We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Watch Which Room you Book” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Accademia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Accademia
Ranked #241 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Watch Which Room you Book”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We are on a Rick Steve's Tour, the 13 Day Italy My Way. We are very pleased with our accommodations until the last two rooms. Not that this is most important thing on our trip, but our comfort at the end of the day has some value. We are in room 13. Watch out for this room. It has no view and a small and poorly lit room. I brought an extension cord with multiple outlets which is a good thing since there are no outlets in our room. Ask for rooms 1, 2 or 3. They are all very nice with the first two overlooking the street.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    129
    65
    21
    5
See reviews for
72
116
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Deale, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Just blocks from the Duomo and a block from the outdoor market as well as the indoor market, it's centrally located. The rooms are clean and spacious. Be warned that you may have to climb stairs with your luggage to get to your room. The breakfast in the am is good. Heading out on the street just to the left is a fun little wine bar with reasonable prices. Also within walking distance from both the train station and the bus station, airport shuttle being located there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cattinaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We are from the US and have been traveling Europe for a couple weeks. This hotel is in a great location with nice cafe and gelatarias on the same street. Easy access to the train station too in order to take bus tours (that meet outside the terminal), or take the train to Chinque Terra, or other locations for day trips.

There is no one working the night shift however. They leave a skeleton key in the front lobby door, I guess in the case someone needs to leave at night/ before 7am? They also ask that guests leave their hotel key at the front desk, which is easily accessible by anyone if the front desk person wasn't sitting there (happened often). I hung up our room key several times on my own, and took it back as well, as the front desk person was nowhere to be found.

On the morning we checked out, I had to track down the front desk lady. She then scribbled some bill together, and then proceeded to to tell me the credit card machine has been down for two days, and that I had to pay cash. I then was forced to run several blocks to an ATM to pay for the bill. I then asked her about the "cash discount" she initially offered, and she said it was already included in the bill?

This woman also recommended a wine tour in Tuscany, from brochures at the front desk. We went on one, and it included one arrogant vineyard, and a tasting in the basement of a liquor store. Terrible.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytraveler864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

This hotel was on a lovely street (Faenza) that lit with restaurants and wine bars in the evening. It close to the main train station, and close to the main street of attractions. The front desk spoke English to help us get around and make reservations for the galleries. There was a little terrace in the center of the hotel to have a glass of wine or picnic.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aubrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We booked this hotel by mistake since we thought we were booking a hotel in venice for two nights.

We arrived in Venice at 11pm with a small 7 month baby only to realize we didn't have a place to stay. My wife called hotel Accademia in tears asking for a refund. The staff were absolutely unforgiving and even rude.

We did this booking at the last minute and there were plenty of rooms free so there is no way we would have represented any loss of money to the hotel.

Clearly Hotel Accademia is in the right according to (questionable) no-refund policies but this was clearly a mistake and this is unacceptable money grabbing unethical behaviour.

booking.com was actually willing to give us a refund, but they contacted the hotel which told them there would be no refund, even for the second night !?!?

While hotel Accademia is clearly right according to small print stating that no-refunds would be accepted, judge for yourself if you want to be dealing with these people.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Dinisov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

I've stayed here at least 5 times over the last 10 or so years, and love it every time. The location cannot be beat, steps from the San Lorenzo market, minutes to the Duomo. There were 3 family groups of us, and we got rooms surrounding a small courtyard, where we had our own private wine & cheese hour every night. The rooms are very comfortable, good size. Breakfast is quite substantial, coffee great. Almost the best part is how kind and helpful the staff are. Truly wonderful people. You'd have a difficult time finding a better accommodation for the price anywhere in Florence.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
HOTEL LORENA
HOTEL LORENA
#119 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Romagna
Hotel Romagna
#213 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#83 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Nizza
Hotel Nizza
#177 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Monica
Hotel Monica
#234 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
San Lorenzo
Lombardi Hotel
Lombardi Hotel
#211 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Accademia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Accademia

Property: Hotel Accademia
Address: Via Faenza 7, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #241 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Accademia 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Accademia - Florence, Italy.Your cheap accommodation in Florence historical center...We provide you the easiest way to reserve your vacation in Florence city center. The Hotel Accademia gives you an opportunity to choose a splendid and strategical location for your stay in Florence. Book online with us, save money with our special last minute offers and enjoy everything Florence has to offer! Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Accademia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accademia Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing