We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap, but only good if you're a light sleeper” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bed & Bed Peterson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed & Bed Peterson
Ranked #342 of 653 Florence B&B and Inns
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Cheap, but only good if you're a light sleeper”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

The B&B is cheap, but you get what you pay for. It is very loud at night as you are right next to a very busy road and traffic starts early. Earplugs are highly recommended. The bed was quite creaky and I struggled to sleep. Glad I was only there one night.

On the plus side, the owner was friendly, the room very spacious and they have free Lavazza espresso. Breakfast consists of a croissant, toast and juice. Its close to the station but a bit of a walk to the historic centre.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MochaChoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    41
    30
    11
    5
See reviews for
11
62
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

If you don't mind squeaky and creaky beds possibly this Bed & Bed will be ok for you .
And keep your hands off the wardrobe, it doesn't look clean and nice.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunny72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Bangkok
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2010

I stayed there only 1 night with my friend. It's located near the SMN station which is excellent although it's not in the tourist area. This area is so calm. The owner is nice friendly and helpful. There are a microwave, coffee maker and also refrigerator. Great! The room is cozy and beautiful. The breakfast is included in the price but don't expect too much for the quality of the breakfast. It's so simple with cracker, peach juice, jam and bottle of water. I do love this hotel and recommend for all you guys!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nichakorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Global
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2010

But in this case, it means 'Bed & Bed', and since this is NOT what anyone, including an Italian (I grew up in Florence) expects it to mean, the absence of a breakfast may come as an unwelcome surprise. However, breakfast is cheap and easy to find nearby. I do recommend going to the coffee shop that you'll find at the corner, over those around the train station, which thrive on gouging tourists(in general, places that are near anything teaming with tourist are going to cost way too much).

We had a room with a private bath, and the basic amenities are fine. The place reminded me of certain homes I sometimes visited here, as a child; a bit chilly, dark, and depression-era feeling, but clean and quiet.

It is within reasonable walking distance of the various major sites and the Arno, but there aren't any restaurants close by, as this is primarily a residential area.

I would describe this as an absolutely decent, if unmemorable place (which is the reason I forgot all about it until I came across the old hotel receipt for the place, this evening), certainly deserving mention; if you, like us, spend little time in your hotel room when on vacation, and value economy, quiet, and cleanliness, this is an excellent bet.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelmongoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
93 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2009

We've stayed just one night at B&B Peterson. The location is great, near the SMN Station and about 15min on foot from major touristic sights. The room are OK: clear, simple furniture, quiet (even with the avenue in front of the building). There is no breakfast, but they offer a coffee machine. There is a "cafe" near the corner of the B&B. We've payed half of the price from others B&B's of the city.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank demayumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2008

stayed for 3 nights and our overall experience was excellent except from the location.

Room was quiet, clean and very spacious - something you can only expect in standard 3 star hotels. However, the location is a bit problematic. It is close to the main train station but it is located very far from major tourism interests (they are on the other side of the train station!) especially when there was a construction work which made the road dirty and hard to follow.

A good point is, if you want to travel by bus, it is very convenient as there is a stop downstairs and several bus termination stops on the way to train station.

Lobby has tea and coffee making facilities and a small fridge to share (ideally if you want simple food and chilled drink).

there are two supermarkets near the train station, both on the direction to the B&B.

  • Liked — clean, quiet and spacious
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bjy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2008

This is a bit old, but my friends and I stayed here last November (Nov 07) and loved it. We paid 65 euros for our triple room (with private bath) the room was very clean and so was the bathroom. Location wise it's close to the train station, though on the west end of the station (most sights are east of the station) the walk to the train station is about 5 minutes and 15 min to the San Lorenzo market. For the price we thought this place was great and even in terms of location, it's not too far. Definitely will stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ayz75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#131 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Soggiorno Fortezza Fiorentina
Soggiorno Fortezza Fiorentina
#426 of 653 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Soggiorno Primavera
Soggiorno Primavera
#276 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
B&B Guesthouse Amici Miei
B&B Guesthouse Amici Miei
#354 of 653 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
San Marco
Relais Dante e Beatrice
Relais Dante e Beatrice
#201 of 653 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Antica Posta B&B
Antica Posta B&B
#283 of 653 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Bed Peterson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Bed Peterson

Property: Bed & Bed Peterson
Address: Via Guido Monaco 25, 50144, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Style:
Ranked #342 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bed & Bed Peterson 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Bed & Bed Peterson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Bed Peterson
Bed & Bed Peterson Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing