We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Play to Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Affittacamere Alba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Affittacamere Alba
Ranked #193 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
262 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Nice Play to Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stayed here for one night. Super easy to walk to from the train station. Most of the directions provided by staff were helpful though once we were at the building nothing actually said Affittacamere Alba, so we were guessing a bit on the floor level. Once we climbed the stairs, then there was a sign marking the hotel. Staff was very nice. Held our bags when we arrived early in the day and held them again on our way out. The in room breakfast leaves a bit to be desired and we opted for a brioche from a cafe across the street instead. The rooms have recently been remodeled, but the decor is a little dated still (the satiny, lacey pillow shams are an example). Everything was clean and felt safe. The only problem was that the shower in our room really didn't drain and you were standing in a solid bit of water by the time you were finished.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carzim59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernahotel, receptionist at Affittacamere Alba, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Google Translation
Gentile Opsite,
La ringraziamo per la Sua gradita opinione. Sicuramente la ns struttura di recente ristrutturazione, con stile fiorentino, ha un'ottima ubicazione.
Lo staff cerca sempre di fare il meglio per il ns cliente.

Vi aspettiamo nuovamnete.

A presto
Francesca & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    32
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
52
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We are group of 5 people stayed in Florence for 3 nights. We are lucky to stay here. As we are five so we get the premium room which is the biggest one.

Location: Best location ever! only 2 min walk from train station and surrounded by 24hour Mcdonald's and super market and chinese restaurant.

Room: The room is so lovely!! with the nice decoration . The bathroom have a jacuzzi, shower, toilet and a fitness machine. The rest room is so huge!!. Theair conditioned work well. The fridge is full of everything you can have in the morning. Youghurt, fruit, bakery, milk, juice, cheese, chocolate, coffee. Moreover, you have a common kitchen that you can cook and they provide eggs, nutella, etc.... Ypu have the washing machine that they provide the detergent too!!.

Staff: Staff is so courteous, nice and very helpful!! We are so impressed!!

Price: 3 nights+ tax for five people is 615 euro which means 41 euro each per night included tax.


Wish to come back!! So love <3

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eaudetoilette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernahotel, receptionist at Affittacamere Alba, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
You was very lucky!
You staied in our juniro suite, with double service, shower, and idro btathtub!
One time in the life we need to try it!

Many thank's, it was a pleasure for us, and we really hope to see you in the near future.

Ciao
Francesca & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

You can't get closer to the train station than this little B+B. You access it through the entrance to a courtyard on Largo Alinali (on your left before the courtyard is the staircase/lift). However, as it is new, there is no sign on the street indicating this hotel and there are a number of other hotels at this exact address, which caused some confusion. To get there, make sure to exit left from the trains and cross the street. After the crosswalk, go right, then turn the corner left. The hotel is a little way down and across the street from the Chinese restaurant. We made the mistake of turning right after exiting the station and trecking around the traffic circle with our luggage in tow, taking 10 minutes to get to this place that is actually just a skip away.

Advantages: location - so close to the station, but also right next to a great little pedestrian street with many excellent little restaurants and a coin laundry (Via Faenze). Also, just a short 5 minute walk from the Duomo, Badia tower and Palazzio Vecchio. Our room was spacious, and decorated with a lot of color and imagination. We faced the courtyard, so it was very quiet.

Disadvantages: the breakfast was in the room and consisted of instant coffee in a package that you added to hot water that you boiled yourself, packages of cereal, etc. Not the fresh bread, pasteries and good coffee that we had become accustomed to in Italy. There is nobody there after 2:30 PM, so you need to ring somebody who comes from down the street at another hotel to let you in. The lack of signage and good communication about how to access this B+B is a real problem.

Special tip: we sampled gelato at least once per day while in Italy, and the whole family agreed that the best gelato of trip was the place across the street from our hotel on the corner of Via Faenza (named something like Innocenti?)

Room Tip: Ask to face the courtyard, not the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dad_from_the_Midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernahotel, RECEPTIONIST at Affittacamere Alba, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
One of the positive point of the Affittacamere Alba, is free breakfast, no time,and not disturb.
The people feel at home, or this is what usually everybody say.

In the fridge you had also yougurt, milk, water, juice, cheese, ham etc....including cereal, croissant...
Anyway, we will take care for the future.

the reception is not open 24 hours, but everybody know it, we advise our guests on arriva.
But you have the possibility to contact us at any time, our phone is always available, night and day!
anyway, we really hope to see you in the near future.

Arrivederci
Francesca & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Great b&b located very close to the train station, also providing a close base to see Florence. Rooms and facilities were clean, spacious and comfortable. Laundry facilities and wifi were what we were looking for, also supplied a good breakfast. Hostess was very helpful with info about the town and always bubbly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernahotel, Receptionist at Affittacamere Alba, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Grazie 1000...it's a pleausure for us to meet lovely people as you.

We really hope you enjoied your stay with us, and we are looking forward to meet you again in the near future.

Many thank's,
Francesca & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Ester
Hotel Ester
#174 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
San Lorenzo
Lombardi Hotel
Lombardi Hotel
#206 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#77 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Angelica
Hotel Angelica
#184 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#151 of 659 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
San Lorenzo
Affittacamere Vanessa
Affittacamere Vanessa
#280 of 659 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Affittacamere Alba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Affittacamere Alba

Property: Affittacamere Alba
Address: Largo Fratelli Alinari 15 | Santa Maria Novella, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of Florence, the Alba guest house awaits you in an elegant nineteenth-century building just steps from the Santa Maria Novella train station, with rooms and environments cared for in every detail, surrounded by a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HostelWorld, Agoda, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Affittacamere Alba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing