We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Stop, Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Bar

Black Bar
Ranked #674 of 2,676 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Pizza, Cafe, Fast food, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television
Neighbourhood: Duomo
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quick Stop, Great Experience”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My fiancée and I have been in Italy for the past few months. Whenever we need some good food or a drink when we are out, we always stop in. The staff is amazing and helpful, even when the shop is busy. It is located next to the Duomo and is a perfect pre or post meeting spot after a long day of tours.

The prices of the food is comparable to other stores but the portions of the food are bigger and it is much better.

We are currently having our first cappuccino today, and I have to say, it is one of the best in Florence. Definitely stop in!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tschlames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    46
    18
    9
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Very rude staff!”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Some friends and I went into Black Bar for gelato, but didn't get as far as buying any because the woman behind the counter was so rude! This sour faced young woman strangely accused us of only pretending to want gelato to 'cover up' for our friend, who had gone to the toilet before buying anything. She then shouted insults about us to her colleague in Italian, assuming that we wouldn't understand... Naturally we left and went to another (cheaper and less hostile) gelateria close by!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisyaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So far the best pizza in town.”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

My wife and I are food connoisseurs. Looking for the best pizza in Italy. We may have found it. The staff was so nice. Let me taste some flavors. Had an expresso and it was enjoyable. Will be back for more.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodlovertothebone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapallo, Italy
Level Contributor
90 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good for the location”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

It is a bar with a selection of food already prepared, you choose and they heat up it in a microwave. they also have cold food. A small place to relax and eat something fast. The staff was nice and smiling, we were a group of 11. The bathrooms are in the 3rd floor, not very well taking care (unfortunately), they are old.
The location is nice, next to the Duomo.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gianna Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Impolite staff, terrible gelato. The only good thing is the location. It is a place for tourists only.

Helpful?
2 Thank Taimur R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed Black Bar also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Black Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing