We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel with good value”
Review of Hotel Colorado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Colorado
Ranked #385 of 422 Hotels in Florence
A TripAdvisor Member
“great hotel with good value”
Reviewed 4 April 2006

I enjoyed by stay at the hotel Colorado very much. The hotel is small and the rooms are not without their flaws, but for the price I paid, I am 110% happy. The owner was very friendly, I felt safe in my room, and the bed was comfortable. The downsides - you have to walk the stairs to the hotel (not really a problem unless you have many bags). Also, in a style similar to several hostels I have stayed in, the bathroom was small (the sink was in the shower). All this being said, if you are looking for an inexpensive place to stay in florence, I highly recommend the hotel colorado.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    19
    13
    12
    21
See reviews for
4
28
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2006

We stayed at Hotel Colorado in October 2005 with our 2 little children. If you have a lot of luggage, take a taxi from the Florence SMN train station. Otherwise, it's about a 20 minute walk from there. Many steps to the 2nd floor(more like 3rd floor), where the hotel is located, no elevator. The staff is friendly and they speak English. Continental Breakfast included with room. Our triple room was large and clean with a small balcony opening to the indoor courtyard. No television. No hairdryer. Our bathroom was large and clean. Reception desk is closed at night and you have a key issued to gain entrance to the hotel which is on one floor of the building it is in. Close to the sites and minutes from the Accademia. Franco, who answered our e-mail from the hotel booked reservations for us at the Accademia and Uffizi. We would stay here again. Pack light.

Helpful?
1 Thank Suburbanite05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 January 2006

At 35 Euros a night you can't go wrong. The entrance however, is a bit scary. It means taking two flights of stairs in a dark, dingy stairwell. I was wandering what I had gotten myself into. When I opened the door to the hotel, however, all seemed right. There is only staff during the daytime but, guests are given keys to their room and the dingy stairway to let themselves in and out at any time. The staff is English speaking, friendly and helpful. The room and the bathroom are fully equiped (except for no tv) and very clean. The location is walking distance from most of the tourist sights and is also walking distance to the train station. Because the rooms are small and there is no real lobby, this is probably not a good place for children.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2005

We visited the Hotel Colorado in early November 2005. The staff was friendly, and the hotel was clean. We stayed in a double room, which included both a full bed and a small twin bed, and shower stall in private bathroom, for $54 euro per night. The rate included a typical breakfast (cheeses, rolls, nutella, coffee).

It's about a 10 to 15 minute walk from the City Center, but very close to the Piazza San Marco, which is bus hub and taxi stand. When we visited it was an 18 euro ride from the airport. Although the hotel suggests you can walk from the train station, I imagine it would be a lengthy walk with luggage. Although slightly farther out than hotels closer to the train station, we did walk easily to the Uffizi, Galleria dell'Accademia, Pitti Palace, and other tourist sites from the hotel. The area seemed safe during the evening for the two of us to walk around in.

Although the staff spoke as little English as we spoke Italian, there were generally no problems.

My only complaint was that the warm weather prompted the hotel staff to open the windows when cleaning the room each day, and half a dozen thirsty mosquitos took up residence in our room.

Helpful?
1 Thank washingtondcgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2005

We stayed at the Hotel Colorado late Oct.2005 and enjoyed our stay. Our room fit our family of 4 with 1 dbl. bed and 2 singles. The rm was large with a good size bathroom and patio doors that led to balcony. My teenage son enjoyed eating pizza out there to get away from his sister. I don't know if air condition was available as it was cool during our stay. A new coat of paint would improve the rooms appearance, and there is some dirt/dust on white patio doors from construction across the way, and no screens...but no problem with mosquitos this time of year. The window in our restroom did have a screen and the restroom really was fine but shower was reminiscent of some of my trips to nontourist areas in Mexico. My children really enjoyed the buffet breakfast, which was included in rate. The staff was helpful at all times,spoke english well,and arranged our tickets by e-mail to the Accademia (a 5 min walk)and also helped us call and speak to the keepers(they spoke no english) of the Agrituismo we were to stay in near Siena.
One of the negatives, is that the actual hotel is on the 3rd floor and it is a climb after walking from the bus stop(San Marco piazza) with luggage.
Overall, I would say that Hotel Colorado has great rates for families and they really made us feel as though they were happy to serve us. It is a little antiquated but that was what we were looking for to add to the history of Florence.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasLove2trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2005

We were very skeptical the first night of our stay where we ended up in a non airconditioned boiler room. Things were set in order the next morning when we got an AC room which we had paid for. Entire staff extremely friendly and booked tickets to teh accademia and the uffizi before we even got there. Hotel is located on the 3rd floor with no elevator... not for the frail. The rooms (except the non air conditioned) are modest but comfortable (definitely no frills). The hotel is located about 3 blocks from the duomo ...(be prepared to walk in Florence .. thats almost the only means of transportation in the central area). This place is almost like a big house with free access to the refrigerator and dining area at night. Although we had our doubts initially, it proved to be a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desieurojunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 July 2005

It took us around 10 mins walk from the train station and where greeted with a very warm welcome. The rooms are basic though offer excellent value for money and ours had a good air con system, you even get breakfast included. Don’t expect any television and do expect stairs to climb. Still in Florence you’re far too busy to care about either. The staff are friendly and always willing to help and the hotel is only a few minutes from the Domo. Well recommended.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze
San Marco
Athenaeum Hotel
Athenaeum Hotel
#207 of 422 in Florence
681 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#146 of 422 in Florence
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#50 of 422 in Florence
2,026 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Abaco
Hotel Abaco
#236 of 422 in Florence
152 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 422 in Florence
2,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colorado

Property: Hotel Colorado
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 66, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #385 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Colorado 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colorado is a nice 1 star hotel recently restored, easy to reach by walk from the train station S.M.Novella, is in via Cavour, very close to the main monuments and museums in Florence: The Dome (Santa Maria del Fiore), the Giotto's bell tower, the David of Michelangelo. You will receive a warm and informal welcome at the Hotel Colorado, 10 rooms, singles, double, triples and family rooms (4 people), all with private bathroom, very bright and view on the typical florentine roofs and 6 rooms with air conditioning. The pedestrian area and the congress center (Fortezza da Basso) are both at walking distance. We are at the 2nd floor of a building without lift ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Colorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colorado Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing