We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kj”
Review of Hotel Montreal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Montreal
Ranked #206 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Chose this hotel because of its location - close to train, buses and walking distance from tourist attractions. Our first floor room had a double window both double glazed so it was very quiet.The room was clean and the bathroom was modern. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. In my opinion it was good value and was more than I expected from a 2* rated hotel.

Room Tip: First floor has lift access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 720 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

Location was the main reason why we chose Hotel Montreal - it was located just 5 minutes' walk away from the railway station. Service was average, the rooms were also decent. But get a room on the lower floor. Or you could practically die from lugging your baggage up their steep and narrow staircases. I know we nearly did.

Room Tip: Ask... no, demand for a room on the lower floors if you have lots of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Goomba81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Room is clean. However there was no aircon, thus we have to open the windows and there were mosquitoes.
Other than this, everything is good about
the hotel.
If you do not want to climb up the narrow stairs, request for room that is on level 1.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank n-joyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We chose the Montreal because it is so close to the railway station. It's simple, the rooms aren't large, but the hotel's centrally placed, it's clean, the street is quiet, the rooms are comfortable with extra pillows and blankets, the staff are friendly, there's a great restaurant next door (La Grotta di Leo) and it's cost us 600€ for two of us for a week. A perfect tourist hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank henkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I was very disatisfied with this hotel. I had read online that there was no elevator access to the second or third floors. However, I did not expect the long, winding corridors that stood between me and my room. The layout of the hotel can be an ordeal if you have a lot of luggage. I found the room reasonably clean, however, the bed was very uncomfortable. We stayed in a standard double room with two twin beds pushed together. As soon as we sat down, one of the beds actually broke! The hotel staff called someone to repair it, which was done promptly, but the end result is still far from comfortable, as it sagged in the middle. I believe the owner is reluctant to purchase new beds. One annoying thing I found was that the sheets and towels constantly smelled of vinegar. I believe it is the practice of some hotels to use vinegar rather than bleach to clean their linen. While this may be more environmentally friendly, beware that the smell may get to you.

The room was large and we had a shared terrace. The safe is very small and does not fit a lap top. Service from the staff was very good. We got excellent advice about where to eat. They were responsive and sympathetic about the bed problem, but had limited ability to respond to the problem. We did not try the breakfast. Wifi was not dependable. Much of the time, it was impossible to get a signal in our room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karyn Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The Hotel is literally a 5 minute walk from the railway station and the city's main squares and attractions, so we were literally able to drop off our bags and go out and explore. Erika couldn't have been more helpful throughout the stay and provided lots of tips and advice. We had a spacious family 'dependence' room on the 3rd floor, which was fine for our one night stay. Our only wish was that we had spent another night in Florence - one day/one night was not enough!

Room Tip: Don't choose a dependence room on the 3rd floor if you have mobility issues or lots of luggage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swansea61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The hotel is very well located, it's close to the main railway station and you can easily walk to the main attractions of the city. The room was quite neat and comfortable, although a bit small. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vinicius_RC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Palazzuolo
Hotel Palazzuolo
#338 of 410 in Florence
247 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#163 of 410 in Florence
406 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Boccaccio
Hotel Boccaccio
#212 of 410 in Florence
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Tourist House
Hotel Tourist House
#257 of 410 in Florence
172 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#68 of 410 in Florence
1,537 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#96 of 410 in Florence
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montreal

Address: Via della Scala 43, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#153 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £36 - £536 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Montreal 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Montreal is a cozy family-run hotel located in the heart of Florence, a short walk from Santa Maria Novella Station and close to the main tourist attractions of the city. Here you will find a comfortable atmosphere and a friendly and caring staff, ready to help you organizing a memorable stay in Florence. The rooms, decorated in typical Florentine style, are newly renovated and come with free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, soundproofed windows and walls and LCD screens. Some of the rooms are reachable only by stairs (no elevator). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montreal Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing