We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad service, good location”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Condotta House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Condotta House
Ranked #330 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad service, good location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We travelled to Florence at the end of May. Overall, we loved Florence and would come back, it’s a beautiful city with so much to see and do. The one hiccup we had in our trip to Florence was staying at this hostel and dealing with the owner of this hostel.
Originally, we booked to stay at Florence Youth Hostel (original hostel), but due to renovations they transferred us to this hostel. Good thing that we had emailed them prior to our trip, otherwise we highly doubt that they would have contacted us to even notify us of this change. Now, our original hostel had a policy where we can check in by 10pm, and given that we were only scheduled to arrive in Florence at 9:30pm, we had to ensure that the new hostel would still be open. To our disappointment, they were not open past 7, and said that they will charge us 20 euro for late check-in. The reason why we booked the original hostel was due to their late check-in policy, so why would we have to pay extra to check-in when it’s not our fault that this hostel was renovating? But fine, we decided to go ahead anyways given that it’s hard to find a new hostel last minute. We arrive at 9:30 pm and there is no one at the door to greet us. So why exactly are we paying this 20 euro fee? To stand in front of a locked door and hope that someone shows up eventually? Finally the person arrived, and let us into our room. After 30 min of wasting our time trying to find the keys to the office, trying to call the owner to find the wifi password, and trying to find out the information of how much we need to pay, we finally settle in. Again, we paid 20 euro to wait for an incompetent person who doesn’t know anything about the hostel to check us in, why?
The next morning we finally meet the owner, and she says we have to pay the whole fee in cash up front. In all our time of staying in many hostels across Europe, we were never asked to pay in cash. Her argument is that this is the policy of our original hostel, and we should have known this. Now she is a hypocrite because she doesn’t follow the original hostel’s policy on check in and scams us with her 20 euro check in, but she does follow the original hostel’s policy of payment? Woman, make up your mind. Then, she has the guts to tell us that she is being nice by charging the original policy rate because her hostel is more expensive. EXCUSE ME??? Our original hostel transferred us here. You agreed to take visitors from the original hostel to your own hostel, your agreement with the original hostel owner is not OUR problem. You are not doing us any favour. She continued with her attitude by saying that we can go look for another hostel. Again, how is it our problem that she agreed to help out the other owner by taking their guests? She also charged us higher city tax than the original hostel, again, choosing her own policy over the original hostel to benefit her financially and being inconsistent with the policies that she was applying. By the end, to avoid wasting any more time arguing with her so we can go and see the city, we decided to pay her the full amount. The hostel is nice, and it’s in a fantastic location, but if you’re being transferred here from Florence Youth Hostel, BE WARE, you WILL get scammed!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aserykh10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    21
    5
    3
    6
See reviews for
5
31
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

My friends and I booked into a different Hostel who cancelled on us at the last minute and transferred our booking to Condotta House. Despite this the location of the guest house is superb, ten steps will take you to the main square with the Uffizi gallery and the Duomo and all other amenities are on the doorstep. Maddalena has decorated the guesthouse very well and takes great pride in her business and the cleanliness of the place. The rooms were also made up everyday and there are toiletries and towels provided. You also have the option of paying a small supplement to have breakfast provided in your room the night before for the morning (there is a fridge in the room). Thanks for a lovely stay, would go back again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trippyfeeeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Magda is wonderful host, very friendly and helpful. The room very clean and comfortable. I will recommend this place to everyone, nothing to complain about it. The location is perfect, in the middle of the action, just great for city break.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJ_London2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Had a great experience in this gem of a hotel. The Location is superb. The rooms are generously spacious, spotlessly clean and full of delightful Italian charm. The beds made for a great nights sleep and the shared bathroom was always clean. The room also comes equipped with a fridge, perfect for stocking up on the many delicious delicacies sold nearby! Maddalena, the lovely owner couldn't have been more welcoming. She awaited my arrival well past the designated check in time and happily supplied me with a great combination of the best places to eat and must see's outside of the tourist areas. Will definitely be returning to Condotta House on my next visit to Florence!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grogs2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Great location right at the centre of Florence. Affordable price, Very spacious room room with lovely decoration. Very clean environment even though the toilet is separated but is always available. Lovely owner " Magdalena " very friendly,kind and helpful and her dog " SKY " ^^. Will definitely be staying here again when I'm back to Florence. Regards from Ireland.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Perfect location in the center of Florence! Clean facilities and beautiful decoration! Free internet. Very big and comfortable rooms! Magdalena (the owner) is a very friendly, helpful, kind and wonderful person always with a smile!! Next time in Florence I would definitely stay in the Condotta House!
Greetings from Greece!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Every cozzy corner of Florence! The location is unbeatable. The owner is very nice and lovely girl who explain you everything about the city, about foods and tours. The place is so clean. There are 2 bathrooms for 4 rooms and they alway spotless. Rooms and are very comfortable and quuiet. Great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iwona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
B&B Il Gattopardo Firenze
B&B Il Gattopardo Firenze
#247 of 659 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Duomo
B&b Casa di Dante
B&b Casa di Dante
#381 of 659 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Uffizi
Bronze Horse
Bronze Horse
#210 of 297 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Palazzo Uguccioni
Palazzo Uguccioni
#37 of 297 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Uffizi
Soggiorno Antica Torre
Soggiorno Antica Torre
#191 of 659 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Uffizi
Art and Luxury Apartments
Art and Luxury Apartments
#98 of 297 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Condotta House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Condotta House

Property: Condotta House
Address: Via della Condotta 3, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #330 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of the city, close to the famous Ponte Vecchio and Uffizi Gallery, with spacious rooms at budget price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Condotta House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing