, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Residenza Johanna I - Antiche Dimore Fiorentine, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2012

Dear guests from Bad Nauheim,

it was our pleasure hosting you and your daughter and it is a pleasure reading your
kind and much attentive review!
We are happy that you've found our location and atmosphere cosy and homey and
we really hope to welcome you again in our residence.

We thank you also for your "slight critisism" which help us to improve ourselves and our service and which we would like to comment:
- unfortunately there was a problem with the rooftop and we ourselves were not informed
enough in time to warn you as to the scaffolds that were to be erected and we are very very sorry that your privacy was disturbed. We would like to add, that since the working is on the rooftop, the workmen are no longer operating along the windows' level.
- we are constantly improving our breakfast, introducing new elements to it and varying from time to time, so we invite you to come back and enjoy it!
- as to the towels, the small and media ones are of the fluffy type and always were and few days ago we changed the shower towels as well to the fluffy type.

We thank you again for dedicating your time and sharing your experience
All the best from Florence and see you soon!
the staff of Johanna I

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We only stayed a couple of nights at Residenza Johanna 1 but wished we stayed longer! Room was comfortable, with incredible service...clean room every day, helpful staff gave suggestions for great places for dinner and assisting us on how to navigate out of Florence when we picked a car to go to Tuscany. Great location, walling distance to everything but still quiet area. Fantastic spread of food for breakfast. And overall homely character was wonderful to come back to at the end of each day. Would definitely rate best B and B of trip so far!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoniqueAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illyfirenze, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Residenza Johanna I - Antiche Dimore Fiorentine, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2012

Dear guests,

we are really grateful for your beautiful review and your appreciation towards
so many aspects of our residence, especially those regarding our staff - it is
our satisfaction knowing your stay with us was so comfortable and pleasant!

So we can't wait welcoming you again for a longer stay and until then we send
you our warmest regards from Florence
from all the staff of Johanna I

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

This was my second time at Johanna. It's a lovely b and b, warm and friendly with lovely big rooms and great decoration and a very relaxed atmosphere. You you feel welcome and at home instantly. The staff are friendly and helpful and the location is good. They serve an excellent buffet breakfast and there are drinks and snacks on hand all day long. Being english we were particularly pleased with this, as a nice cup of tea is essential after a long day of sight seeing! We will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illyfirenze, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Residenza Johanna I - Antiche Dimore Fiorentine, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

Dear guests from London,

it is a great pleasure reading your so beautiful and generous words about
our residence and it was wonderful having you here for the second
time - there's no better compliment!!!
We are grateful for your enthusiasm and for feeling very much at home while
staying with us and we can't wait welcoming you all again soon!

Our warmest regards to you and your fascinating city
from all the staff of johanna I

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Thank you for perfect holliday spent in FIRENZE !
Thank you for a perfect, beautiful moments spent in Firenze, where we feel comfortable, , like at home . Especially thanks to your team and for your accommodation !
Perfect situated : near to center, but on quite street !
Peet T

Room Tip: Perfect location, near PARKING, Near the Center of city !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illyfirenze, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Residenza Johanna I - Antiche Dimore Fiorentine, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2012

Dear guests from Slovakia,

thank YOU a lot for your beautiful words, for your appreciation,
for your enthusiasm and kindness!!!
We are glad you felt at home staying with us as it is exactly what we wish to convey
to all travellers who choose to make a stop at our residence.

Our warmest regards from Firenze hoping to see you again soon
from all the staff of Johanna I

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This is a wonderful bed and breakfast, very comfortable and beautifully furnished with reql character. A nice breakfast and tea and cakes to come back to in the afternoon. The staff are friendly and helpful and are fluent English speakers

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illyfirenze, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Residenza Johanna I - Antiche Dimore Fiorentine, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2012

Dear guests from London,

we thank you very much for your beautiful words and for so appreciating our residence character and staff and we willigly will welcome you again in our florentine home!

Our warmest regards and best wishes for a mild english autumn
from all the staff of Johanna I

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed 5 days at Residenza Johanna I. It is located in a quite street, in an old Italian apartment house in the middle of Florence.
Our room and bathroom was very nice, decorated with antique Italian furniture, a four-poster bed and air condition.
The staff was very friendly and helpful, we got some great recommendations for sight-seeing, shopping and restaurants. (You should definitely try Tito´s Osteria which is just around the corner!)
Tea, coffee and cake is available free of charge the whole day, breakfast is good.
Not far away from the city center and you can reach all tourist attractions within walking distance. Also, the Botanical Garden is just around the corner, if you need a break from the tourist routine. We enjoyed Florence and our stay at Residenza Johanna a lot and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonian500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illyfirenze, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Residenza Johanna I - Antiche Dimore Fiorentine, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2012

Dear guests from Germany,

it was a pleasure reading your very kind words about our residence and, above all, it is a pleasure knowing you enjoyed your stay with us.
We thank you for sharing your experience and florentine tips with future travelers and hoping to welcome you again in our residence in the near future

Our warmest regards from Firenze
from all the staff of Johanna I

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Antica Dimora Johlea
Antica Dimora Johlea
#29 of 659 in Florence
442 reviews
San Marco
Antica Dimora Firenze
Antica Dimora Firenze
#82 of 659 in Florence
551 reviews
San Marco
San Giuliano Inn
San Giuliano Inn
#5 of 659 in Florence
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Soggiorno Oblivium
Soggiorno Oblivium
#31 of 659 in Florence
162 reviews
Fiorenza B&B
#3 of 659 in Florence
821 reviews
Sognando Firenze
#42 of 659 in Florence
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Johanna I - Antiche Dimore Fiorentine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Johanna I - Antiche Dimore Fiorentine

Address: Via Bonifacio Lupi 14, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: £54 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenza Johanna I - Antiche Dimore Fiorentine 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residenza Johanna I was our first born. Located on the first floor of a fine Palazzo, the largest of our Residenze has ten comfortable and elegant rooms plus a charming breakfast room It has recently been renovated although the original doors and paving have all been preserved. The high-ceilinged, spacious rooms are all on the first floor all decorated with exquisite fabrics and silk curtains. In every room: private bathroom with hairdryer, air conditioning, telephone, internet connection, satellite TV, safe, courtesy set. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residenza Johanna I - Antiche Dimore Fiorentine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Johanna i Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing