We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good and bad points”
Review of Leonardo Da Vinci

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leonardo Da Vinci
Ranked #323 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Came as part of a group and found the rooms quite acceptable after the shoe box we had in Venice. Unfortunately the walls between the rooms were paper thin and I could clearly hear the telephone conversation in the next room.
Most rooms face onto the car park at the back or a lovely view of the railway yards (sic) as we are metres from the station. You can hear the trains but it didn't affect our sleep.
No-one reported bed bugs as a previous review stated, but the girl at the bar was extremely unhelpful and obnoxious to some of the group early on. We had no problem with her but the drinks were overpriced and she didn't want to allocate them to our room and insisted on cash.
Reception people were great and they suggested a great restaurant for some of our group which I actually visited thanks to tripadvisor.
Position was fine - only a short walk from town and the station just up the road.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEONARDODAVINCIHOYEL, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Leonardo Da Vinci, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you for spending your time to leave a comment about our Hotel.
We are sorry for the behavior of the girl in the bar and we want to apologize for what happened there; about the prices we think that you should have seen that in Florence normally prices are higher.
Hoping that these elements do not prejudice your opinion about us, we wait you as our guest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 503 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2012

I got scared (and itchy) reading a recent review that mentioned the possibility of bed bugs; fortunately that was not our experience. This hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the centre of the action, i personally found the walk to be a good bookend to the day. This is our first stay in florence so i don't know how this hotel compares with other options, but here's what we liked about it: the room was spacious, the 3 small beds for our triple were surprisingly comfortable, the bathroom was clean, spacious and well-lit. We found the staff extremely friendly and helpful (helped me arrange shipping our extra shopping back home), and the hotel seems to try to go the extra mile. They offer a free welcome drink, and our bathroom was supplied with 3 toothbrush/toothpaste packs, shoe shiners and 3 shower caps. Overall, great value for cost, would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mleeandd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEONARDODAVINCIHOYEL, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Leonardo Da Vinci, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you for your comment, we are glad to see that you appreciated our Hotel.
It is a pleasure for us to be helpfull for our guests and we always try to do the best for them.
We hope to have you as our guest again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed at the Leonardo Da Vinci last night. The staff was great. The hotel is very nice. The rooms are spacious. We did not eat there, but the food looked good. The front desk was also very helpful in assisting us with a schedule for the bus to Sienna. However, I checked the beds and saw what I thought were bed bug feces. So my first instinct was to go to the front desk. I asked if they had ever had a problem with bed bugs. They asked me what room I was in and then said 'no'. So we went to sleep - hoping for the best. The next morning, I woke up with 14 bites (on my arms and thighs). I do not recommend this hotel, unless you want to do the 'bed bug cleanse' when you come back home or worse... bring them around with you on your trip, go somewhere else. There are tons of hotels around this area. Also... always check the mattress and trust your instincts and never let anyone sway you to the contrary. Good luck!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Axl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the comment that you left on trip advisor.com for us.
We are really glad that our services and staff were up to your expectations.
We are now informing you that after your reporting we immediately took the necessary cares, proceding to sanitize every single piece in the room.
We hope to have you again as our guest in the future to show you our professionalism.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Very noisy guests. The people next room made so much noise all night we had trouble sleeping. We called the reception but they didn't do anything about it.

Stayed: June 2012
1  Thank yozaskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 July 2012

Dear Guest,

we are really sorry for the disadvantage that occurred to you during your stay.
Unfortunately the behaviour of the guests is not only under our responsability, but also, and mostly it depends from the manners (or lack of manners) of people.
However, we would like to apologize by the night receptionist, not for having brought a quiet situation after the due time.
Hoping to have you as our guests again in the future to repair to the mistake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Room was clean, remodeled and beautiful. Huge window to let in plenty of light and it opened completely to let in fresh air. Beds were comfortable enough and staff was also friendly. Very nice dining area too.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

The Hotel is ok, the restaurant is good, but people shouting on the corridors late at night turns any experience off. Even after requesting the crew didn't help...

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deda78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Our family room was quite nice which made our stay very enjoyable. Ours was a family room which was clean and modern. We stayed two nights and found the staff friendly and helpful. The Irish bartender was an absolute delight. Breakfast was included in our price and was pretty good. There is car parking on site for an additional fee - it's very small and tight but served a purpose. We walked into town and left the car behind - it's not too much of a hike. Maybe a bit far for very young children but taxis are readily available. Definitely recommend this hotel for travellers not wanting to pay for 5 star prices.

Room Tip: All rooms at this hotel are clean, neat and fresh. Bathrooms are clean and modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeTourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Luxor Florence
Hotel Luxor Florence
#99 of 410 in Florence
267 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Golf
Hotel Golf
#226 of 410 in Florence
445 reviews
Hotel Europa
#4 of 4 in Signa
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Starhotels Michelangelo
Starhotels Michelangelo
#126 of 410 in Florence
842 reviews
Italiana Hotels Florence
#167 of 410 in Florence
1,127 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#88 of 410 in Florence
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Da Vinci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Da Vinci

Address: Via Guido Monaco 12, 50100, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#122 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £55 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Da Vinci 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel , only 300 meters from the Santa Maria Novela train station is located in a modern palace on the borders of the historical center of Florence. The Exhibition Hall (Fortezza da Basso) and the Meeting Center (Palazzo dei Congressi) are a short 5 minute walk away. All the tourist, cultural and commercial attractions are only a 10-minute walk away. The hotel is easily be reached by car and offers parking by arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Leonardo Da Vinci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonardo Da Vinci Florence
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing