We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Agree with top reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Relais Il Campanile
Ranked #253 of 675 Florence B&B and Inns
North Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Agree with top reviews”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Just to add a voice in favour of this excellent place. Hard to find the nameplate when you arrive, easy to lock your scarf in the street door as you close it on departure!! So much character, such friendly staff, such good rooms, ideal location. In Florence [Firenze = Fear - en -zay] you need no dining room, etc, you step out the door to everything.

Don't just rush from tourist site to tourist site, appreciate the general environment.... although for the people of Florence there is a great sense of the city ruined by vast tourist and foreign student numbers.

The Accademia is just up the street to the right, where you can see the original of Michelangelo's David and many other major works. The originals have so much more strength and live beauty than the motley copies.

The cathedral and baptistry are just to the left. If nothing else look at the art work on the doors of the baptistry.

Go past the cathedral (duomo = dwo mo) to the Piazza Signorile, which has fewer heads skewered in posts than in days of the great Florentine republic. Be conscious that when you go to this centre of the Renaissance that it was not just 'painterville' 1500, but the result of the big families of Florence gathering the world's books and knowledge over 200 years. We don't do that much these days. Also compare with your own local cultural environment the fact that in 1500 or so, when Machiavelli spent his evenings writing the most influential political treatise in 500 years, that the population of Florence was about 30,000. Imagine what we could do if we stopped chatting and gossiping and read and thought a bit more!

The Uffizi Gallery (the offices of the Florentine republic) contain a very valuable and somewhat orderly historical display of Italian art. Book ahead or queue early and/or long.

The market, short walk, is good especially for scarves and hats.

Remember that you will do a lot of walking and it may be wet (as well as cold in winter). Soft shoes on cobblestones = angry legs.

Room Tip: Not suitable for disabled, carry own bags upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    119
    32
    12
    10
See reviews for
33
164
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Niles, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This is a simple, clean, no fuss hotel, steps away from the Duomo. You can open the window and see the side of the Dome. Close to good food, and great places to visit, like the market, museums and piazzas. Staff is friendly and can recommed good & cheap places to eat around town. They allow you to leave your luggage on the last day so you can explore the city as long as possible. It is about a 10 minute walk from main train station.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChefM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chi-Town
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Amazing little place and can't beat the location!!! Literally a few hundred yards away from the Dome. Rooms are small and cozy, bathrooms have exactely what you need in them for a trip to Firenze. You don't go cities like this to spend the day in your room, so if you're looking for a room with a 50" plasma TV and a minibar, then I suggest Las Vegas.
I'm not sure if they offer breakfast, but if they do, I suggest you keep your money, not because the food might be bad, but because there are lots of pastery place around and they are TO DIE FOR!!!!
The front desk girls are super-nice, and DO ask them to point you to local restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Reasonable rates and great location, walking distance (15min) from train station and very close to Duomo and Accademia(statue of David). As well you can easily walk to all attractions in Florence. Paolo (our host) helped us carry our luggage up the stairs and was very helpful in recommending affordable and very good restaurants and gelato shops. Rooms were comfortable with a small ensuite bathroom and a small refrigerator and in room safe (good to have). It was even nice to open the shutters and take in the street scene below (man playing typical Italian tunes on accordian and folks on their evening stroll.) Some rooms even have a view of the Duomo if you look to the left. It is good value with a superb location and the staff are very friendly and helpful. A great choice for a stay in Florence!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickeymouse34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Just steps from the Duomo and short walks to la Academia, the Medici Palace or the Uffizzi Gallery. Il Campanile was a great choice for our second time visit to Florence. Rooms are big considering, that like most accomodations in Florence, the B&B is located in a medival era building. More than a reasonable prices, for a great location.
What really makes the difference is the staff in charge of the B&B. Vesna at the front desk is effcient and very helpfull . Paolo the manager proof us that customer care is taking sirously by the operation.
In our last day of stay in our craziness to catch the train back to Roma, my wife left her iPod chargeing in the room. We didnt realize the phone was left behind until that night back in Rome. I placed an after hours call to Vesna to her cell number. She said no to worry that she will look for the phone and to ensure we get it back.
Paolo the manager DHL the phone back to us arriving in the US the next day after our return.
We will be back in Florence soon. We love the city. We will saty at Il Campanile again.

Room Tip: We stayed at room 7. Lot of light and double pane windows. Despite facing the street is really quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell
Level Contributor
392 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Great to find a reasonably priced room in central Florence with such pleasant and helpful staff. Room was big enough and clean, the bed comfortable, bathroom clean and also a fridge and safe. There is some noise at night which you would expect in a city, the street is pedestrian but the rubbish is collected very early, however closing the double glazed window made a huge difference. There was AC but we didn't use it, and we didn't have breakfast. Would certainly recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elainejh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

This B&B is only a couple of minutes from Duomo and all major attractions.
The room was clean with really good king size bed, small fridge and Wi-Fi. The staff was helpful but don't expect 24h service as they inform you that the reception is open from 8am to 1pm or as requested. It is not 4 star hotel but I would recommend it for 4-5 days stay.
Thanks for your help Vesna.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NedNess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
B & B Novecento
B & B Novecento
#354 of 675 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Duomo
Adelaide House B&B
Adelaide House B&B
#113 of 675 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Locanda de' Pazzi
Hotel Locanda de' Pazzi
#322 of 675 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Duomo View B&B
Duomo View B&B
#406 of 675 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Duomo
Prestigia Rooms
Prestigia Rooms
#220 of 675 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Duomo
Sani Tourist House
Sani Tourist House
#364 of 675 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Il Campanile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Il Campanile

Property: Relais Il Campanile
Address: Via Ricasoli 10, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #253 of 675 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Relais Il Campanile 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Relais Il Campanile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Il Campanile Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing