We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience, great location”
Review of Burchianti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Burchianti
Ranked #156 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Combining the essence of a pensione (bed and Breakfast) of the 50's with modern day conveniences and services, Hotel Burchianti is a wonderful place to stay. Some of the rooms have frescos on the walls, the remains of being a private residence once upon a time. We had the mini suite on the top floor which looks out over the roof tops of Florence toward the main market (like a farmer's market for meat, fish and vegetables) in one direction and the house that was Elizabeth Barrett Browning's in the other. While we were there, they finished hooking up WiFi so it was available in every room (before you had to come to the breakfast room to connect). Mario, the manager, and his son were extremely hospitable providing recommendations for restaurants and reviews of activities we were considering doing. In addition, the hotel is perfectly situated for tourists. Everything is a short walk from the hotel. Mario makes sure you are armed with a map and can give you directions to wherever you want to go. Finally, for all of this, the price per night is excellent. What more can you ask for?

Room Tip: If you want space and a room with views, ask for the suite on the top floor. It has a full kitchen...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hockscider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
There are newer reviews for Burchianti
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

We travelled to Florence for a wedding which was about 15km outside the city so took the opportunity to stay a few days and explore. Once booked, I emailed the hotel for some additional information, mainly hairdressers, nail bars etc. At first there was a little confusion with the booking but that was quickly resolved and they were very prompt with their replies, I think it was the owner who remembered the confusion and again apologised in person, nice touch. Having read that the hotel was difficult to find I looked on "Street View" to have an idea of what the street/entrance looked like, very handy. If you are travelling to Florence by car then the car park the hotel uses is right next door, perfect for unloading. The hotel is in a great location for all the usual sites, fantastic bar on the right as you walk out, on a corner, low prices & always packed. There's also a great trattoria on the left, very accommodating staff.
When we arrived the young man on reception was extremely helpful with perfect English. The room we booked was called a Junior Suite, although it was only 1 room with en-suite bathroom, it was huge, frescoes on every wall and on the ceiling. The hotel is in an old building, 16th century we were told, and it was beautiful, no street noise, triple glazing with wooden shutters and great a/c. Breakfast is basic if you like a full english, it's the usual Italian fare, the cappuccino is fab! The Wi-Fi is a little iffy but not a major problem, the bed is typically Italian, metal frame with springs and a mattress, not the most comfortable but that's Italy! We found all the staff polite and helpful with a good command of the English language, couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnigmaKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Hotel Burchianti lives up to its promise of frescoes on the ceilings of guest rooms, a tranquil courtyard, and a super-convenient yet quiet location. Staff is friendly and knowledgeable, and there's just a feeling of "class" about the place. Our bathroom was sparkling clean, brightly lighted, and thoughtfully designed--even to a built-in electrical plug adapter with a shelf where we could charge our smartphones. Breakfast is appetizing and nicely presented, though there's no protein (as we had a Hotel Raffaello in Rome) and only apples for fresh fruit.

The one big draback, though, was that our room had no window--unless you count the transom high up over the door--so it was dark. It was also very warm and stuffy, even with the A/C going all the time; we woke up sweating during the night. Still, for the charm and the great staff, I'd consider staying here again if visiting at a cooler time of year. And I'd ask about a window! Evidently some rooms do have them.

Room Tip: Beware Room 10--which has a gorgeous fresco but no real window.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DURB0381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Check in and breakfast in a living room setting with a painted ceiling. Quiet and elegant, they must have few rooms since there were no crowds in the middle of the hot hot summer. Loved it.
The manager, Mario , was a big help and very personable. The owner woman served coffee in the morning and a very nice polite lady as you would dream of an older aunt to be.

Close walk to the train, practically next door to the Medici Chapel and San Lorenzo market. You can walk everywhere from here.
My family of three got the top floor, lucky us, with windows on both sides of the room. Talk about "a room with a view" this was it! Don't expect big city or chain hotel standards for bedding or shower, it's a small, very old hotel that is totally renovated, more like a well maintained apartment building. Loved it.

Room Tip: if you value space and a view, ask to stay on the top floor.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SavySally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I have stayed in many many hotels, but I think this is the prettiest room I have ever stayed in. The furnishing, drapery, windows are beautiful, and the fresco painted walls are just incredible and unique,,,that really made Florence special.!! The staff/owners are very hands on, and very nice. The location is great as well, convenient to the fruit market, and walkable when arriving or departing by train. I was slightly concerned with choosing a hotel in this area because last time we stayed at the Ferragamo owned Hotel Continentale, right on the Arno. and right next to the main bridge. I much prefer this location where Burchianti is. There are not hoards of people/ tourist right out your door, and is very convenient to everything. There are less expensive markets in this area for wine/beer/soda which we kept in a small refrigerator in the room. We would definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbloomfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Our rooms (although booked months ahead) were unavailable, so we had to take our suitcases to an "annex" (another old villa) on a neighbouring street. We slept rather fitfully since the street was noisy and the window had to be open since the AC wasn't working. However, our host brought our cases back while we were out the next day and we had the pleasant rooms we had booked for the rest of the stay. We were always courteously treated and certainly would return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: This is within walking distance of the train station. Across the street is a very good restaurant, h...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Ditto all of the previous reviews. Make sure to ask for a room with a frescod ceililng. Although the view of the Duomo was wonderful from the third floor junior suite we would have prefered to be in one of the rooms on the main floor. Mario was very gracious and gave us good recommendations for restaurants. The whole experience was very pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca
San Lorenzo
Hotel Art Atelier
Hotel Art Atelier
#122 of 411 in Florence
439 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Garibaldi Blu
Hotel Garibaldi Blu
#108 of 411 in Florence
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#84 of 411 in Florence
1,181 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#36 of 411 in Florence
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burchianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burchianti

Address: Via del Giglio 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Florence
#68 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £97 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Burchianti 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Burchianti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burchianti Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing