We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Place”
Review of Burchianti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Burchianti
Ranked #153 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Cool Place”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

This hotel is around 5 minutes from the train station and around 10 minutes from the Duomo. I stayed in a singles room that was small but about the average size for rooms in Europe. I found the room decorated quite cheerfully and bright even though the windows faced interior passage ways. The room was spotless clean.

I like this place for its unusual features. Its hard to tell that you have reached the hotel, you need to be buzzed in off a very small sign in the street. The hotel appears to occupy only the 2nd floor of the building. The owner greeted me and checked me in. How many hotels exist where the owner lets you in? Everyone was super helpful. You can tell this is not a cookie cutter chain hotel. If you stayed in a double room, the rooms have beautiful frescoes. Single rooms do not have frescoes.

I was not the only one who found this hotel very cool, this hotel was listed as the place to stay in if you go to Florence in a May issue of the Sunday Washington Post Travel section.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has frescoes, it will be a unique experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Middle_Aged_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    108
    18
    9
    10
See reviews for
82
126
37
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Good choice. Close to train station and major Florence sights. We had a standard double. Bathroom was small, but room was clean, comfortable with interesting furniture, and a lovely fresco ceiling. The host was very helpful and engaging. Continental breakfast was disappointing. I don't mind small, but I do like fresh. Many of the items were pre-packaged. The coffee though was delicious.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank berryme03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mornington, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

A lovely b&b in a good location in Florence. A very large room with beautiful painted ceilings. The bathroom only had a shower, but clean and adequate for our needs.
The breakfast was quite simple (continental).
Mario was charming.
You need to buzz to get into property from street level. Large Iron gates lead you to a charming courtyard.
A real taste of Florence was had at burchianti and would stay here again when next in Florence.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank col552216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights 12-14th May 2012...we were gobsmacked with our room! (room 6) Absolutely beautiful...booked a twin and the room had 2 double beds, lots of room, big bathroom with bath, 3 big shuttered windows and the most beautiful painted ceilings. Really completed the whole Florentine experience for us. Brekky was continental..and nothing too exciting except the cuppucino which was excellent. Owners and staff were very polite and helpful. Buzzed in downstairs to enter the courtyard - much like many local residents do - sitting/smoking area was a delight - fountain, stained glass, tables & chairs & garden...soft lighting at night. This hotel was close to the railway station, Duomo and major attractions & shopping spots...check out the little deli just up the street...they are happy for you to sample the cheeses, meats & delicacies & suggest tasty morsels to try. Laundromat & internet cafe is close by and the restaurant just next door is great too.

Room Tip: Had a look at some of the other rooms..(we were in a group of 10 so 5 rooms)..they were all lovely b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brett16102001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

The stay in this B&B was OK, the place was bit hard to find the first time, you have to find the address and the name of the B&B is like an apartment listing you have to ring the bell and wait for them to buzz you in; I arrived and was given according to them a double room, it was very clean with a private bathroom but so small it looked like a walking closet, no window, I was there for 5 night room 11, I ask for a room with a window but the owner tall me that there were no rooms with windows, the breakfast was no big deal continental breakfast nothing to brag about. maybe other guest have other type of rooms different point of views.
The B&B is located near the train station the Duomo, museums, Mercado central, and other central areas.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank carmen95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

This was my first time in ITaly, so everything was quite new to me. The first night we arrived to the hotel, Mario, his wife, and his daughter were sitting in the lobby. First impression, they seemed reserved but welcoming. We arrived super late, but the room was ready. The breakfast was really good. The staff was always helpful, respectful, and discrete. The location was spectacular, two blocks from the train station and two blocks from the Duomo. Everyone (the staff) was a character on their own!
The room was beautiful, it had lots of closet/storage space. The beds were not super comfy, but they were not that bad.
I would def recommend this hotel to anyone, given that I did not suffer from any bad experiences!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We decided to stay an extra night in Florence, and fortunately, our original hotel was completely booked. After a quick internet search, I found this hotel and booked it. We had no idea what we were walking into, but it turned out to be the best room in a 2 week trip! We were given the studio apartment on the first floor (actually outside the gated entrance). It was STUNNING! The bedroom was in a loft above the living room, reached by a wooden spiral staircase. The bathroom was very small but manageable and there was a small kitchenette, although it was inoperable during our stay. The architecture and furnishings were amazing. I can't really speak for the service as we were only there for one short night. They were friendly and helpful finding a restaurant for dinner. If I ever go back to Florence, this will be the ONLY place I will stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpencerSAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#83 of 411 in Florence
1,111 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#70 of 411 in Florence
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Garibaldi Blu
Hotel Garibaldi Blu
#104 of 411 in Florence
226 reviews
San Lorenzo
B4 Astoria Firenze
B4 Astoria Firenze
#141 of 411 in Florence
934 reviews
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#63 of 411 in Florence
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burchianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burchianti

Property: Burchianti
Address: Via del Giglio 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Florence
#68 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Burchianti 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Burchianti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burchianti Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing