We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In hindsight,I would not have stayed here”
Review of Hotel Montreal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Montreal
Ranked #183 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

This is a budget hotel capitalizing on tourist season. I paid 200 euro for the first night for a 3rd floor walk up with a broken AC during the last week of May (worst sleeping experience through all of Italy). The rooms are gross and the beds are uncomfortable. Some staff members are friendly, some aren't- The location is prime, but that's about it.

I would never stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank DDaniel24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cicisbeo, Direttore at Hotel Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Sir,
we are so sorry and surprised to read your unsatisfied opinion that you didn’t explain during your 4 nights stay in our Hotel.
As explained at check in time the air conditioning on the third floor had broken down in the morning and we could not fix it because it was Saturday and you responded that there were no problems; for the inconvenience we were sorry, we included breakfast (otherwise extra) and with the promise of changing room in the morning the day after; the next morning (Sunday) we moved you on the 1st floor in room 106 (no stairs) with the air conditioning (the problem was only on the third floor because on the first and on the second floor worked without problems). During the following week we also fixed the air conditioning on the third floor and still now it’s working in all the Hotel.
The first day we assigned you a room on the third floor because you reserved the room in our Dependance that as explained on all our sites and an our further email is located on the third floor and is not serviced by a lift.
We are sorry about the situation and we remain at your disposal for other infomations
Best regards.
The manager
Silvia Lo Monaco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (699)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Montreal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 101 of 699 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

The location of this small but very pleasant hotel which gave excellent value for money can not really be beaten. It was a mere 5 mins (if that) away from Santa Maria Novella Station and a stones throw from the church of the same name. All the major sites were within walking distance, the staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable and clean. We had no problems whatsoever with the time we were there. It was also extremely useful to be able to leave the luggage there as well until we were ready to catch our coach to go to the airport. All in all an excellent choice and we would stay there again if we ever went back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

When we first time coming Firenze with worry and strange, the receiptor in Hotel Monteal with lovely smile and nice English, detail introduce the hotel facility,locol traffic and touring points even caculating out the necessary walking time, suddently we feel like coming back the home. You know, this is so important to guest who from faraway east countries along. After that, we spent very pleasure two days in lovely Firenze.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xiongyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Just minutes from the train station and with everything within walking distance this was ideally located. Staff at all times were very helpful and more than happy to pass on advice, give power adaptors, allow bags to be kept pre and post check in /out. Room was basic but large and suitably comfortable. Did not try the breakfast as we had early bookings at the galleries but at 5EUR would have been worth a try.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandmanGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We had a good stay at Hotel Montreal and would consider staying here again. The proximity to the train station makes it very convenient (for a day trip to Pisa) or to catch a train for an onward journey. The room was slighlty larger than an average European hotel room and was very clean. The staff were friendly and were quite fluent in English which is always helpful. There are a few restaurants on the same street and you will find more around the Piazza di Santa Maria Novella just down the road. All in all Hotel Montreal provided good value for money

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taz2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Only a few minute walk from the train station and a 10-15 minute walk from the Duomo. Due to how compact Florence is, this hotel is in a great spot for seeing the attractions.

We had a quad room on the 3rd floor. It was a bit of a walk (2 flights of stairs and down a hallway), but not an issue for us. The room is fairly basic, but was clean and had everything needed for our stay. Room was fairly large for our family.

Staff was good, especially Erica who was extremely friendly and helpful.

Did not include breakfast, but you could pay 5 euro pp. The breakfast was basic, but adequate and a decent value for 5 euro.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamielidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Normally when I give a place an "average" review, it's because they're, well, average. The hotels we've picked so far for this tour of Italy, though, have been weirdly excellent and terrible at once. In this case:

Excellent:
Obviously, it's *extremely* close to the train station (like 5 minutes walk *with* carrying a bunch of luggage), basically right in the heart of Florence, and pretty cheap.
The bed was only a tiny bit harder than I'd like - still a pretty comfortable bed - and the blankets were fairly decent for the price we paid.
Given the price and location, I was expecting the room to be absurdly tiny - it was pretty small, but not so small as to be annoying. We had enough room to spread our stuff our a bit and still walk around and use the desk. Good enough!
There's only a shower, but it was a really nice shower!
The people at the front desk were extremely friendly, polite, helpful, and as an added bonus, all spoke completely fluent English.

Terrible:
Being in the heart of Florence, with the windows open, it got pretty loud fairly late into the night with obnoxious drunk people one night, and just general street traffic in general. They do have extremely hefty noise-blocking windows that worked great for their intended purpose, but also as a side-effect, blocked all the air circulation and made it terribly hot even when it was cold outside, which made them pretty useless, since it seemed the fan being available was tied to the AC, which was turned off. I understand AC probably isn't in their control, but I wish we could at least have had some outside air.
The bathroom is tiny. I don't normally really complain about that, but I do complain when they basically stuck the toilet *under* the sink. It was not a very comfortable toilet. It also generally took several tries to get the toilet to flush, though it always did eventually.
The WiFi was reliable, but extremely slow most of the time (occasionally the actual mb/s dipped all the way down into the single digits, though it was usually in the mid-double digits, which is still fairly slow.)
The breakfast was pretty lame - watery juice, watery yogurt, some meat that wouldn't be that great by US standards, but was pretty depressing by the standards of all the excellent luncheon meat we've seen in Italy, and a couple pastries. One of the pastries was decent, but still.

Room Tip: Glad we paid a little more for a room on the first floor - it's a bit of a maze, I really wouldn...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#94 of 411 in Florence
761 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Ester
Hotel Ester
#167 of 411 in Florence
431 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Sole
Hotel Sole
#166 of 411 in Florence
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Scoti
Hotel Scoti
#198 of 411 in Florence
296 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Boccaccio
Hotel Boccaccio
#215 of 411 in Florence
495 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#127 of 411 in Florence
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montreal

Address: Via della Scala 43, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#98 Family Hotel in Florence
#153 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £42 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Montreal 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Montreal is a cozy family-run hotel located in the heart of Florence, a short walk from Santa Maria Novella Station and close to the main tourist attractions of the city. Here you will find a comfortable atmosphere and a friendly and caring staff, ready to help you organizing a memorable stay in Florence. The rooms, decorated in typical Florentine style, are newly renovated and come with free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, soundproofed windows and walls and LCD screens. Some of the rooms are reachable only by stairs (no elevator). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montreal Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing