We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic steamed vegetables” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Capanna

La Capanna
Ranked #478 of 2,660 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: San Marco
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic steamed vegetables”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

This is a cheerful, small pizzeria-trattoria a few steps from piazza San Marco, in historic Via Cavour and about three blocks or so from Il Duomo. The decor is tasteful, with wonderful old photos of Firenze. It has an outdoor section to eat al fresco. The service is fast and efficient, with the owner serving alongside the staff and making sure everything goes smoothly and pleasantly. The menu a la carte is not very large, but has a good variety of what one would expect in a restaurant. It also has fixed-price menus from 9 euros to 21 euros. What I love most of all is the plate with a variety of "verdure lesse," steamed vegetables, hard to find anywhere in the world I've been. The rissotto con frutti di mare is delicious. Also good the Ribollita (traditional florentine thick soup) the scaloppine al limone, the tagliata di manzo con rucula, etc. The macedonia di frutta, fruit salad, is fine. The prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank elena c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    55
    19
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“1st evening jackpot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

First evening in Florence, you are there for a first time, and looking for some nice dinner. Imagine that. Me and my brother walked like half a city, to find out that the very suitable option was quite close to our hotel.
Of course, there are many and many very nice restaurants with excellent food in Florence, but usually you will pay a lot, especially when it comes to having some wine with the dinner.
But we were looking for something with great value for the money, and thats exactly what we found in La Capanna.
Restaurant has very nice, very pleasent atmosphere, run by very friendly married cupple (abouth 40 years of age, husband is Italian, wife is originally from Russia, but living in Florence for very long time, very nice and polite lady).

Now to the food department:
Prices for primi piatti are 7-9 EUR and secondi piatti 10-20 EUR. They also have very good pizza there (crispy and thin), prices from 5-9 EUR, depending on type, mostly around 7 EUR. Coffee there is for 1,50 EUR I think. They have like 5 very nice desserts, around 4-5 EUR each, 1 or 2 of them always 'de la casa' - home made style. Tiramisu de la casa over there is the best tiramisu I ever had. They also have very good panna cotta.
Lunch menu consisting of some primi piatti (pasta, like 6 choices), some water and 1 excellent espresso is 8 EUR. But you can also have there their great pizza for lunch. Together with espresso and water you will fit to 10 EUR. There is no 'evening menu' = primi + secondi for better price.
Water is quite cheap there (1l bottle for 1,5 EUR I believe). And they also have vino 'de la casa' (red or white), which is just 5 EUR per 0,5l jug - but this wine is very good! Really!
Nice dinner for two, with primi and secondi and dessert, some water and 1 espresso each, with 0,5l vine jug together, will cost you around 60 EUR.

Over 9 days we were in Florence, we visited the place like 7 times, for lunch and / or dinner. This one is definitely worth a visit, very friendly place where you will have a good time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nemtheanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“BEST Gluten-Free Pizza in Florence!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

I ate several places searching for GOOD Gluten-Free pizza and then I found this place and I stopped eating everywhere else! I LOVED this place and their Pizza, for Gluten-Free it's tasty, inexpensive, and the staff is really sweet. They opened half an hour early for ME one time, I loved it. I was also told everything else on the menu was great according to my friends who took me there in the first place. So try this place out, you won't regret it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beccaleerobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Gluten Free available....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

I found this by accident, but it is a lovely cozy restaurant. We ordered a pizza takeaway alongwith a Gluten Free lasange which was delicious. While we were ordering we noticed that the steak looked delicious and we decided to return to dine in...The only problem was that we didn't realise that its closed on Sundays and so we missed out on another meal...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yogi33India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fallon, Nevada
Level Contributor
331 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“More of a 3+, but certainly good enough”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Inexpensive, quiet, nothing special on the inside, we had excellent service and the food was ok. We know it wasn't "authentic" because it was open before 6, and empty of course. They had some traditional Florentine/Tuscan dishes. There was beefsteak fiorentina there, which was good, cooked well, not *especially* flavorful, but I'd say it was a good choice. The prices were reasonable, actually very reasonable. Don't make it a special trip here, but if you're near the Accademia (Michelangelo's "David") and it's near "American dinner time" and you don't feel like walking too far, then definitely go.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MNataro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Capanna also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to La Capanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing