We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shabby Apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MsnSuite Apartments Palazzo dei Ciompi
Ranked #210 of 297 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shabby Apartment”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We booked this apartment thru AA vacations. The great online pictures and amenities advertised are meant to trick unsuspecting tourists into booking these apartments. The apartment was shabby and sparsely furnished with a few pieces of dilapidated furniture. The apartment did not match the online pictures!
Many areas in the apartment did not seem to have been cleaned for a long time. The floors were dirty and got your feet black. The dishwasher was not unloaded nor were the previous occupants clothes removed from the drawers. The air-conditioning was ineffective and the apartment was hot hot hot especially at night.
The lady who showed us the apartment noted that the breakfast supplies and bath supplies were insufficient for the number of people that were booked to stay. But did not bother to follow thru on her promise of sending the needed supplies. The staff also forgot to replenish the breakfast items for two days of our stay.
According to one of their websites, there is “a safe-deposit box at the reception desk.” When I enquired about it I was abruptly informed by the receptionist that this was an apartment and not a hotel.
I would not stay at this location again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    74
    30
    33
    36
See reviews for
81
64
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed here for a week, and I'm unsure what kind of review to give it. I think some of your satisfaction (or lack thereof) might depend on which apartment you end up in.

Our apartment (Michelangelo I believe) was gorgeous. The rooms are HUGE, the ceilings are so high it's incredible! We had a large lounge with kitchen; a bedroom with twin beds; a bedroom with a queen and a loft area attached to that bedroom with another queen bed.

The lounge and room with twin beds were both great during the day. Two couches for sitting, a table with lots of chairs for meals - it's all good. The bedroom with two twin beds had plenty of room for moving around, and both these rooms had fabulous views over Firenze towards the mountains.

The downside with these two rooms was night time. Three floors below was a bar, which has an area of it on the street. It is SUPER noisy until about 3-4am. Around 4-5am the crazy woman comes out and starts shouting. So if you're hoping to sleep, bring earplugs. The super kind!

The other bedroom was in the middle of the apartment complex (so not on the street front). It had zero views, but also no so much noise. The problem with this room was the attached loft. The loft is to the side of the bedroom, and is essentially above the bathroom (remember, the ceilings are really high?). Unfortunately there is no window up in the loft and no air. It's hot, hot, hot and dark and no way to alleviate that. The stairs up the loft area are TINY circular stairs. I don't know how exactly you'd get a suitcase up there, it's hard enough to get yourself up there! It is basically unusable in the heat of the summer, and not very useful unless you have older kids who are happy to negotiate the stairs and won't need to get up to the toilet in the night.

Also, it is attached to the other bedroom, so you'd have to have people in there who really like each other. There is also no soundproofing between the rooms, so prepare to be woken every time someone uses the bathroom.

Which brings me to the bathrooms! There are two. One is huge and has a great bath tub and toilet. Lots of space - but it's kind of hard (at least for us Americans) to use a bath tub for cleaning. I like shower. The 2nd bathroom (attached to the other bedroom) has a shower, but it's a really tiny one, and the shower handle is constantly falling off (onto your foot!!)

The apartment was nice and clean, although they do not clean it during the week at all, so it's all up to you to take out your own trash (and out onto the street, not just within the building).

The internet is expensive, but we managed to piggy-back on a free network we were picking up from the cafe or something across the road.

The building is well situated - a little out of the real center of Firenze, but within walking distance of plenty of things. Our VERY favorite was the gorgeous market a couple of blocks away with wonderful fruits, veges, meat and cheese. There is also a "conventional" supermarket about a block away, which was really convenient.

We weren't incredibly impressed with the reception staff, but neither did we have any problems with them, so I can't really comment on that.

All in all it worked out, but we were very disappointed about the noise, and that the loft area was not usable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street (with good views) are going to be so noisy you won't be able to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EightyKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I wish they could get it together at this place because the concept is soo good, and so is the location. They have some serious problems with the receptionists: 1. the younger Italian one with glasses is really rude and condescending and I would fire her if I was managing the place (unemployable) and she says really rude things about the other receptionist who is there during the day. 2. the cleaning staff seem to always miss something like forget to leave towels or toilet paper or coffee filters or dish soap or dishwasher tablets, do not unload the dishwasher when people change apartments and lots of the pots, pans and plates are not clean or have old bits of food on them. they also open the windows and let lots of bugs in. 3. there is a bar downstairs and if you are UNLUCKY enough to have an apartment facing the street, you are screwed. I am a heavy heavy sleeper and I couldnt sleep. the other people I was with are light sleepers and had an awefull time. 4. everything seems to require updating. seems like the place where the owner would be cheap and doesnt fix or improve anything unless it has totally callopsed. 5. a note to the owner/sales and marketing: please get it together. the apartments have so much potential. you need to do something and do it fast.

Room Tip: Make sure to get one on the back side of the hotel. Do not leave the windows open!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ItalianLoveAffair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

Hong kong
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Travel in a group of four, booked this apartment for 480 Euro for three nights.

Check in process was a bit slow but then most of the service in Italy are slow. The apartment is located in Good location. I booked a one bed room apartment, it was very clean and spacious, the sofa bed in the living room is too soft to sleep on, the air conditioner is a bit old it dried up the room very quickly, in generally it was ok.

It also has laundry room on the second floor you can use for free, you will need your own washing liquid though, many restaurant near by.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamsurfergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

A comfortable apartment and had everything we needed except washer and drier which were shared. With the amount of students staying at the apartments it was hard to get a turn. But we managed. The cleanliness of the bathroom was average but it was quiet ( we were at the back) and in a great spot so we could walk to all the major sites.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cccholee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
520 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We had a very enjoyable stay here with a group of 6 in 2004 and decided to return with friends in early May. Many of the staff were warm, friendly and helpful, others not. While the apartment is located within reasonable walks to all of the major sights, we were disappointed with our stay. It doesn't look like any of the furnishings had been updated since our last stay. The accommodations were very average and do not match up with the photos posted on the website. We found the kitchen area to be a real mess, with stained table cloths, dirty dishes and a coffee maker that had grounds aging in it for many days. Since there are so many other better rated places to stay in Florence, we won't be returning to Palazzo Ciompi.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimSTL1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

This was almost perfect for our group of 5 to stay - great location - within walking distance of all of the major sites and near a wonderful fresh outdoor market; beautiful apartment, very comfortable and well-equipped...BUT it's right above a bar that starts getting loud at 10pm in the evening and parties until 2-3am.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank admpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Le Due Fontane
Hotel Le Due Fontane
#239 of 421 in Florence
469 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti
Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti
#171 of 421 in Florence
920 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
#223 of 421 in Florence
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Alinari
Hotel Alinari
#328 of 421 in Florence
290 reviews
San Marco
Hotel de la Pace
Hotel de la Pace
#174 of 421 in Florence
144 reviews
Santa Croce
J & J Historic House Hotel
J & J Historic House Hotel
#172 of 421 in Florence
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MsnSuite Apartments Palazzo dei Ciompi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MsnSuite Apartments Palazzo dei Ciompi

Property: MsnSuite Apartments Palazzo dei Ciompi
Address: Piazza Dei Ciompi 18, 50100, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 297 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — MsnSuite Apartments Palazzo dei Ciompi 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suite Apartments Palazzo dei Ciompi formerly "Palazzo Pascolutti- Giani" is a 19th Century building composed of 21 completely renovated suite apartments. The Palazzo Dei Ciompi suite apartments was previously home to the "Accademia dei Risoluti", which gave birth to the Florence theatre named "Alfieri". On the main gate there is an engraving of the "Cavallo Sfrenato" ( the galloping horse) symbol of the "Accademia dei Risoluti" whose motto was "valoroso destrier passa e non cura", (brave horse passing without fear). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your MsnSuite Apartments Palazzo dei Ciompi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Msnsuite Apartments Palazzo Dei Ciompi Hotel Florence
Palazzo Dei Ciompi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing