We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing talent.”
Review of Scarpelli Mosaici

Scarpelli Mosaici
Ranked #100 of 631 things to do in Florence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A workshop in the heart of Florence that continues the tradition of mosaics in hard stone, which dates from the Renaissance. An art gallery containing artefacts created entirely by the expert hands of the master craftsmen Renzo and Leonardo Scarpelli. The Scarpelli Bottega d'Arte is open to all visitors wanting look around the workbenches, where the mosaic artists patiently work at creating stone paintings.Catia, master craftsman Renzo's daughter, devotes herself to welcoming the customers and taking them on a guided tour of the laboratory so that they can discover the true value of the traditional "Florentine mosaic work".The art passion of Scarpelli's family became the job of its life.The Florentine mosaic work (commesso fiorentino or mosaico fiorentino) is a common heritage that should be preserved as a great treasure over the centuries.
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing talent.”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Wandered into this store without realizing I had tapped it on my TripAdvisor plan. I was drawn by the beauty of the "permanent paint" and craftsman ship. Not sure why mosaic work like this isn't shown in a nearby museum since it is something that has been a part of Florence for generations. My only regret is not buying while I was in the store. I pledged to return on my last day (Saturday) and was very sad to see they had closed for the day (not part of their normal business hours).

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brugo1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catia s, Proprietario at Scarpelli Mosaici, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
So sorry for my delay. You can contact us by email and we can show you what's at the moment in the gallery. Thank you for your visit. In case you will be back in Florence our hours: 9.30am- 6.30pm, closed on Sundays in winter. Thank you for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    6
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, KS
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“True art and craftsmanship”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My partner and I ran across this fantastic mosaics gallery while visiting Florence back in 2010. During this visit we spent a couple hours picking out our first piece of mosaic! The Scarpelli family spent quality time with us educating & describing in detail the craftsmanship that is in ever masterpiece they create! I instantly created a bond with Catia Scarpelli as she spent time showing us around. Most recently in November 2013 we returned back to the familiar city of Florence and bee lined out of SMN train station on a mission to Le Pietre Nell'Arte. Again waiting to greet us was Catia and her wonderful staff! Again we spent time viewing the Scarpelli's works of art. After careful consideration we purchased our second piece of mosaics. I highly recommend stopping in to become familiar with this style of mosaics and be welcomed by the most wonderful Scarpelli family!!! Until we meet again blessing and peace to Le Pietre Nell'Arte!!! Jerry & Michael Overland Park, KS

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mj11108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catia s, Proprietario at Scarpelli Mosaici, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
So sorry for the delay but still happy to have your wonderful opinion!
For anything that you might need you can contact us via email.
Thank you so much and hope to see you again in Florence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Classic artwork”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

My wife and I stumbled upon this shop and were drawn in by what we thought were unique paintings of the Tuscan countryside. Those paintings turned out to be the most beautiful and intricate mosaics we have ever seen. Until you see how they are made, you can't really appreciate what you are looking at because it doesn't seem possible that the human hand could piece something like this together. This is true craftsmanship and we couldn't leave without taking one with us as a keepsake of an unbelievable stay in Florence.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kpneward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catia s, Proprietario at Scarpelli Mosaici, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
So sorry for being late! But thank you so much. We love to share our knoledge with visitors so that they can appreciate our art. Thank you for your visit and purchase. I hope to see you one day in Florence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magic with Stone”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

When visiting Florence late last month, our tour guide made an "artisan stop" and took us to Le Pietre Nell'Arte. What a magical place! Besides the remarkable art work all in stone mosaics, the highlight of our visit was to see the masters at work right in the shop. This gave us an appreciation of how tedious the process of cutting the stone pieces for a perfect fit was. We ended coming back the next day and purchased a framed work of Florence scenery with the Duomo and hills behind it. A bit pricey but understandable given the uniqueness and quality of the work. Amaizingly, Master Renzo, the artist, was there and graciously autographed and dated the back of the stone - A treasure for us to keep in the family.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AG K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catia s, Proprietario at Scarpelli Mosaici, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. It was a real pleasure to meet you in our gallery last year! I hope to see you again, one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walpole, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful Art”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We were so fortunate to walk by this wonderful shop on our way back from the Accademia. The quality of this incredible art work took our breath away. We were shown how the work is done including the selection and cutting of the stone and learned about the history of mosaic art. We were able to purchase a beautiful piece that will remind us of our special time in Florence.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rcjcough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catia s, Proprietario at Scarpelli Mosaici, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Sorry to be so late. Wonderfull to meet interesting people in our gallery. If you will come back to Florence please come and visit us! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scarpelli Mosaici also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Scarpelli Mosaici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing