We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, but hardly # 6”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Ranked #21 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Very good, but hardly # 6”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Number 9 but have a great deal of trouble rating it as highly as others.

This is a VERY nice boutique hotel, but it misses the 5 star mark. Let's start with the things that are excellent. The staff would come first - very genuinely friendly, helpful, competent and knowledgeable - special kudus to Allesandro, one of the concierges that we relied on heavily during our 8 night stay. Great restaurant recommendations, an oh so helpful manner with all things we approached him regarding. (Note that the staff at the hotel's restaurant were a little shaky on the experience side but this is to be expected as they are in a training program. They had a great attitude but were a bit short on experience. Did not affect the food which was very good.)

Next on the excellent list is the location. Simply not possible to be better if what you are in Florence for are the major sites. A brief walk to them all. Also excellent is the décor and general feeling of the hotel. While the façade is not much, as soon as you walk in a transformation takes place. A very appealing environment.

Now, the not excellent and the reasons we have rated this property as only very good.

1. Half the rooms face a small Florence street. While it is quiet by Florence standards, it suffers from trash trucks in the early a.m. and street performers in the early evening hours. There is also heavy duty construction going on in a nearby building which we believe will last for some time. If quiet in a room is important to you, ask for confirmation of a room facing the back of the hotel. To the hotel's credit when we complained we were offered a room change the next day but elected to pass as we had already completely settled in and did not want to re-pack.

2. The room itself was quite cramped given that we have reserved a suite. While many of the reviews speak of spacious rooms, ours was not one of them. Avoid room 212. Again, we were offered a different room but declined so the hotel did what is should while we did not.

3. Breakfast is OK, but as other reviewers point out, if you want something other than scrambled eggs, there is an extra charge. We thought that inappropriate at this level hotel. Surely if you are in a buffet situation and want a fully cooked to order breakfast you should expect to pay for it. But just a couple of fried eggs. We also thought the buffet a bit limited but this may be due to how long we stayed and the fact that there was little if any change from day to day.

4. My big gripe is that the hotel rations ice. Why, I do not know. But at the end of the day I wanted to get some ice to give my poor knees some respite from all the waking and stair climbing (67 with bad knees). It was like pulling teeth. Same situation on the occasions I asked for an ice bucket to chill some wine - two inches at the bottom of the bucket. On one occasion they actually brought a bucket with ice water - but no ice - in it. Not quite sure what the issue was here.

5. Last was spotty Wi-Fi, at least in the room we occupied. Not horrible, just not what one would expect in a very highly rated hotel. Again, it may have been our room as it was in a remote corner of the property.

All things considered we enjoyed our stay at Number Nine, but only consider it to be a four star property, albeit one with exceptionally good service.

Room Tip: Avoid room 212. Insist on room facing the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noclvrname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,264
    253
    40
    7
    6
See reviews for
293
858
93
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was my 3rd trip to Florence and my friend and I chose this hotel based on the reviews.
We were not disappointed!! From the excellent location to the super friendly staff, everything was great. The breakfast was plentiful and cappuccinos were great!! The rooms have very few signs of wear and tear and bathroom doesn't have good sound insulation but apart from these minor issues, everything is great.
Special thanks to Michela and Allesandro for being so helpful and gracious in their help with arranging our trips and suggestions. The restaurants they suggested were "local" with delicious food.
We will definitely be back and would recommend the hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelpartners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had an amazing experience at Firenze Number Nine. The hotel is in a perfect location - about a 2 minute walk to the Duomo. The hotel is extremely clean and our room was gorgeous - high vaulted ceilings, comfortable beds and a large bathroom. The complimentary breakfast was great - lots of options for everyone. The happy hour was always fun - they offer complimentary appetizers and the staff was always great at recommending a nice wine. Yanni recommended great restaurants and made it easy for us to get around the city. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Florence and will definitely stay here upon my return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

This is a relatively new boutique hotel and it delivers big time. This was our fourth hotel in Italy this trip and was wonderful. We checked in early and our room wasn't ready so we hit the city for five hours. The hotel is close to the Duomo and all major attractions. When we returned from our few hour exploration we were escorted to Room 401. It was a two floor suite and beautiful. This was my first hotel room with a projection TV. The bed was very comfortable and the staff first rate. We ate in the hotel restaurant the first night and it was excellent. When returning to Firenze I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DSFMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Austalia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Firenze No 9 was fabulous ! Very convenient location, rooms were very clean, beds were comfortable, breakfast was unbelievable....lots of choice of very fresh tasty food and great coffee
we could walk everywhere from the hotel including the markets just around the corner. We also had a great massage and used the spa facilities, it was good to walk back inside the hotel after huge days sightseeing. Staff were all very helpful nothing was a problem, we would definately stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were greeted by Allesandro as soon as we stepped into hotel. While we were waiting to check in, Allesandro proceeded to answer all our questions. From shopping to restaurants, to booking of our day tours and driver for outlet shopping, he was able to assist us and gave us directions right to the specific spot on the map. Hotel lobby is very stylish yet cozy. The room is big and well furnished. Bathroom is huge. All amenities provided including free drinks in their refrigerator. The breakfast spread is good. Hotel is close to duomo, shopping and about an 8 minute walk to the train station. I will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cckkash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

A truly nice hotel...conveniently located within walking distance to food and shopping outlets, including places of interest.
Room was exceĺlent. Hotel breakfast serves a good spread..
A must stay, if you are in Florence

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ChocChocChip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 411 in Florence
2,747 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#6 of 411 in Florence
1,248 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 411 in Florence
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#30 of 411 in Florence
1,629 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 411 in Florence
3,483 reviews
Hotel David
#2 of 411 in Florence
3,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel

Property: Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Address: Via dei Conti, 9/31R, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next the Medici Chapel in the historic centre of Florence, Firenze Number Nine is a boutique property that combines luxury, art and design offering a "tailor-made" stay and a warm hospitality. Every room and suite is unique and furnished in a and elegant and the staff is always ready to assist the guest in every request. Pleasure and relaxation meet in the Klab Fitness Center & Spa , an oasis of well-being and energy adjacent to the hotel and with direct access. Try Arya Beauty & Comfort Zone, the new Day SPA of Number NiThe spa is renowned for its ayurveda rituals, a practice which works to align the body with nature's rhythms. Our therapies range from a variety of massages and facials to personalized treatments using natural products and contemporary techniques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing