We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but take your earplugs”
Review of B & B Cimatori

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
B & B Cimatori
Ranked #81 of 675 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hot Springs, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OK, but take your earplugs”
Reviewed 31 December 2010

Arrived and had a pleasant welcome - the place is well situated but up a lot of rather depressing steps - even though we had tried to travel ight we found it quite difficult.

The room was quite adequate but the major problem came when it came to time to try to go to sleep - there was a lot of noise from the street and this came from people in the street coming out of the various bars and then early (very) in the morning with the delivery workers.

The breakfast was Ok but rather pre-packaged - in all a just satisfactorty experience. The staff were pleasant, but it seems that most of the rooms are on the street and we were not alone in our discomfort.

I would probably not return - even though the stay was ok, the quality of sleep certainly was not.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g00dwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    103
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
51
143
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2010

For a central location in Florence, I highly recommend Cimatori. The charming host, Dominico, was extremely welcoming upon my arrival and was available as a helpful resource throughout my stay. The rooms are spotlessly clean, quaint, yet new and spacious, with modern bathrooms. One slight drawback is the pastries at breakfast are prepackaged. However, in light of the Cimatori's many strengths, I found this flaw insignificant. Though I personally prefer locations south of the Arno this is a great choice is you want to stay in the center. Just be wary of the overly touristy atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpin86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piedmont, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

I stayed at the Cimatori B&B for 4 nights with my husband and two young children. The location is absolutely excellent. We were just blocks from the Duomo and Uffizi. There are many restaurants and cafes nearby. There is also a full grocery store on the bottom floor. This was quite convenient. The B&B is in a 14th century building with 20 foot ceilings. There are many, many stairs to climb, so if you have problems climbing or a lot of luggage, this isn't the place for you. There is a small storage area on the bottom floor, and we parked our stroller there one night without incident.

Domenico, the host, is very gracious and knowledgeable. He also makes a mean cappuccino. Our kids unfortunately had some spills and broke a plate at breakfast, and Domenico was very patient. Breakfast was adequate but nothing special.

Having access to a refrigerator, microwave, plates and utensils was great. We don't like to eat out every night with two young kids, so this was very convenient for us. There is a stove but I am not sure if guests are permitted to use it as it was covered.

Our room was just okay. It was on an airshaft so we had almost no natural light. We were out most of the day, but it was still pretty dark and dingy looking. On the other hand, some other guests on the street side were complaining about noisy parties at nights. Our room was very quiet.

The bathroom and shower were tiny. Ladies, don't even think about trying to shave your legs in that shower! Towels are replaced only every 3rd day.

The beds were not very comfortable. Unlike most hotels in Europe where the duvets have fitted covers, these duvets were bare. Our top and bottom sheets were very ill-fitting and kept coming loose during the night. The pillows were really awful. This made for a poor night's sleep.

Overall, this B&B is a decent choice, especially for the location, very kind service, and the access to the kitchen. Ask for a room facing the street if you want some light.

Finally, you are crazy if you bring a car into Florence. Spare yourself the headache and take the train.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piedmontcamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Arrived early by train. Walked to Cimatori with luggage. Easy to find, comfortable walk and felt safe at all times. D & V were very friendly and accommodating. Held Our luggage for us Because of early-hr. arrival, and moved it in the room When prepared. Graciously shared Their knowledge of Florence and other Italian towns / cities. Great central location to access everything (Siena, Pisa, and all the beauty of this compact town). They Made Our reservations at the Uffizi and Accademia for us (Requested by email). Room was impeccably clean at all times, and quite cute. Loved the toiletries They supply. Large refrigerator WAS available for all guests to use (wine, cheese, caprese). Restaurant just outside B & B has fabulous dinner, sat outside. Cons-Climbing steps with luggage, and no view (minor issues ... We Were Out and About for Our five days, and luggage was true challenge at Most places, and only Happens on arrival and departure). Loved interacting with D & V at breakfast, and other guests from around the world. Cappuccino was delightful, and breakfast allowed us to start early Our sightseeing in Florence. One of Our fondest Experiences of a 2 wk. stay in Italy.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Slainte2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2010

Great communication before our reservation. Dominico was willing to accommodate our arrival after hours and allowed us to store our bags on check out day, got us reservations to the Academia and to Il Latini for dinner, printed out train schedules. Free WiFi or they have a computer in the breakfast area to use. Rooms pretty basic but clean and comfortable. Breakfast would be easy to skip, except for the cappucino V can make for you, or teach you to make. The best location I can imagine for seeing all the Florence attractions. Very nice people with very good English

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruzanheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

When staying in a historic city you want to be in the heart of the beast. Cimatori could'nt have been in a better place, situated between The Duomo and The Uffizi with culture oozing all around. Made better by the warm welcome by Domenica and Valeria, who are the most pleasant of hosts, and have buckets of local knowledge. Lots of restaurants close by and nothing is ever far away in a compact city like Florence. Watch out for the cyclists !! Mark Braithwaite May 2010

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkCultureVulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2010

We stayed in Cimatori for five days and explore not only Florence but also went to Pisa and Siena. It is 10-15 min walk to train or bus station. The stay was very pleasant and room and bathroom clean. It is also good to mention that there was heat in the room, because one day when it was raining it came handy to dry ourselves and get warm. Breakfast is typical continental breakfast, but need to mention that Domenico or Valeria make excellent coffee (one of the best I had in Italy). I would be very good if they add something not sweet for breakfast, maybe just slice of cheese. Overall we were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olga_ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
B&B De' Biffi Firenze
B&B De' Biffi Firenze
#83 of 675 in Florence
105 reviews
Piccolo Principe B&B
#27 of 675 in Florence
301 reviews
Duomo
B&B Residenza della Signoria
B&B Residenza della Signoria
#68 of 675 in Florence
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
B&B Emozioni Fiorentine
B&B Emozioni Fiorentine
#26 of 675 in Florence
374 reviews
Duomo
Stanze del David Place
Stanze del David Place
#65 of 675 in Florence
131 reviews
Sognando Firenze
#52 of 675 in Florence
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B & B Cimatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B Cimatori

Property: B & B Cimatori
Address: Via Dante Alighieri 14, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 675 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — B & B Cimatori 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cimatori Bed and Breakfast is an hidden gem in the heart of Florence right next to the Duomo, Palazzo Vecchio in Florence’s famous Piazza della Signoria and the Uffizi Gallery. Cimatori Bed and Breakfast is on the second floor of an historic building and it takes its name from the medieval square inwhich it is located.All major attractions are within a few minutes walking to make you feel right at home surrounded by the magic and romantic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your B & B Cimatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Cimatori
b & b Cimatori Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing