We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“elegant small hotel”
Review of Burchianti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Burchianti
Ranked #146 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“elegant small hotel”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Ditto all of the previous reviews. Make sure to ask for a room with a frescod ceililng. Although the view of the Duomo was wonderful from the third floor junior suite we would have prefered to be in one of the rooms on the main floor. Mario was very gracious and gave us good recommendations for restaurants. The whole experience was very pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    108
    18
    9
    10
See reviews for
83
127
37
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This hotel could not be in a more central location, just a short walk from the train station. The Mercato Centrale is right outside the hotel, and just about everything else is within a 10 minute walk. We arrived late in the afternoon, and unfortunately missed our reservation at the Uffizi Gallery. Mario went ahead and got us re-scheduled for the following day. He is a very interesting guy, with a vast knowledge of Firenze and a great appreciation for the arts. He was listening to Janis Joplin when we arrived, and told me he loved her music, which caught me by surprise. We had a triple room with 2 large queen beds, and the room was incredibly spacious, with a frescoed ceiling dating back to 1590. We'll be returning to Firenze again in a couple years, and will definitely stay there again. The hotel was perfect for us.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrekker62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bo I Telemark, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We loved Burchianti and were treated so well by Mario, his son, and the charming Signora. The room was beautiful with gorgeous frescoes on the ceilings; the location was perfect. We totally enjoyed our 6 night stay and would return anytime. What a pleasure to stay in this lovely hotel, including an elegant breakfast. We wanted for nothing and definitely will return.

Room Tip: Frescoed ceilings! The rooms are all lovely though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOTAUNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Augustine, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This hotel was perfect for our three nights in Florence. We were provided a double room and it was lovely. A very large room, and frescoes covered the wall and ceilings. There were two additional single beds in the room that we did not use. Mario Gelli told us the house was built in the 1500s by a wealthy family- the frescoes were done in 1560 and refreshed in 2000. Be sure to get a double, as our traveling friend's single room was not as impressive. Very nice decorating touches throughout the hotel. The breakfast choices were plentiful, and the eating area was very pleasant. The hotel is quite close to the Santa Maria Novella train station, and it is an easy walk to popular attractions such as the Duomo, Uffizi and the Ponte Vecchio. Overall, we highly recommend this classy little hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobandwinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This hotel was really nice! It is so close to the station and the main sights of the city. It is easy to walk around from here. The room was really nice for one person and even had a nice view of the little garden area. The service and breakfast were great. Definitely recommend this hotel if you are staying in Florence.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 97KateH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised with the value and luxury of hotel burchianti. We were offered a complimentsry upgrade to a suite which had Hugh ceilings, marble bathroom, art fresco on ceilings. The breakfast had fresh croissants and espressos with prosciutto and fruit. The location was five minutes from the station ( you have to ring the doorbell to enter), five minutes from Duomo and leather market. Absolutely charming and obliging service (eg let us store our luggage and use it as our base after we checked out). Would recommend staying here to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsTraveIAlexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I am still in Florence - it was had to pick up the place to stay and I travel on relatively low budget normally trying to find a reasonably priced and pleasant hotel close to the venue of the event I am going to. Burchianti has an excellent central location, it is walking distance from S Maria Novella train station, on the other hand the surroundings seem quiet. My room does not have a great view from the windows - actually they are quite high - but the room itself has unique atmosphere. The building is old and the rooms are spacious with very high ceilings with original frescoes. The furniture is also historical. It is something I personally like - as a quick trip back into the past but with the amenities we are now used to.

Room Tip: Probably there are rooms with a view - but I have not checked that, although my windows faced a wall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca
Duomo
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
#48 of 412 in Florence
331 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Garibaldi Blu
Hotel Garibaldi Blu
#111 of 412 in Florence
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#66 of 412 in Florence
542 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Art Atelier
Hotel Art Atelier
#125 of 412 in Florence
433 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#79 of 412 in Florence
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burchianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burchianti

Property: Burchianti
Address: Via del Giglio 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Florence
#68 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Burchianti 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Burchianti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burchianti Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing