We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best, in all ways!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Michelangelo Florentine Leather

Michelangelo Florentine Leather
Ranked #9 of 300 Shopping in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Simply the best, in all ways!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I read about Michelangelo´s shop while preparing my trip to Florence, and reading the reviews I already decided that it was a must do. The shop is on the first street to the left after the entrance of the municipal market (the name of the street is not shown on the tourist maps), very easy to find. Michelangelo is the sympathy in person, and visiting his shop is quite an experience. He speaks fluent English, and have a contagious passion for what he does. He will explain everything you want to know about the product, and even teach you how to not fall on the tourist traps for leather. He is not pushy and makes you feel comfortable, and if you want to try all the jackets, he will happily help you. His products are very unique, very different from the ones in the streets. The quality of the products is visible, even if you know nothing about leather, and he leads you to enjoy the product first and think about the price after, and not decide if you are going to enjoy the product based on the price. So don´t lose time wandering around the little shops in the street, go straight there and be really satisfied! In the end I bought a handbag, and Michelangelo kindly offered to post me other products that I like any time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Fcpaiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    6
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The leather feels amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Michelangelo's shop is amazing. It has quality leather and great customer service! If you feel the leather it is extremely soft. But only buy it in Florence, because you cannot buy it on online. Unfortunately, Someone has been using his name online to sell stuff. He only sells in Florence, and is not connected with anyone.

Stop into the shop in Florence. You will not be disappointed!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank StephanieP426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quality leather goods at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We checked out several other shops for leather goods while in Florence and ended up purchasing from Michelangelo due to feeling that it was a reputable shop with reasonable prices. Compared to a few other shops, the jackets there appeared to be of better construction - for example, in another shop, the zippers on the jackets were very difficult to zip and kept getting stuck, however, that was not the case with those in Michelangelo's. Michelangelo did not attempt to pressure us to buy, as many other merchants did, however, he was very knowledgeable about the jackets, handbags, belts, etc., and clearly stated that he would stand by the goods if we were not satisfied with them. He also quickly altered several belts for a custom fit. Overall, we were very happy with our experience and would definitely recommend to others.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank AubieOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The BEST leather shop in Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Florence is Leather Shopping on Steroids. There are literally dozens, if not hundreds of leather shops within a short distance of the Duomo which can make shopping for the uninformed daunting. How in the world does a savvy shopper know where to go? Who is reputable? Who has fair prices? Who has quality goods? My husband discovered Michelangelo online. This was the only shop we needed to go to. Why? Excellent selection, fabulous quality, very fair prices, and a shop owner who loves his shop and his customers. Michelli is fluent in English, too, so there is no language barrier. It's how shopping should be. Michelangelo is conveniently located near the indoor market, mercato centrale.

Just an FYI-- The stalls around the indoor market, are swap meet type stuff. Not quality Florentine leather. Avoid leather shops that are frequented by tour groups or buses. The prices will be much higher due to kickbacks given to tour guides. Our friends were trying to convince us to shop at their favorite leather store-- they found via their bus tour 5 years ago--we went there and it only convinced us further that we made the right choice by shopping at Michelangelo's.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank Maureen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A must for reasonably priced good quality leather”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Our family had a lovely experience with Michaelangelo - who clearly is passionate about providing good quality leather at affordable prices! We had gone to a few other shops advertising reasonably priced leather, but the service and workmanship here surpassed them! Located steps from the Mercato Centrale. Grazie mille Michaelangelo!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank trav4Him
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Michelangelo Florentine Leather also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Michelangelo Florentine Leather? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing