We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family owned, personal touch”
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #67 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Europa in early spring with my family. We had four rooms all together. For most of us, it was our first time traveling to another country. But despite being thousands of miles away from home, Miriam and Robert made us feel at home. Every morning Miriam was up working on breakfast for everyone, making espressos, and giving smiles. In the evening, Robert would help us make reservations at the best restaurants in town. They also helped us with things like buying tickets to museums, arranging for transportation, and even laundry.

The hotel was exactly what we wanted! It was central to just about everything in Florence, it was clean and well taken care of, the staff genuinely cared about the guests, and it was very affordable. I absolutely would stay at Hotel Europa again.

Room Tip: Nothing specific, but you might want to request a room that's away from the main doorways that l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 1,138 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2013

We only spent 2 nights at the Hotel Europa but it was a highlight during our recent trip to Italy. Miriam and her staff were very helpful and warm. It almost seemed like a home away from home. The facilities were clean and neat. The location could not have been better. It's just minutes walk from the cathedral, David and tons of shopping and eating opportunities. Thanks to the Hotel Europa!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We stayed four nights in Venice, all at the Hotel Europa. Miriam & her family and staff made us feel welcome and comfortable. Our rooms included a simple breakfast every morning of juice, cereal, yoghurt, slices meat & cheese, hard-boiled eggs, and croissants. Miriam personally made the caapuccino, which was the best I had my entire three weeks in Italy. Her Italian mam's greeting every morning just added a delightful family touch to our stay. The bathrooms are modern - although no washcloths were provided. The beds are firm but comfortable. The rooms are quite large by Italian standards. Be careful about opening windows - I still have scars from the Florence mosquitoes!! The hotel has an elevator, which was easy to operate for our one cane-using party member.

Room Tip: The higher your room, the narrower the staircase!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Stayed for 5 nights, with two teen daughters. We had the room on the first floor of the hotel (2nd floor of building) right at the very front. Hotel calls it Red Rubin I believe. 2 enormous rooms and bathroom which are directly off of a public lounge area. The Hotel was not terribly full, so we pretty much had the use of this lounge area to ourselves. Not sure if this is the norm. The room for our girls had 3 single beds, table with 4 chairs and some other furniture, which was lost in this huge room. Ours had a large (queen maybe) bed and again tons of room.

Shuttered windows opened on to the street below. We could barely hear the street noise, however the clothing store directly below us did crank up the music while the shop was open. Not a big deal as they open well after we were up and closed before 8 I think. If you are an afternoon napper, this could be an issue.

Rooms and bathroom were very clean and comfortable. Beds were awesome. Breakfast room was large and well stocked. The usual plus hard boiled eggs, cold meats and cheese, cereal and fruit. And possibly THE BEST CAPPUCCINO EVER!!!!

Others mentioned the odour as you go in the front door. Good thing as I was prepared for it. It is just in the lobby, elevator and stair areas. Absolutely none in the hotel areas. Don't let it stop you from choosing this hotel.

Staff/Owners are friendly and available, allowed us to leave luggage a bit after we checked
out. Location is midway between the Cathedral and David. Can walk to everything from there. Maybe a 15 minute easy walk from train station.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CampingmomBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

The Hotel Europa was a perfect place to stay with our family in Florence. We rented 3 rooms and they were all great rooms! The morning breakfast was also exceptional and they have the best cappuccino in Italy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieRutherford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed here 3 nights last week during our time in Florence. It was spotlessly clean. The family that owns and runs this hotel are extremely genuine and they want you to feel like part of their family. Breakfast was just enough to get you through to lunch. Our room was plenty big, and the view out of our window was amazing ( Duomo and courtyard).. This is a hotel that Rick Steves recommends. All the positive reviews I saw here on TI were true. Did notice that faintly musty smell when you walk into the building on street level but I also noticed that smell in lots of old buildings in Italy. The hotel is on the 2nd and 3rd floor, and does not have that smell.. It is fresh and bright! Location can't be beat! Would definitely stay here again !

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmoreMacon_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Europa a few weeks ago. Hotel Europa is a wonderful small hotel right in the heart of Florence. The rooms are comfortable and larger than others we stayed in Italy. The European breakfast was very nice and I enjoyed the coffee Miriam made each morning. The location is within an easy walk to the major sites. Miriam was incredibly helpful, friendly and could not have been more accommodating. I would definitely recommend Hotel Europa and I look forward to staying there again when I return to Florence.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank akstater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
San Lorenzo
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
#56 of 410 in Florence
883 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#44 of 410 in Florence
2,786 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#30 of 410 in Florence
2,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#6 of 410 in Florence
1,392 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 410 in Florence
3,541 reviews
Hotel Europa Signa
#4 of 4 in Signa
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Via Camillo Cavour 14, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#17 Family Hotel in Florence
#47 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £71 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Europa 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel & Suites Europa located in the historical centre of Florence, is just a few steps away from the Cathedral of the Duomo, the railway station S.M. Novella and the Academy Gallery with the David of Michelangelo. Family managed, it has been recently renovated and offers its guests standard and suite rooms, most of them with a splendid view of Brunelleschi's Dome and Giotto's Bell Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing