We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze
Ranked #232 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Ottawa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed at Hotel Panorama for two nights and didn't know what to expect. When we booked the hotel it had dismal reviews but we were just looking for a bed so we chose the hotel based on it's price point and prepared ourselves for a mini disaster. Wow were we ever wrong!!! We had some problems with out rental car in Rome and did not arrive in Florence until late in the evening, this was absolutely no problem at the front desk and they were incredibly helpful! There is even a small fridge with drinks for sale that we very much appreciated. They were slightly more expensive than at a store but we didn't care and were happy to pay the extra for the convience. We had a quad room which was reasonable in size (even with our three large suitcases and additional hand bags). The room was very clean and had all the ammenities you would expect in a hotel as well as a happy surprise of a small fridge! The hotel provided a car service where we would simply leave our car out front and someone would come and collect the car and return it at our request. This cost us 26Euros a day and the parking lot was guaranteed, we were very happy about this especially after our long day of travel and headaches that we arrived with. We were even told that if we wanted to site see after 11am on the day of our check out that the front desk would watch our bags and then call our car when we were ready (we didn't use this feature but it was nice to have a back up).
The location of this hotel is perfect!! Moments away from the pedestrian only areas of Florence, 2mins away from David, 8mins from the Dumo, and about 15mins to the river. We loved walking everywhere and never had any issues with trying to reach any attraction.
Breakfast was fine, nothing fancy but normal of European hotels. Staff was very friendly and we really appreciated how quickly we were able to have breakfast (we had full days and didn't want to waste much time eating in the morning). Everything was delicious we were very happy with breakfast.
Someone did mention mosquitos as an issue and yes we did also experience this but I hardly think the hotel can be held responsible for an insect that is an issue all around the world. They did provide a contraption for eliminating or repelling the mosquitos but we couldn't figure out how to use this and decided that we really didn't care that much about the mosquitos (there definitely wasn't an infestation, just normal amounts of mosquitos)
Hotel is on the second floor and there is a small lift, we used it only for our suitcases and used the stairs the rest of the time. If you are handicapable then you can absolutely still use the lift it just may take a couple of trips to get there in the small lift but this is normal for a building that is this old.
I highly recommend this hotel if you are on a budget, you really can't ask for much more in a hotel. If you find a more expensive place you may find nicer sheets, or fancier rooms but really what would you rather? Personally I was happy to save money at the hotel and spend it on wine and food in Florence! We really didn't feel that we were missing out on anything!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OttawaCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanvan_giallo, Proprietario at Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Thank you for commenting! We are all different, so someone appreciate our hotel and someone doesn't. There are no frills, but we try to provide as much comfort as we can thinking of a traveller that needs a place for storage luggages, a fridge for keeping their food, and also knowing the whether forecast!
Cheers
Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    224
    121
    52
    35
See reviews for
98
278
29
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The room and especially bathroom were small but clean. AC was working well. The bed was ok. Since buses pass on the road nearby, it can get somewhat noisy early in the morning making it hard to sleep for those of us who are light sleepers. WiFi signal was quite weak - using skype to talk was a bit challenging. Breakfast was pretty good. No parking available near the hotel - they do have a parking garage staff valet park your car for you for 26 euro per night, so may get quite pricey depending how many nights you are spending.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barsuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanvan_giallo, Proprietario at Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Thank you for commenting!
There are many garage nearby, anyway we can offer a convenient one, according to Florence prices ( that, I admit, are pretty expensive).
Best,
Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We spent three nights in Florence and found this an ideal place in terms of location. The staff were more than helpful with their suggestions and made our stay much easier. The view from the breakfast room was very nice. Overall a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanvan_giallo, Proprietario at Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Thank you for your comment!
We only have to apologize for forgetting to tell you about the terrace with view on the fourth floor.
There is a direction sign for it, but, as you didn't mnention it, I'm afraid you haven't see it and we've missed to indicate it.

Have many "solo" great travelling!
Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, and I was very impressed with the service at this hotel.
The staffs are very friendly and helpful. I arrived on a Monday afternoon, and the staff was very helpful in telling me what attractions were still open, and offered me some suggestions.

The hotel is very close to many attractions: Museum San Marco, Doumo cathedral (I visited on the afternoon I arrived), David statue, etc. It is also close to a bus station, so if you want to go far, such as crossing the river, you can take a bus from there. On the same street (Via Cavour), there are some snack bars/restaurants (some without service fee).

The room is very nice for a solo traveller like myself. I do like the green theme tones of the hotel and the art works. I had a single room with a queen bed. The room was not so big, but packed with all the essentials that one needs (free wifi, LCD TV, fridge, hair dryer, AC, private bathroom, and of course...bidet). I didn't get the room with the balcony, but I can still see the Duomo dome from my window, overall nice views as well. I do like some of the details in the room, the shallow container like head board that holds many small things like camera, charger, etc. The light can be switched off near the door or the bed.

The breakfast is good for its value, but the cafeteria has a very good view of the city. The staff was very nice every morning.

Overall, for anyone who is going to Florence, I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Y X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Elmo, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Panorama in early June. Overall the hotel is nothing special but the prices and breakfast were pretty good. Breakfast is served in a rooftop sun room that really was quite nice with great views of the city. Usual fare of cereals, breads, meats, etc. They also have a terrace area on a lower floor that was a nice area for an end of the day drink (byob). The room was clean, towels good, air conditioning was OK but locked so you couldn't turn the temp down as low as we would of liked (2 menopausal women involved here). We had a quad room for the 4 of us and it was a large single room with one double bed and two twins that we pushed together. The beds were comfortable and we slept well with only a bit of street noise. Bathroom was clean and shower only. No complaints about that. None of the staff speak English fluently but enough to get you through it. The staff was always helpful for the few questions we had and tipped us on a great restaurant (ZaZa) that was affordable and quite good. I would probably try a different place next time in Florence but only because I like to try different places and locations. This place is a safe bet.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildonesminn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Proprietario at Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Thank you for commenting!
The air conditioning is not properly locked, you can change the temperature but only within a determine range. Here our reasons:
1st- we are concerned about enviroment pollution
2nd -putting 16°C degrees when outside is almost 40°C degrees means that the engine can frozen and you won't get AC anymore!
3rd -we are following the experts' reccomendation that have fixed the best temperature degrees in a range between 25°C and 27°C ( actually in each room you can set as lower temperature 24°C), anyway we always set the AC i order to welcomed the guest with a cool air.
Greetings,
Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Nice, clean, well-located just outside Piazza San Marco (5 minute walk from the Galleria del’Accademia, 10 minutes from the Duomo). The breakfast is a fairly basic fare not more than you expect from a budget place. It was served on a high floor with windows offering a beautiful view overlooking the town.
The only but major problem we encountered was when we checked in: we immediately encountered a strong offensive odour from some chemical in the room, apparently some badly applied cleaning product. The problem was clumsily handled by the hotel staff. Although eventually it was resolved the following day, we had to sleep with this smell in the room, which pretty much ruined our first night and consecutive day in Florence. I would definitely have expected a more decisive and proactive handling by the staff, who had been made aware and recognized the problem upon our arrival and promised to take care of it. But as we went out to see the town and got back late at night, clearly nothing had been done. The next morning we had to repeat the request to the reception (this time with very little patience) and thankfully the room was treated by the afternoon. The staff offered an apology. They did fix the problem eventually, but I think that room should definitely not have been given to us in that state in the first place.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nz30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanvan_giallo, Proprietario at Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thank you for commenting, and sorry for the late answer.
We are sorry for the inconvenience. At first we haven't well understood that the odour you can't stand was the cleaning chemical product. The receptionist thought the smell was caused by something that needed more cleaner! So for you was worste. This why only after 1 day, when you talked directly to us, the owners, instead to thereceptionists, we could understand exactly the problem and use the oxone machine that clean the air.
We will work on a better communication.
Have a nice day,
Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

To check in at this hotel you enter on the ground and have to get the lift (tiny) to the second floor, this alone can prove challenging if you have large suitcases. On arrival in reception were almost greeted by the receptionist who struggled to remove herself from the computer. We arrive at around 12:30 but couldn't check in until after 2pm which is normal in most European hotels.
We stayed 3 nights and if we were in Florence any longer would have probably checked into a different hotel. Both my wife and I had heaps of bites over our bodies after the first night in the bed. Sadly the breakfast was very dismal and below average of most european hotels.
I don't like to give negative reviews so the good things about this hotel are the price is very low, and if you do not have lot of luggage and are only staying for a short time it will suffice. It is also in the centre of Florence which is a major plus and we had a fantastic view from our balcony.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricnorthrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Proprietario at Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
hank you for commenting.
We are sorry you didn't feel welcomed and we apologize. We are not used to not greeting our guests, maybe the receptionist had some trouble to solve. Specially before check in time we are very busy with the last preparing before new arrivals.
As you correctly point out, check in is at 14:00 and check out at 11:00. This time is needed for cleaning, anyway we always offer to storage luggages at the the reception, as we always do.
We actually have a tiny elevator, tough enough for 4 people. This is becouse the hotel is in a XIX century building, originally without any lift; this is pretty common in old Italian cities.
It is correct also that there are mosquitos and for this reason we provide electric emanator and tablets.
About breakfast, some likes our breakfast, others don't; we offer cold and hot drinks, jams and butter, bread, cake and croissants, ham, salami and cheese, cereals and yogurt and syrop fruit salad, crackers and rusks. It is not artisanal stuff, of course, but we have choose carefully food providers.
We will bereally glad if you can explain, also writing directly at our email address, what exactly you dislike in order to improve our service.
Thank you for pointing out you liked the view!

Greetings
Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Panama
#241 of 422 in Florence
411 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Gioia
Hotel Gioia
#163 of 422 in Florence
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel de la Pace
Hotel de la Pace
#179 of 422 in Florence
164 reviews
Hotel Grifone Firenze
#258 of 422 in Florence
523 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
#128 of 422 in Florence
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze

Property: Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 60, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#100 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Panorama is a 2 star budget hotel in the center of Florence with a marvellous panoramic view of the city. We are located close to the Accademia Art Gallery, the Cathedral and the Convention Centre and only at 15 minutes walking distance from the main railway station. All rooms have private facilities and private telephone - a satellite tv set is at guest's disposal in the Reception Hall as well as some safety boxes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing