We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vasari Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Vasari Palace
Ranked #156 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed at Hotel Vasari Palace in September 2013. Loved the painting on the door, our fellow name was Francesco, which happened to be my Italian father-in-law's name, so that made us feel very special. Hotel Vasari is very very convenient to the train station and many attractions within Florence. The staff were exceptionally good in their welcome and helpfulness. Breakfast in the dining room was a wonderful experience every morning, not alone was the food good and plentiful the decor of the room was interesting and pleasant. Loved being in our room and looking out the window down onto the laneway and comings and going. The decor was lovely, clean and inviting. We slept extremely well there and would certainly love to visit "Firenze" again and stay at Hotel Vasari.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    218
    82
    25
    8
See reviews for
71
219
35
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

The hotel is ideally placed just 5 minutes walk across the Stazione Santa Maria Novella (central train station of Florence). It is about 15 minutes walk to Centro Storico where you find all the old churches, museums, restaurants and shopping district of the city. Since the building was built in circa 1600, the rooms are a bit stuffy but you'll have a peaceful sleep as it is fairly quiet with comfortable bed and linens. The entire hotel is well-kept and clean. The wifi connection is very stable and I was able to continue my work while on vacation. It is just a bit creepy to see all the doors of the rooms with a door-size poster of old Italian rulers/officers. They seem to be always looking at you when you walk through the corridors. Any officer in the reception desk is always helpful and ready with warm smile. Too bad we can't extend our stay for the New Year's eve as it was fully booked.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cool_Psyche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

My group and I adored our stay at this Hotel Vasari Palace. Beginning with its placement close to the train station and the center to its lovely and helpful staff, I was actually surprised with how well this choice fit into my experience in Florence. Starting each day in the city was convenient, with a clean, spacious hotel room, a hot shower, and a delicious array of breakfast items to choose from. The staff made the initiative to give me directions and tips toward each place I was interested in going to; also, they offered to hold on to my room key while I was out at night so I couldn't lose it. Along with the obvious gems of Florence that the hotel is close to, there are many hidden gems within walking distance that the receptionist gladly informed me about, such as the ZaZa traditional Italian restaurant. I will gladly stay in this hotel if I ever go back to Florence, and I genuinely recommend it to all who plan on traveling there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Arriving by train this hotel is a 5 minute walk from the station. Front desk staff( Alberto) was very helpful with information especially about sightseeing in Florence plus the history of Florence and also about the hotel which was a former monastery. The room was spacious and linen and towels were very good. The breakfast is really good and more than enough to start your day. The hotel, as well as being close to the train station is also a short walk from the main city attractions, The Duomo, the leather market at San Lorenzo (good prices and so much choice) and continues to the Ponte Vecchio. All the major museums are within easy walking as well as other major churches which should also be visited.
Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street front as it is noisy with traffic at peak hours. Or close the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce48Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Spent 3 days in Florence and this was very conveniently placed close to the train station. Cheerful staff and helpful to all queries. Breakfast was not bad. It's close to most tourist locations and is within walk able distance. Rooms are spacious but the bathroom is not.
The only cons of the hotel : There is a strange smell in the room and water leaks from the bathroom after a shower into the bedroom.
Otherwise its good value for money. It is also near to a lot of good restaurants and fast food joints.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We loved this hotel. It is very traditional Italian. You really feel you are indeed in Italy. The rooms are big and clean and decorated with quaint painted furniture. There is air conditioning in the room. There are also large communal sitting areas that make it feel spacious. We asked for a quiet room and got it. Could be street noise in some rooms. The hotel breakfast is magnificent, homemade fruit salad....yummy.
The hotel is well situated near to the rail and bus stations and an easy walk to the main town.
We fell foul of Croatia Airlines who left our bags in Dubrovnik and hotel staff kindly chased them up for us as we don't speak Italian. They were extremely kind and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank concordians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Very Poor sealing of windows from the street noise - impossible to sleep !
You hear very loud noises of the cars, motorcycles, scooters, and people talking.
I could hardly sleep from 3:AM til 6:AM.
Even though it is a very nice hotel, and close to the center, BUT a hotel room objective is to rest and sleep.
When I complained in the morning at the lobby, I did not get any compensation.
I will NOT COME again to this hotel.
If you want to sleep - I suggest not to book this hotel.
Jeremy H.

Room Tip: I would suggest another hotel, with much better sealing from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeH921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Desiree
Hotel Desiree
#159 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
#195 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#83 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#75 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Unicorno
Unicorno
#126 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#84 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vasari Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vasari Palace

Property: Hotel Vasari Palace
Address: Via Bernardo Cennini 11, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vasari Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Vasari Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing