We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite”
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #44 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
London UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My favourite”
Reviewed 5 January 2009

I stayed with my family at Hotel Europa last October whilst visiting Italy. My mother had stayed here before and wanted to come back.
She was right- this was a wonderful hotel :)
Miriam and Gasim were SO nice, nothing was ever too much trouble for them and they always had a smile on their faces.
I felt really welcome there.
On one occasion, my father and I were chatting to Miriam and it stuck in my mind how lovely she was!!
The hotel rooms were beautiful - just as good as some of the museums that you pay to visit, yet I had it all in my own hotel room.
IThe Europa is conveniently located; walking distance from the main attractions and five minutes from the duomo.

I would strongly reccommend staying at this hotel and I will certainly stay there again when I next visit Florence.

Ally aged 15

  • Liked — The Hotel Owners
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank AteenagerfromEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    761
    321
    37
    13
    5
See reviews for
212
437
69
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ada, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2009

This is a small family run hotel with a superb location. It may have the friendliest staff in Europe! I stayed there over Christmas vacation with my thirteen year old son and it was the perfect choice. The hotel is just steps away from the Duomo and close to all the major sites. While the rooms are a little spartan they are comfortable and clean. Our room had a great terrace with a view of the Duomo.

  • Liked — The staff and the location
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kdh1716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2008

This was a fantastic hotel! The location COULD NOT have been any better - everything was in walking distance and for a "first-timer" to Florence it made my trip flawless.

The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and were excellent at providing a great level of service and helpful advice.

I fell in love with Florence and my short stay left me hungry for more!

I would highly recommend this hotel for its prime location, clean, comfortable rooms and extremely pleasant owners and staff.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kirkmali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2008

This hotel was perfect for our short stay in Florence, the staff at the hotel were very friendly, and nothing was a problem when it came to helping us. The hotel is in a fantastic location, within walking distance to everything. My first impressions were not great (very small lift to get up to lobby) but was not dissapointed from the time we arrived - everything else was great. Clean & large rooms & great breakfast was included.
Cant beat it for the price!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The entry
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank nene506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2008

Great hotel in a fabulous location. No need for rental car -- Duomo is at end of street and Uffizi is 15 minute walk.

Gassim, Maria, Miriam and Robert went above and beyond, caring for me when I became ill and treating my daughter and me as family. On top of serving the best cappucino in Florence, they also provide a simple, but adequate breakfast in a very cute breakfast room. Expect great concierge service to meet your needs; warm, friendly smiles; and a genuine caring attitude.

The renovated rooms are cozy -- make sure you request a renovated room! The new mattresses are comfortable. The bathrooms are small, but meet the needs. Flat screen tvs broadcast three English-speaking news channels, in addition to Italian and French broadcasts. Everything is spotless and cleaned daily.

The elevator is typically European, small and awkward -- tho it meets the needs. We tended to use the stairs.

Bottom line, staying here is like staying with family with all the benefits and none of the hassles. And the price couldn't be beat!
I would absolutely stay here again.

Thanks Gasim, Maria, Miriam and Robert!!

  • Liked — Gasim, Maria, Robert and Miriam -- the hotel owners
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BlueDevilCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chantilly virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2008

It is the best experience I have had so far. Hotel Europa, is truly breath taking, It was like you were staying at an ancient Castle. The Hotel, is close to everything and central to all of the Museums and the night life. We saved a lot on transportation, because, everything is accessable by foot. The family that owns it, treats everyone like a long lost family member, and they truly do everything to accomodate and look after you.
I will miss Maria, Qassim and Miriam and Robert!
I am going back, I can`t wait!

  • Liked — The location and the staff
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank freebird07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Fl
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2008

Great location, friendly atmosphere and friendly owners. Family operated and they are very very friendly and helpful.
Elevator difficult, and entrance is on level one, and you have to find elevator to go to 3rd level to check in.
Rooms were clean, but the air conditioning was turned off, so we tried to open windows at night and were attacked by mosquitos! It was unseasonably warm for this time of year, but it was a problem.
There is no parking, even unloading luggage is difficult. the parking was very expensive, as we had a van and had to pay for extra space for 3 days. We were not given the cost ahead, as it was private parking.
Breakfast was simple with hard cooked eggs, crescents and cereal. The usual coffees and drinks.
The owners friendliness make for a nice place to stay. Great recommendations for meals! Probably the best food of our trip!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — mosquitos
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank msmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#35 of 411 in Florence
2,696 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
#51 of 411 in Florence
867 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#30 of 411 in Florence
2,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
#45 of 411 in Florence
326 reviews
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#63 of 411 in Florence
534 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#56 of 411 in Florence
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Property: Hotel Europa
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 14, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#17 Family Hotel in Florence
#47 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Europa 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel & Suites Europa located in the historical centre of Florence, is just a few steps away from the Cathedral of the Duomo, the railway station S.M. Novella and the Academy Gallery with the David of Michelangelo. Family managed, it has been recently renovated and offers its guests standard and suite rooms, most of them with a splendid view of Brunelleschi's Dome and Giotto's Bell Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing