We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ghirlandaio Firenze Guesthouse
Ranked #121 of 675 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“good value”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

location convenient to historic area and museums. very clean. larger than expected. AC worked well. staff friendly and pleasant, but English was weak. didn't include breakfast, but small frig was stocked with water, juice and yogurt. comfortable bed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank williambA2447DF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    35
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
71
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Although this place called guesthouse, it is look like nice small hotel, or the best guesthouse i have stayed before. Cozy room with nice bed, kettle with tea and coffee, refrigerator with water, good occupied bathroom with shower, TV and air condition are provided. Really very comfortable place! We didn't pay for breakfast (as it is a guesthouse), but owners serve a table with snacks every morning. We took some yogurt and juice for a morning walk. Rooms are very clean, owners are friendly. There is a new employer who speaks English now. There is a very nice supermarket with wide variety of food in 5 min walk from the hotel. The owners provide you with Florence map and it is also saved our time. I can only recommend this place, will definitely stay here next time!

Room Tip: We had room 105, quiet, cozy and nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenia_777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed at Ghirlandaio four nights and we're overall satisfied with our choice. The interiors were entirely renovated and the bathroom was new and clean. A minus: the carpet and floor were terribly dusty, so we had to remove the former for the night. Sleep quality was good and the bed was very comfortable, but it can become somewhat noisy in the morning due to cleaning. Also, walls are not thick so you hear everything from the adjacent corridor. Breakfast was practically non-existent: they'll put some basic things on a table outside, but you'll have to pay for the coffee (from a machine right outside). A plus: a kettle with a selection of tea was provided. At our arrival, the owner also came promptly when I called him on the phone later than I should have done. The B&B is located in viale Matteotti, around 25 min walk from the railway station and 15 min from the Duomo.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghirlandaio F, Proprietario at Ghirlandaio Firenze Guesthouse, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Mr. Marco, First of all we would like to thank You for staying in our guesthouse. We apologize for the dust You were referring that You found, either in Your room or any part of our Guest house. We will look forward to improve more on that. However, if You just read the booking reservation form, there it was written clearly that WE DO NOT SERVE BREAKFAST. It was just a simple offer to all of our guest, simply to show our gratitude that they choose us to be part of their vacation. We value so much all of our guest who stayed with us that's why it was so really disappointing to have a poor vote. We are a GUESTHOUSE not a HOTEL, that is why we only have a very limited offer to all of our guest, and it is according to Italian law. On the other hand, we still tried to give our very best, but if that BEST did not reach your expectation ( reason we had that poor vote ), we apologize .
Sincerely,
Ghirlandaio Firenze Guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My mother and I decided to do a wine touring trip through Italy in March 2014 for my birthday, and a friend recommended we stay at the Ghirlandaio Firenze Guesthouse during our trip to Florence...and it was one of the best recommendations we could have ever received! The rooms are absolutely pristine, fresh, clean, beautifully decorated, and larger than what you find through most of Italy. The Ghirlandaio has the perfect location for touring, being within walking distance of all the sight seeing attractions. The hospitality was above and beyond our expectations. When we first arrived in Florence we felt a little lost and overwhelmed. The owners were there to helps us with everything from figuring out our daily activities, down to how to program the TV to English channels! They showed us all around the city on their own personal time, and being true historians of their hometown, even showed us all the extra stuff you don't see on most tours (like Mona Lisa's home where da Vinci begged her for months to allow him to paint her). We had the best time ever in Florence, and made great new friends before leaving. I would certainly suggest that if you are visiting Florence that you stay at the Ghirlandaio Firenze Guesthouse.

Room Tip: Be sure to mention if you are traveling to celebrate a birthday, anniversary, honeymoon, etc... The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 316Skyscraper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My daughter and I had the opportunity to tour Italy in March 2014. A friend of hers recommended we stay at the Ghirlandaio Firenze Guesthouse for our Florence leg of our travels. The room was spacious and the room as well as the whole guesthouse was spotless. Each room has a private bathroom. The location is an easy cab ride from the train station. We have to echo the many sentiments of others who have rated their stay here, by far the BEST hospitality we have ever experienced. We were sad to leave but promise we will return as soon as we can! Thank you so much for helping make our vacation truly wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank not50yet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

We promised we would write and we almost forgot.
Great room, inexpensive prices, quiet with good vibes. 10-15 minutes for the center.
On top of all: best hospitality we had in the country, by far. We got tones of great info, always with a smile (: even upon leaving.
We were extremely pleased with this lovely guesthouse !

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mystream25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My boyfriend and I ended up here by accident when we arrived at the original hotel that we booked 2 floors above this guesthouse and found that something had gone wrong with the booking. We were then given a room at Ghirlandaio for the same price - and it turned out to be much better!

It was spotless and perfect and just what we needed after 5 days in Rome! Could not fault this place at all, even the host who bought us gelato on the first night.

Would definitely recommend this place - close to city centre and main sites with some good restaurants near by.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophiemaelaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
My Friends Guesthouse
My Friends Guesthouse
#123 of 675 in Florence
149 reviews
Bed & Breakfast Leopoldo
#133 of 675 in Florence
331 reviews
Il Grillo di Firenze
#21 of 675 in Florence
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Albergo Bencidormi
Albergo Bencidormi
#117 of 675 in Florence
177 reviews
B&B A Casa di Virgilio
#128 of 675 in Florence
197 reviews
L'Olivo
#42 of 675 in Florence
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghirlandaio Firenze Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghirlandaio Firenze Guesthouse

Property: Ghirlandaio Firenze Guesthouse
Address: Viale G.Matteotti 27, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 675 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ghirlandaio is a cozy guesthouse located on the first floor of an elegant and charming residence of XIX century, filled with modern comforts for the most pleasant of stays. Just 10 minutes from Fortezza da Basso and railway station of Santa Maria Novella and few steps from Cathedral of the Duomo, it is the ideal solution for pleasure and business travelers. The spacious and well lighted rooms are equipped of free wifi connection, minibar, led tv, safety box, hair dryer, heated teapot, laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ghirlandaio Firenze Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing