We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Jacopone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Jacopone
Ranked #10 of 296 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

At first i was concerned because this beautiful home was down a small street off a busy road to
Fiesole. However, my fears were put to rest as soon as my wife and I met the wonderful and knowledgeable host, Viviana. The view of Florence is amazing. The room was perfect. The fridge was stocked. Make sure to listen to all of Viviana's suggestions; she really knows which restaurants and sites to see, and which to avoid. We did not listen to her on one occasion, and we still regret it.
The bus to town is easy, but the published schedule not very accurate.
Make sure to head up to Fiesole for dinner. It was close and amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a balcony overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
91
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

This place is perfect!
It's a short journey from the airport. Our taxi driver, in impressive English, commended us on our choice of place to stay, so we had high expectations.
We weren't let down! We were greeted by our delightful host, Viviana, who proved to be a excellent alternative to our internet guide; attentive without being intrusive and all her choices, including local restaurants were spot on.
The rooms have an amazing view overlooking Florence and are clean, spacious and elegantly decorated with a comfortable charm. All your needs are catered for from a fridge stocked full of tasty delicacies including home made limoncello, which we were given as a leaving present, home made panacotta and muffins, to copious amounts of toiletries and very comfortable beds!
The centre is a short bus ride away and we enjoyed the delights of the city during the day followed by lazy late afternoons back at the villa, relaxing by the pool, so don't forget to pack your swimwear!
We couldn't have asked for more. We stayed for three nights and left with fond memories of a beautiful city and looking forward to coming back soon to Villa Jacapone!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ac2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We spent three nights at Villa Jacapone the setting is amazing and the owners Viviana and Paolo are very friendly and welcoming . The apartment is very spacious and well equipped.
From your balcony and the pool area you soak in the amazing views of Florence and Fiesole.
Villa Jacopone is very close to Florence and Fiesole, but far enough to give you respite from the crowds.
Viviana has great knowledge of the area and recommended we vist the town Fiesole which is only a 10 minute ride on the bus . The views are stunning and the Franciscan Missionary Museum is worth a visit. She also recommended the Opifico delle Pietre Dure a museum dedicated to semi precious stones and the Basilica of Santa Maria Novella which were amazing.

With regards to eating in Florence Viviana recommended Trattoria dei 13Gobbi which is a little gem hidden on a small alley like street in Via Porcellana. The pasta was amazing.

It was my partners 50 birthday and our stay at Villa Jacopone made the experience extra special!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon24756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had a fantastic time celebrating our wedding anniversary. There are amazing views and it's a very relaxing location by the pool with easy access on the bus to Florence. We will be coming back next year! Viviene recommended some great restaurants including a romantic restaurant in Fiesole. The homemade Limocello which is included and the wine were delicious. Thanks for a lovely stay - Nick and Katie

Room Tip: The Leonardo suite has fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

What a wonderful oasis is Villa Jacapone. I was there with my three year old son and husband and we loved every minute of it. Everything was done with class, style and warmth. Viviana and Paolo are wonderful and have thought of every detail to make your stay comfortable and relaxing. The suite was spotless (believe me I looked), the fridge was stocked everyday with delicious food and drinks including fresh seasonal fruits and vegetables and the view of Florence from our room was amazing. Viviana who is a true artist in life recommend some amazing places to visit and eat. This is a perfect location to stay on your visit to Florence and neighbouring areas with your loved ones or even alone. A very special place. Thank you Viviana and Paolo!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMslia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

it feels like you are visiting a friend or relative and you stay in their house! the place is cozy and spacious and was the best accommodation I had in Italy.we arrived pretty late in the night but the hostess waited for us and welcomed us like we knew each other long before. she even gave us free bus tickets the next day to go the city center. the room was very clean and it has everything! i will definitely choose Villa Jacopone again if I go back to Florence.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed for a few days at the end of our 2.5 week Italy trip and were so, so happy to have a place to relax and really take in the Italian way of life for a few days. We had seen so many churches and museums in Italy, so by the time we got to Florence, Villa Jacopone was the perfect place for us. We would go into Florence and do a little bit of sight seeing in the morning, have a delicious lunch, then return and relax by the pool until sunset (absolutely beautiful watching the sun set over Florence). We stayed in the self-contained pool house, which we loved. I could get used to that kind of set-up!

We didn't have dinner in tourist-packed Florence once - instead we took Viviana's recommendations and headed up to the pizza place up the road, Fiesole, and restaurants that were a bit of a longer walk down the hill, but were not touristy in the least (ie: very little English spoken, but you'll get by no problem).

I hate transit at home and wasn't sure how I would feel about taking the bus into town, but it couldn't have been more convenient. Quick bus right into downtown and you get to leave it all behind when you're done.

We stayed last fall, but I was not previously a member of Tripadvisor so I'm late in my review, but wanted to comment on this gem! We considered a number of options in Florence and I am so glad I went with all of the positive reviews on Tripadvisor and booked here. If you're considering a stay that doesn't involve tiny, expensive rooms, and lovely hosts who are there to help, but let you do your own thing, definitely go for Villa Jacopone!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank adventurer427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#14 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Villa Cora
#7 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Il Salviatino
#93 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Jacopone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Jacopone

Property: Villa Jacopone
Address: Via Iacopone da Todi 38, 50133, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 296 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jacopone prestigious villa has 4 suites of 45/50 sqm., Including three on the first floor (all with private entrance from the rooftop terrace with views of Florence and Fiesole), and fourth at level garden in front of the swimming pool. Furnished with fine wood furnishings and fine fabrics, and suites welcome guests by wrapping it in a warm and charming atmosphere. Each suite is equipped with a stove, refrigerator and sink. There is, in addition to the need for equipment for the table, pots and kitchen utensils, espresso coffee machine with pads, kettle and toaster. In addition, everything you need to prepare for a great breakfast at the most liked time and enjoyed indoors or on the terrace of the suite. All rooms are equipped with independent heating and air conditioning, color TV, internal telephone, safe, WIFI, cable internet, heating and air conditioning. Outside the villa, a magnificent garden with swimming pool and covered parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Villa Jacopone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing