We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #56 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

The Hotel Europa is perfectly situated between all the main sites of Florence, and is about 5 blocks from the train station. The rooms were very clean and quiet (the church bells in the distance went off around 7:45am every morning...pretty cool, actually), and the staff was very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The hot water heater was down for two days, but I can't hold that against them. Breakfast was breads, salami, yogurt, and fruit cocktail, juice and coffee. Considering the location and convenience, modern bathrooms, cleanliness and friendly staff, you can't find a better value in a hotel

Room Tip: Our room was on the 2nd loor facing the Duomo. A room on a higher floor would have offered a more s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    740
    320
    37
    13
    5
See reviews for
204
431
65
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

Miriam and Roberto were over the top hosts. Rooms are clean and very modern bathrooms, changed linens, typical Italian breakfast included and plentiful. Coffee, etc. as you like. Wonderful central location for Florence sites as well as the train station.
Miriam can help with connections to restaurants, cooking classes, taxi's, tours etc. all with reputable sources an fair fees.

Room Tip: See if there is one available with a terrific view of the Duomo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRXXXX, Owner at Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
A home away from home is what we like to be known for.We hope you had a great time and the things you done while you were here sounds like the perfect holiday.You were very organised and we are happy we were able to help you with your requests.

Best

Miriam/Robert/Priscilla & Nonna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

My husband and I stayed here for four nights during the first leg of a two-week Tuscan vacation.My husband's back had gone out during the trip and, wouldn't you know it, our time in Florence coincided with a bank holiday, when most doctors - let alone most professionals - were not working. Miriam was most sympathetic and helpful. She called around to see which, if any doctors were available, who might make a "house call" etc. She and the staff were consistently friendly and responsive. As my husband healed, she encouraged and engaged us around our trip. We had a really wonderful time and, in the end, couldn't have asked for a better start to our dream vacation than a stay at the Hotel Europa!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Miriam and Roberto were friendly and helpful, Hotel Europa is in a very central location and we were able to walk to see all the sights in Florence. Our rooms had a great view of the Duomo and woke up to church bells every morning!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danette55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRXXXX, Owner at Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
We are glad when guests enjoyed their stay with us while in Florence. Most rooms have a view of the Duomo which we are happy to hear where enjoyed again.

Best regards

Miriam/Robert/Priscilla & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

In late September, we stayed three nights at the Hotel Europa in Florence. We were traveling with four generations of family and had seven rooms for the 15 of us.

The rooms were nicely decorated, immaculately clean, comfortable, spacious, and include a very nice breakfast in a cheery dining room. The hotel location is perfect: exit the front door, turn left, walk two short blocks and there’s the Baptistery and Doumo. We were traveling by train and the hotel is also reasonably close to the train station.

Miriam and Robert, who operate the hotel, were very accommodating and helpful. They reserved timed tickets for us at both the Uffizi and Accademia Galleries and did not charge us for the service. Miriam also graciously made reservations for the 15 of us at a nearby restaurant, Osteria dell'Agnolo, where we had a great dinner.

If we are fortunate enough to return to Florence some day, we will definitely stay at the Hotel Europa again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ginnyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRXXXX, Owner at Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
We thank these guests for putting a smile on our faces.Also for finding that the rooms were nicely decorated, immaculately clean,comfortable and spacious.As readers can see from most reviews that we are very centrally located to all attractions.We hope to be fortunate enough to have these guests as our guests in the near future.

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

Hotel Europa is ideally located between the Duomo and Accademia, within walking distance of train station and all the major sights. Tourist information and Bank-o-mat within a few steps of the front door. Conveniences (cheap internet point, laundrette, mini markets) only a few blocks away on Via Guelph. The neighborhood feels very safe.

Hotel desk is on the second floor, and signage is not immediately obvious. There is a lift, albeit small and awkward to manage with luggage. The main staircase/lift area has a musty smell, but it doesn't affect the guest areas.

I enjoyed two different rooms overlooking a landscaped courtyard with peek views of the Duomo over tiled roofs. Magnifico! My initial stay was in a deluxe room on the first floor, beautifully decorated. Return stay one floor higher, much cheaper, better view, decor more basic but just as comfortable and spacious.

Miriam was totally charming and took good care of me.

I would definitely recommend the Hotel Europa, and would return there if visiting Florence again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Miriam was extremely nice and easy to work with from the very beginning when I set up our reservations via email. Hotel Europa is in a great location—within walking distance from the train station and all the sites in the center of the city. Our suite was beautiful—frescoes on the ceiling, very clean, and nice breakfast spread (great cappuccinos!) Miriam and her husband gave us advice and maps to help us navigate the city. They also allowed us to leave our bags both before we were able to check in and also at the end of our stay after we had checked out. We look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRXXXX, Owner at Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Helping guests to relaxing and enjoy their stay with us while in Florence is our main objective.Communication played a huge part in these guest having a great time as we urge all our guests to do in order to get the most out of their vacation.We would also like to thank these guests for their kind words.

Thank you

Miriam/Robert & Priscilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#34 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,580 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#38 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
#41 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#28 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
Duomo
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
#39 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#45 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Property: Hotel Europa
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 14, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Florence
#47 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Europa 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel & Suites Europa located in the historical centre of Florence, is just a few steps away from the Cathedral of the Duomo, the railway station S.M. Novella and the Academy Gallery with the David of Michelangelo. Family managed, it has been recently renovated and offers its guests standard and suite rooms, most of them with a splendid view of Brunelleschi's Dome and Giotto's Bell Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing