We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beauty, relaxation and friendlyness at it's very best”
Review of Villa Jacopone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Jacopone
Ranked #11 of 303 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
amsterdam
Level Contributor
94 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Beauty, relaxation and friendlyness at it's very best”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

For our first visit to the area of Florence, we knew we wanted to stay somewhere that was convenient for sightseeing but also, someplace peaceful where we could relax. Villa Jacopone was an ideal choice for both.

The location is outside of Florence on the hillside reaching to Fiesole (lovely village to visit) with an excellent view over Florence. Just a few minutes walking from the villa there is a bus running regularly that will bring you to either Florence or Fiesole. It’s easy and only costs 2 euros, but you can also buy tickets off the bus at shops which are even less. The surroundings are very serene. Given that there are only 4 rooms at the villa itself, it is never busy and often possible to enjoy the pool all by yourself. The rooms themselves are immaculate and tastefully decorated with high end furnishings. We stayed front side on the top level, which has the best views. There is a good working airco system however, during our stay the evenings are cool enough that we could sleep without it and leave the balcony door open with the screens shut to keep mosquitos out. I do suggest bringing mosquito repellant as I went home with polka dotted legs – not from inside the room but from being outside.

The kitchen is more than sufficiently stocked with any delicious thing you could imagine. Breakfast items, fruits, juice, meats, cheeses, olives, wine, beer, limoncello, …. Viviane often prepares extra snacks and sweets as well, which is a nice treat. A quick suggestion for Viviane would be to also stock at least 1 type of non-black/non-caffeine tea.
The pool is very clean and as mentioned, not crowded. There are more than enough chairs for all the guests with umbrellas if needed.

There are a couple points I want to mention. Consider them ‘suggestions’ (for the villa) or ‘good to knows’ (for the guests). I don’t want to call them negatives because they don’t need to be! They are just items that were noticeable to me and sometimes if a person just knows in advance, it is enough and that’s why I want to mention them.
The rooms are cleaned daily but this happens (again it’s only my opinion!) rather early. So, you need to make the room free by 10:30 (sometimes it was a little bit later). Checkout is also quite early at 10:00. I’ve become used to 11:00 or 12:00 checkout in other places. Last item is regarding the pool. It is required to wear swimming caps. I understand why it’s done, the pool is spotless and the cleanest pool I’ve ever seen! :) It just seems a little old fashioned.

Back to the positives! While everything was excellent, it’s the friendliness of the owners that bring it all together. They are so kind and sweet. Any question you have, they are ready to help.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 20wot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
92
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed here for 5 days 4 nights about 3 weeks ago and I can confirm all the good comments put up by others in this forum. Viviana & Paolo were very friendly and they have given us many good advises such as where to dine, which is a must-see, what to do etc. And above all, we really enjoyed their beautiful villa. We are from Singapore and this B&B is situated in a prime residential enclave, in our country’s term, a “Good Class Bungalow” zone, which means only for the rich! All the neighboring houses are mostly villa of different architecture design and all come with nice big garden. And yes, this is not right in town but it’s easily accessible to town via public bus in 10 minutes and it definitely offered a different living experience as compare with a hotel stay. Every direction we looked out from our 1-bedroom apartment is awesome, especially early in the morning and during sunset. We liked it so much that we almost come home (Yes, we called it our “home”) everyday around 4 pm to enjoy the pool and the beautiful ambience found at the pool side and our apartment. And with the generous supply of fresh fruits, ham, cheese, wine, biscuit, nuts, Lavazza coffee, Twining tea, fruit juice etc, we were really pampered by the host …...And because of our limited time, Viviana has arranged a car with chauffer to drive us for sightseeing on the last day of our stay. It costs us EU$320/- but we manage to go to places like Pisa, Lucca, countryside of Tuscany, including a beautiful small town where Pinocchio author was born, plus shopping at The Mall etc… The car was a Benz 250, new and clean, driver is very courteous and resourceful. To me, it was worth spending such money as it would have cost more money and time to join an ordinary tour for 3 of us. Thank you again Viviana & Paolo, and we highly recommend this place to couple or family who is visiting Firenze.

Room Tip: we took Leonardo for its beautiful view and private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awchooc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This place totally deserves every good review it gets! We stayed in the room by the pool which is very private and gorgeous. The room which is a small villa is beautiful with excellent furniture and all the equipment one might need. viviana, the lovely owner (Paolo is lovely too!) fills the kitchen up with fresh food everyday and like everyone else wrote, it's free of charge (and very tasty)! The view from the hill is just amazing!!! The place was spotless and cleaned every day. There is absolutely nothing negative we could say about this place, it's simply a little piece of heaven! It gives you the opportunity to relax between the visits to the beautiful Tuscany and Viviana and Paolo just know how to make you feel at home while letting you enjoy your privacy and their beautiful B&B. We would love to come back some day!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IloveFirenze2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2013

From the moment we arrived we were treated as VIP's. Viviana and her charming husband went out of their way to be helpful and generous. The apartment was fantastic with every need catered for. The fridge was well stocked with lovely treats to start the day with and it was so lovely to come back to the apartment , finding everything spotlessly clean and the fridge restocked. Viviana was a great host and made many brilliant suggestions for places to park , visit and restaurants to try , without ever intruding in our privacy. Fantastic views from the balcony , a great swimming pool and relaxing area made this fabulous villa , with out a doubt ,the nicest place i have ever stayed in. Thank you !!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This was one of our best accommodation experiences in Italy - the hosts were extremely generous with their pantry and fresh baking every day and even a freshly cooked Spaghetti Bolognese sauce from Viviana was out of this world - the view is stunning over the rooftops down to the centre of Florence with the Duomo and the pool and communal grounds were just amazing! Would happily recommend it to anyone - families, couples, elderly, young!

Room Tip: Didn't see all the rooms on offer but the Gallileo Suite alongside the pool was faultless!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 805KateP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

As independent travellers we are always looking for the best kept secrets and this is certainly worthy of 10 out of 10. The previous reviews sum up this place nicely. It just remains to say ...... don't waste time looking for anything else, superb!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
viviana b, Proprietario at Villa Jacopone, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Google Translation
Chers amis, je vous remercie d'avoir examiné si vite Villa Jacopone.
Vos commentaires nous ont confirmé que notre travail porte ses fruits et répond aux besoins de nos clients, le nôtre est un effort constant parce que tout fonctionne parfaitement, mais il arrive parfois que quelque chose ne va pas, nous chérissons vos suggestions, et nous allons essayer d'y remédier à l'avenir. Pour le reste, tout droit, ce qui a fait votre séjour encore plus agréable pour tous les âges. La princesse a appris à nager et Shirin est devenu son ami proche, le jeune homme n'était pas loin derrière et tout s'est bien passé, vos pensées sur l'hébergement et la proximité du centre de la confirmation valitidà de notre choix, et c'est grâce pour vos futurs commentaires que les clients lisent et savent immédiatement ce qu'ils vont trouver. La chaleur de nos hôtes est spontané et fait partie de notre personnalité. Un câlin à tout le monde, bon travail à vous et meilleurs voeux pour les enfants d'âge scolaire.
Merci encore et à bientôt,
Viviana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2013

To be honest, no amount of pictures or reviews can do justice to this place.The suites (apartments) are huge and oh so comfortable with a fridge that is constantly stocked with champagne, limoncello, beer, fruits, desserts, cheese, proscuitto amongst many other goodies (all free of charge). The food cupboard came with jams, breads, biscuits, cakes, scotch, chianti wine etc etc. Beds were comfortable, the cleaning was spotless everyday and even the bathroom was beautiful. Everyday when leaving for the day's sightseeing (a lot of which Viv helped us organise), the wonderful Viviana would bid you off in typical European 'mum style' wearing a floral apron and a loving look. The beauty of this place is the home- like hospitality while also having the amenities and comfort of a 5 star hotel. And although Viviana takes perfect care of you, she also gives you ample privacy. Perfect. Viv even bid us off with a delicious jar of homemade jam. I have so much more to say about how magnificent this place was but there wouldn't be enough space. If you're considering Villa Jacopone, don't think twice. Our trip would not have been even half as good as it was if we chose to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Any room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shrutika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
viviana b, Owner at Villa Jacopone, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear young friend, that with so much wisdom you have brought forward the reservation, thank you for your long and detailed comment.
I apologize if I did not answer immediately to your review, but thanks to you and other guests, we are having a success that we hoped and thought we came so quickly. You agree that our efforts have been widely appreciated, but you have played the most important game, "trust me" and thanks to the collaboration of all the result was satisfactory. Florence is beautiful and interesting and as you have visited you, I just do not ever has almost none. The memories that you will take in your country, will be indelible, and photographs will help you remember.
Thanks again to your parents that allowed this trip, and the degree of your brother then, has meant that you could all be together even for a few days. You have left a wonderful memory to Villa Jacopone, with your youth and desire to know my city and I hope to be able to give again welcome in the future.
Thanks for the nice words and appreciation. I embrace you all with sympathy viviana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,087 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Villa Cora
#7 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#13 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#17 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Il Salviatino
#90 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Jacopone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Jacopone

Property: Villa Jacopone
Address: Via Iacopone da Todi 38, 50133, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 303 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jacopone prestigious villa has 4 suites of 45/50 sqm., Including three on the first floor (all with private entrance from the rooftop terrace with views of Florence and Fiesole), and fourth at level garden in front of the swimming pool. Furnished with fine wood furnishings and fine fabrics, and suites welcome guests by wrapping it in a warm and charming atmosphere. Each suite is equipped with a stove, refrigerator and sink. There is, in addition to the need for equipment for the table, pots and kitchen utensils, espresso coffee machine with pads, kettle and toaster. In addition, everything you need to prepare for a great breakfast at the most liked time and enjoyed indoors or on the terrace of the suite. All rooms are equipped with independent heating and air conditioning, color TV, internal telephone, safe, WIFI, cable internet, heating and air conditioning. Outside the villa, a magnificent garden with swimming pool and covered parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MyHotelShop, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Villa Jacopone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing