We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our BEST restaurant experience in Florence!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vecchio Forno

Vecchio Forno
Ranked #5 of 74 Bakeries in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Takeout
Neighbourhood: San Lorenzo
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Our BEST restaurant experience in Florence!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Not only was our waiter excellent, but the food was far beyond our expectations, based on previous experiences! You WILL NOT be disappointed with the quality of the meal, disregarding the price. You would expect to pay MUCH MORE for such quality and we've been staying in Florence for 3 years!! AMAZING FOOD!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RVTedesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    39
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Top quality bread and pastries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We went to this bakery in search for decent breakfast and we had the best italian sandwich ever.
As our kids were still hungry, we tried some cake and muffins as well. They looked good, they tasted even better. Very kind lady working behind the counter. Will definitely return!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M_K331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Being on a trip for six days in the magical city of Florence, me and my girlfriend never missed a day when it came for having a meal..or two..or three. The loveliest lady was there, day by day, waiting for us with her amazing treats, steamy pizzas or the sweetest cakes in town.

Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
178 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“If you need a bakery in Firenze this is it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Wandered by on our way to the Mercato Centrale. Wished we had found it years ago. Impeccable quality, great selection, polite service. Variety of breads, savories for a mid day bite, sweets for breakfast or dolce--they have it all. We snagged a couple of sweet pastries for breakfast and they were just perfect. Sweet without cloying sugar but with exploding fruit flavors. Superb pastry as well. Also grabbed a small wedge for panforte for after dinner. Why can't American fruit cake be this good. Six bites (split 3 ways which was plenty) of divine pastry. Just wish I hadn't already bought our panettones for Christmas because theirs looked spectacular.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Stands Out in a Sea of Great Bakeries in Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

I live part of the year on the same block of this bakery. We go in there everyday, sometimes more than once! First of all, we buy our daily bread there, a wonderful selection. The pastries are the stuff of dreams, so understated, so fine, they take each recipe and carry it to the edge, no further.
That's an art, knowing when to hold back. No cloying sugar icings, no gloppy chocolate chips to sully the purity of the item.
They also excell in a wonderful array of pannini, focaccie, little pizze, quiche slices. They can warm up or grill anything you order.
The service from the ladies who work there is warm and cordial.
This is our first and last stop when we stay in Florence each time. Back home where pastries not nearly as good cost twice as much, we just dream of when we can walk in that door of Vecchio Forno once again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank marialulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vecchio Forno also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Vecchio Forno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing