We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place and wonderful host”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residenza Il Maggio B&B
Ranked #368 of 673 Florence B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place and wonderful host”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My husband and I recently traveled to Italy to visit our daughter. While we had a very rocky start to our trip due to an airline strike, Mrs Albina Bullari, our host, was very welcoming, accommodating and helpful. The rooms were pleasant and quiet, the location for us workable, and our host wonderful. Albina was very helpful in booking trips, giving guidance on places to tour, and helping out when a few unexpected schedule changes happened. My husband, daughter and I recommend this place and if we ever get back to Italy, would consider staying at this B&B again. Thank you Albina for making our visit to Italy a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjgh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    39
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
13
41
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

The welcome package already let me know that the owners care about their customers and I personally liked it. The rooms were very cozy and the washrooms very clean. Only the shower was a bit old but clean anyway and the rest of the room and washroom items looked new. AC in every room and bfast included for that price is more than I could ask for in such a great location! I will totally come back here when I come back to florence.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tike90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

This was a nice and pleasant experience. Mrs Albina Bullari and her family are very sympathetic hosts who provide very good services. We won't dwell on the location near the American embassy nor the fact that parking your car nearby is not really a problem : )
Although breakfast is sober and standard, it s a good starter for each morning
Our room situated at the streetside(nr 2) was a large one and very tidy.

Johan and Ariana

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boucneaubarku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Our room (#3) for 3 nights was very large, as was the ensuite bathroom, and both were spotless. We had a small balcony overlooking the street. The hotel is situated in a very quiet part of town just a block from the river, a 15 minute walk to the train station, and a pleasant walk to virtually all the sites of Florence. It also is close to the bus stops if you need motorized transport to different parts of the city or its nearby outlying areas. I emphasize its location because you are close to almost everything and yet out of the hustle and bustle of the city center. For us, this is a perfect location. The breakfast was simple and adequate for your morning excursions. The residence is bright, cheerful and tastefully decorated. Albina always was helpful, accommodating, and cheerful and has done a wonderful job creating this comfortable and charming residence for a stay in Florence. We would return without any hesitation!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kennuncorked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We actually stayed in this bed & breakfast in March 2010 (not November) for 6 nights. It is a quirky accommodation which is a second floor flat which has been converted and divided into (I think) 5 rooms with ensuite bathrooms, the reception and breakfast area. The room we stayed in did not have a window onto the street, but did have a high window above the door which allowed light in from the covered seating area directly outside our room. The room and bathroom were both clean and good size. Guests are provided with the door code which allows them to come and go as they please, which gives independence. The breakfast was very basic but adaquate. The owner was pleasant but often absent, but that is the nature of this accomodation. The owner does come in every morning at about 6.30am to put out the breakfast spread. Our room was the nearest to the kitchen area and therefore we were woken every morning on his arrival - so no risks of sleeping in on this holiday.

The hotel is close to Teatro Comunale, the Arno River and within walking distance of all the main Florentine sights (Ponte Vecchio, Palazzo Vecchio, Santa Maria Novella to name a few). This is good value accomodation in a city which is notoriously expensive.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

In walking distance from the railway station. 10 min. Near the river. Near a closed area with the American Consulate. Very friendly English speaking reception. Some rooms have no real windows. Just a little one over the door. But fine air condition.
The incuded breakfast was simple with no meat or cheese. But ok. The internet connection was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danishdanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

An okay place to stay for the price, but it’s not for everyone. It's nice and quiet, very central, and the breakfast - although basic - is very enjoyable. The free Wi-Fi is also a nice touch.

Unfortunately the rooms are scruffy - and that's putting it mildly. Ours smelled terribly of smoke, had never seen a duster (ever), and the sheets had long since had their day. Our TV had loose wires and fizzled alarmingly when you went near it, the satellite receiver didn't work, room cleaning was sporadic, and we had to buy our own toilet roll as none was provided (which we thought was a bit odd).

Also, other reviews claim the proximity of the American consulate and the armed patrols will make you feel safe - what nonsense! The street is clearly a target for nutters, and as such is one of the most dangerous places in Florence to be, surely? The car-bomb blockades made us feel very uneasy, and having to walk through a checkpoint guarded by very young, very bored soldiers with machine guns just to get to our room was both bizarre and extremely unsettling!

To make matters worse, the owner only sticks around until midday, after which he tapes any remaining room keys to the front door. Of course nobody has checked in yet, so everyone's key ends up here - for anyone walking by to find! On what planet is this frightening lack of security and customer care acceptable?

All in all, if you're game for a laugh and have nerves of steel, then Residenza Il Maggio comes highly recommended. For everyone else, find somewhere else...

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling_Matte_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Ariele Hotel
Ariele Hotel
#306 of 421 in Florence
3.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
B&B Amata Firenze
B&B Amata Firenze
#452 of 673 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Antiche Armonie B&B
Antiche Armonie B&B
#165 of 673 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
La Campanella
La Campanella
#479 of 673 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Alla Dimora Altea
Alla Dimora Altea
#185 of 673 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
San Lorenzo
Soggiorno Pezzati Daniela
Soggiorno Pezzati Daniela
#252 of 673 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Il Maggio B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Il Maggio B&B

Property: Residenza Il Maggio B&B
Address: Corso Italia 13, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #368 of 673 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenza Il Maggio B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residenza Il Maggio B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing