We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pictures and people watching”
Review of Vip's Bar

Vip's Bar
Ranked #1,239 of 2,744 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Neighbourhood: Piazzale Michelangelo
Mesa, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Pictures and people watching”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Great photo op location. They have a variety of drinks and shakes and food. Good place to spend some time overlooking Florence. Take the bus up, easy stroll down to the town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HomeCareGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    28
    16
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“My Favorite Meal in Europe!”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We spent 8 full days traveling around France and Italy, and this restaurant was probably my favorite meal that we ate! The stunning view, good food, friendly waiter, tasty wine, and perfect weather just came together to make our first night in Florence very enjoyable.

We wandered up to the Piazza Michaelangelo to watch the sunset, as everyone does. The tables here were all completely full of people watching the sun go down. We were hungry and a bit disappointed that there were no tables left, but quickly turned our attention to the gorgeous view. After we had taken tons of photos and the sun started to sink, we turned back and saw so many tables had opened up! We quickly grabbed one and proceeded to enjoy the best view I've ever had while having dinner. The Duomo is nicely lit at night and the city looked just magical.

Our waiter was so incredibly funny, easily the friendliest we encountered on our trip. The food was very tasty- not the greatest food in the entire world, but delicious enough that it complemented our view and our superb bottle of wine nicely. We were enjoying the view and ambiance so much that we even ordered dessert, something we rarely do, and the gelato was delicious also. Two entrees, a full bottle of wine, and a gelato dessert to share didn't break the bank either- it was fairly priced for what you got.

I would highly recommend this restaurant for an excellent panoramic view while eating dinner. Don't be put off if it is very crowded for the sunset- it will clear out quickly before the sky is dark, and the views after the sun goes down are just as nice and even a bit more romantic.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EmelyeKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My favourite place to sit in Florence!”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We absolutely loved it here. Spent about 3 hours in the afternoon sitting, snacking, drinking & staring at the most incredible view of Florence. The staff were fantastic. This place is a real gem just down the steps from Piazzale Michaelangelo. Will be coming here to relax again on my next visit to Florence!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GingerSnapsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good view, skip the food”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

The view is amazing. The food was below standard for what you expect in Italy. Maybe a better place to quench your thirst than eat a meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lornapenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Vips Bar”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Down steps from Michaelangelo you can find Vips Bar. A fantastic view over Florence, very friendly staff, and delicious snacks at a reasonable prices. There was music playing loud enough to hear but not so loud that you couldn't have a conversation. Will be returning!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vip's Bar also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Vip's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing