We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Service. Fantastic Location.”
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Europa
Ranked #91 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2012

As a world traveler, I am always worried about 'budget' hotels. I normally stay in upscale hotels as I travel for business - and try to do so (if reasonably priced) even when traveling for leisure. Downtown Florence is not cheap, at-least not for your average traveler.

I then relied on hotel recommendations (Travel through Europe by Rick Steve's) and found Hotel Europa. I could not be any happier with the recommendation. The room was comfortable, the rate was competitive - even economical, but most importantly the location an staff were nothing short of amazing.

If you are most interested in the overall experience of the travel (Florence itself plus seeing David at the Accademia) you can hardly do better than this hotel. Everything is within minutes by foot. The staff will go out of their way to help your every needs and they speak perfect English :-)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramiro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 1,137 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

Once again, Rick Steve's recommendation was spot on. Owned and run by a local family for more than 40 years it is like "home". The breakfast offered lots of options Miriam and Robert were always ready to assist with directions and suggestions.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RiverKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Hotel Europa is ideally located near the Duomo and within an easy walk from the train station. Miriam and Roberto were very attentive hosts, making reservations for us to visit both the Uffizi and Accademia. They also provided excellent restaurant recommendations nearby.The room was quiet and comfortable. It even had a view of the Bell Tower. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

This is my second time staying at Hotel Europa, and will again next time I'm in Florence. The location cannot be better - walking distance to everything. We were even able to walk from the train station with our bags without any trouble. Miriam and Robert are very friendly and helpful. There is a nice selection at breakfast, and of course nice hot coffee! The rooms are clean and comfortable, and we had a nice view of the duomo two blocks away. For you classical music lovers, this place was once owned by Franz Liszt. I would definitely recommend Hotel Europa to my friends and family. I initially stayed here because my parents recommended it after their stay 20+ years ago. It was run by the same family then.

Room Tip: According to info from my parents, upstairs room has better view of the duomo.Both my rooms were nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Europa, about two blocks from the Duomo.The central location made it easy to walk anywhere we wanted to go. Our hosts, Miriam and Robert, were very friendly and helpful, and even gave us a good restaurant recommendation. The rooms were nice and breakfast was good. Great value for the money. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Hotel Europa is a wonderful small hotel right in the heart of Florence. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the European breakfast was very nice, and the location can't be beat. All of the major sites are within easy walking distance from the hotel. Miriam and Robert (the owners) could not have been more accommodating. They were incredibly welcoming, friendly, and helpful. I would definitely recommend Hotel Europa and I look forward to staying there again when I return to Florence.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vtgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Hotel Europa was a pleasant and convient place to stay in historic Florence. The owners were very helpful, always curteous and pleasant. Breakfast was good and ample. The lack of pool or fitness center did not impact my visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
#58 of 411 in Florence
902 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#51 of 411 in Florence
2,829 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Pendini
Hotel Pendini
#35 of 411 in Florence
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#42 of 411 in Florence
1,867 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 411 in Florence
2,408 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#56 of 411 in Florence
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Via Camillo Cavour 14, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#17 Family Hotel in Florence
#47 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £71 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Europa 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel & Suites Europa located in the historical centre of Florence, is just a few steps away from the Cathedral of the Duomo, the railway station S.M. Novella and the Academy Gallery with the David of Michelangelo. Family managed, it has been recently renovated and offers its guests standard and suite rooms, most of them with a splendid view of Brunelleschi's Dome and Giotto's Bell Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing