We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Tolomei Hotel and Resort
Ranked #132 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Well reading the previous half a dozen or so reviews, I'm left wondering if they're reviewing the same hotel my husband and I stayed at? The location is about a half hour walk to Florence centre, albeit quite a steep walk but very pleasant through cobbled back lanes, a very nice reside area with ample lighting for returning at night. We had no problems whatsoever.
Our AC was perfect. The room was fabulous with high ceilings and plenty of room. The shutters were brilliant and it was lovely to have the room "ready " for your return at night.
Breakfast was very good. Meats, cheeses, breads, crackers, fresh fruit, yogurts, pastries, cakes.......the cappuccino was to die for. There was also scrambled egg and bacon. The staff were very helpful and the waiting staff at breakfast were so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The lovely waitress got to know I enjoyed a second cappuccino and always had one waiting.
The pool was a delight. The views stunning.
All in all we made a very good choice with Villa Tolomei and will definitely recommend. If you want the city, then stay in the heart of Florence.......but if you want peace and tranquillity, a tad away from the buzz, choose this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicola Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelliniGianluca, Direttore at Villa Tolomei Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2014

Dear Nicola,
thanks for your wonderful review and such awarding words shared on TripAdvisor.
Our property is just 5 minutes by taxi from the city center and is the perfect place to relax after spending a day downtown.
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Tolomei and really hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

Frequent visitor of Florence for business Stayed there 2 nights and rather dissapointed . Payed almost 1000,00 Euro for two nights and must say you can get far better value for money than that. Hotel quite out of centre , very quiet though . Room spacious but outdated . The first night we ate at the restaurant , little choice and not up ' Tuscan Cuisine " standards . Would't go back there , sololely booked because our regular hotels were fully booked long in advance due to the
"Pitti" that was going on . For that price go to the Savoy on the piazza Republica . Nicest hotel for the moment is the Westin-Excelsior as far as we are concerned ( you definitely have to try the rooftop cocktail happy hour between 19:00h and 21:00h : beautifull vieuws over Florence and canapés à volonté , a real treat . Other good suggestion in a price range that's a bit lower : the NH at Porta Rossa ;

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ironie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located within minutes from the heart of Florence and yet is minutes from the expressway. The rooms are good size, there were 6 of us in two junior suites that were extremely comfortable. We had rented a car and were able to make easy day trips to chinati, Siena, Pisa and The Mall. Florence was minutes away and so enjoyed a few days in the city too. The breakfast was limited. The view of Florence from the resteraunt was amazing. The resteraunt menu could have been better and the concierge a bit more informed and helpful. Overal excellent value for money.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Praneet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelliniGianluca, Direttore at Villa Tolomei Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
thanks for your kind review and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
Your comments are very important to improve our services.
We really hope to welcome you back in the near future so that you can personally notify all the progresses we achieved in order to use our full potential.
Warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I don't normally write reviews on here but as this was for part of our honeymoon I wanted to.

On arrival, the hotel was impressive. The location is great, the view is stunning, and the pool is lovely. The room itself was nice but considering the price it was disappointing not to have a balcony.

The temperature in Florence was usually warm, it was 37-38 degrees everyday. Our aircon broke on day 1 of 5. Each day we kept having to chase for answers and each day we were given different reasons. Eventually we were given a fan, on day 3, and on day 4 they finally offered to move rooms. However the room they offered to move us to was smaller than our room and no cooler. They can't help that the aircon broke but having read reviews on here now that seems to be a regular occurrence, and their communication and handling of the problem is not what I'd expect for a 5* hotel.

The manager took some incidentals off the bill to compensate for the situation but for any holiday this would be disappointing, but for a honeymoon it was very frustrating. I do not believe this to be a 5* hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Georgied79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed here for three nights. The staff was extremely friendly, the grounds are immaculate and pool was inviting. There's a fantastic view of the city, and the surrounding area is flush with olive trees.

One issue, the AC did not work in our room for the entire stay, so our room got quite warm at night. They attempted to fix it, but the problem ensued. They gave us a fan for our room, which helped, but you would expect a "5-Star" resort to have this working properly. At the end of the trip, they did offer a small discount for our inconvenience, and while appreciated, it didn't make up for the troubles sleeping in a hot room. The temperature in the day was in the 70's, so I can only imagine how hot the room would have gotten when temperatures approach 100.

Also, this place isn't really reasonable walking distance. Certainly not at night, the roads are narrow, and not many street lights. We walked into town one morning, and took a taxi back at night. It took us about 40 minutes to walk into town.

Overall, the hotel was very nice, the villa and grounds were beautiful and the view was breathtaking. The staff was very nice, and the breakfast was tasty. I wouldn't hesitate to return, if they get the AC fixed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelliniGianluca, Direttore at Villa Tolomei Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
thanks for your review and for sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor. Your comments are very important improve our services.
The hotel is just 5 minutes by taxi from the city center, 25 minutes walking to Ponte Vecchio.
We are pleased however to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Tolomei and really hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Villa Tolomei hosted us for our Wedding in May. We had the whole hotel for 66 guests and everyone really enjoyed their stay. It was such a beautiful setting for our special weekend.

All of the staff were very friendly and went out of their way to ensure that everything was perfect for us, and all of our guests. The surprise small touches of flowers in our room on arrival & champagne on our wedding night were lovely & very much appreciated.

Thank you for all your help in the planning of the weekend. Your support & attention to detail during our stay were very much appreciated. We look forward to visiting again in the future!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZAGKAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelliniGianluca, Direttore at Villa Tolomei Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2014

Dear Valued Guests,
thank you for sharing this wonderful review on TripAdvisor.
It was a pleasure for us to host you and your family and friends for your wedding, we really thank you for choosing Villa Tolomei for this special event. We were very glad to assist you for all the arrangements.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon and remain at your complete disposal.
Warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My husband and I started our trip to Italy by staying at this Hotel on the outskirts of Florence. It was a perfect choice. It is within walking (15 or 20 minutes) distance to restaurants , shopping and several beautiful scenic spots. The food was wonderful (they only offer Breakfast and dinner). Eating either inside or out on the beautiful patio, while overlooking Florence, was beautiful beyond words. I would highly recommend this hotel while visiting Florence.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelliniGianluca, Direttore at Villa Tolomei Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2014

Dear Debbie,
thank you for sharing this Amazing review on TripAdvisor.
Our property is just 5 minutes by taxi from the city center, 25 minutes walking from Ponte Vecchio.
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Tolomei and that you had the chance to try our restaurant Il Conventino, which is now open also for lunch.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon to appreciate once again the panoramic view.
Warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#19 of 411 in Florence
884 reviews
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
#28 of 411 in Florence
1,139 reviews
Villa Cora
#6 of 411 in Florence
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Classic Hotel
#224 of 411 in Florence
186 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montebello Splendid
Hotel Montebello Splendid
#79 of 411 in Florence
1,011 reviews
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#13 of 411 in Florence
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Tolomei Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Tolomei Hotel and Resort

Address: Via di Santa Maria a Marignolle 10 | up from Porta Romana, 50124, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £88 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Tolomei Hotel and Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Tolomei Hotel & Resort 5***** is the fantastic luxury hotel in Florence with panoramic swimming pool and restaurant with terrace and view for all of you seeking the convenience of a hotel combined with the privacy and comfort of a unique residence just 2,7 km-1,5 miles from the famous Ponte Vecchio on the historic city centre of Florence. Free Parking and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Tolomei Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing