We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really liked it”
Review of B & B Cimatori

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
B & B Cimatori
Ranked #78 of 650 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We really liked it”
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Florence is a great place for couples. We had to book in the last minute and found this B&B using Google Maps. We booked online and used the 10% discount for two nights.

Pros:
- Central location - 5min walk from everything in Florence
- Clean - not only the rooms but also the public areas
- Spacious room, well lit and a good bed
- Breakfast is good compared to the competition - included corn-flakes, fruit, danishes, coffee and other stuff (of course you could always aspire for more). There's also a shared fridge where you can grab something to eat late at night.
- A\C worked great


Cons:
Tiny TV - this wasn't a problem for us as we were very little time in the room, and the time we were there we didn't spend on TV
Tiny bathroom\ toilet - it didn't bother us much - it was very clean



A few other notes:
- The hostess was named Valeria and she was very nice (notice she's there only in the morning and until 14:00 or 16:00). She let us keep our bags there until our evening train which is nice.
- It's less than 15 minute walk from the train. As we had not suitcases, only backpacks, we simply walked the distance.
- The pictures on Trip Advisor depict the residence well.
- There's a small laptop in the public area with Internet.
- We were in the room that is the picture of the B&B on trip advisor, so we don't know about other rooms

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Livni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    104
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
52
146
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

My friend and I stayed here for two nights as part of a 4 month holiday and we would highly recommend it. Excellent service from the owners who were friendly and extremely helpful. The rooms a very sweet, very clean and we had a large window we could open for fresh air. The location is fantastic also.We felt very at home here. Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kdizzle47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santee, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We spent 3 nights at the Cimatori B&B last week and loved every minute of it. Our room was spotlessly clean, and dual pane windows kept out the noise of the city. There were a number of restaurants on the street, including a well stocked market just below the Cimatori. Valeria was the perfect hostess, very helpful and informative and suggested spots to visit that we had never heard of. Breakfast was lovely with a nice variety and Valeria also made a great cappuccino for me every morning! We had an easy walk from the train station to the Cimatori and also very short walks to the Uffizi, the Accademia, and the Bargello. We were also able to walk to the Pitti Palace, Ponte Vecchio, and Piazzale Michelangelo, and we are not youngsters. The Cimatori was lovely, welcoming, and relaxing after a full day of sightseeing. We will stay with Valeria again!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie4742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

I did spend one night night with my husband on Jan 4, the location is excellent, just a few minutes walk from the train station. Domenico was very friendly and helpful, the B & B is clean and comfortable, in the middle of every place you want to see in Florence.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PCV123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2010

Arrived and had a pleasant welcome - the place is well situated but up a lot of rather depressing steps - even though we had tried to travel ight we found it quite difficult.

The room was quite adequate but the major problem came when it came to time to try to go to sleep - there was a lot of noise from the street and this came from people in the street coming out of the various bars and then early (very) in the morning with the delivery workers.

The breakfast was Ok but rather pre-packaged - in all a just satisfactorty experience. The staff were pleasant, but it seems that most of the rooms are on the street and we were not alone in our discomfort.

I would probably not return - even though the stay was ok, the quality of sleep certainly was not.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g00dwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2010

For a central location in Florence, I highly recommend Cimatori. The charming host, Dominico, was extremely welcoming upon my arrival and was available as a helpful resource throughout my stay. The rooms are spotlessly clean, quaint, yet new and spacious, with modern bathrooms. One slight drawback is the pastries at breakfast are prepackaged. However, in light of the Cimatori's many strengths, I found this flaw insignificant. Though I personally prefer locations south of the Arno this is a great choice is you want to stay in the center. Just be wary of the overly touristy atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpin86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piedmont, CA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

I stayed at the Cimatori B&B for 4 nights with my husband and two young children. The location is absolutely excellent. We were just blocks from the Duomo and Uffizi. There are many restaurants and cafes nearby. There is also a full grocery store on the bottom floor. This was quite convenient. The B&B is in a 14th century building with 20 foot ceilings. There are many, many stairs to climb, so if you have problems climbing or a lot of luggage, this isn't the place for you. There is a small storage area on the bottom floor, and we parked our stroller there one night without incident.

Domenico, the host, is very gracious and knowledgeable. He also makes a mean cappuccino. Our kids unfortunately had some spills and broke a plate at breakfast, and Domenico was very patient. Breakfast was adequate but nothing special.

Having access to a refrigerator, microwave, plates and utensils was great. We don't like to eat out every night with two young kids, so this was very convenient for us. There is a stove but I am not sure if guests are permitted to use it as it was covered.

Our room was just okay. It was on an airshaft so we had almost no natural light. We were out most of the day, but it was still pretty dark and dingy looking. On the other hand, some other guests on the street side were complaining about noisy parties at nights. Our room was very quiet.

The bathroom and shower were tiny. Ladies, don't even think about trying to shave your legs in that shower! Towels are replaced only every 3rd day.

The beds were not very comfortable. Unlike most hotels in Europe where the duvets have fitted covers, these duvets were bare. Our top and bottom sheets were very ill-fitting and kept coming loose during the night. The pillows were really awful. This made for a poor night's sleep.

Overall, this B&B is a decent choice, especially for the location, very kind service, and the access to the kitchen. Ask for a room facing the street if you want some light.

Finally, you are crazy if you bring a car into Florence. Spare yourself the headache and take the train.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piedmontcamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Il Bargello B&B
Il Bargello B&B
#74 of 650 in Florence
407 reviews
Duomo
Badia Fiorentina Bed and Breakfast
Duomo
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
#18 of 650 in Florence
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
B&B Residenza della Signoria
B&B Residenza della Signoria
#65 of 650 in Florence
349 reviews
Duomo
Adelaide House B&B
Adelaide House B&B
#133 of 650 in Florence
113 reviews
Uffizi
B&B San Remigio
B&B San Remigio
#49 of 650 in Florence
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B & B Cimatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B Cimatori

Property: B & B Cimatori
Address: Via Dante Alighieri 14, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 650 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — B & B Cimatori 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cimatori Bed and Breakfast is an hidden gem in the heart of Florence right next to the Duomo, Palazzo Vecchio in Florence’s famous Piazza della Signoria and the Uffizi Gallery. Cimatori Bed and Breakfast is on the second floor of an historic building and it takes its name from the medieval square inwhich it is located.All major attractions are within a few minutes walking to make you feel right at home surrounded by the magic and romantic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your B & B Cimatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Cimatori
b & b Cimatori Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing