We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cinderella after midnight!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
MsnSuite Apartments Palazzo dei Ciompi
Ranked #210 of 297 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cinderella after midnight!”
Reviewed 28 December 2012 via mobile

We originally booked the attic apartment Cellini which in hindsight was good. We are a family of 4 and there was only 1 couch for 2 to sit on in the living area, and the master bedroom and bathroom were only accessible when walking through the kids bedroom. I would not have chosen this apartment had I known the layout.

I asked reception if they had a larger apartment. They showed me a beautiful apartment " Giotto", which was 5 times the size of our attic apartment with grand proportions. It was a bit dirty (mainly lack of dusting), and there were a large number of light bulbs that needed replacing. The toilet in the ensuite broke immediately but they quickly fixed it.

At midnight our cinderella accommodation turned into the ugly step sister! Next door was a bar which hosted live bands from midnight until 2-3pm. There were crowds of people outside at all hours. We tried sleeping tablets and ear plugs but it really was impossible to sleep.

We had travelled from Venice where the tap water was pleasant and drinkable. We stupidly drank the foul tasting tap water only when we ran out of bottled water. My sons and myself all came down with gastro for 24 hours. Only my husband avoided this - he only drank wine! - there's a message for us all.

Florence is such a beautiful city, it's a shame this accommodation let us down. We would not chose to stay here again purely because of the noise from the bar Plaz. Having said that, if you are young or unincumbered with children the band actually sounded pretty good!

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Leon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    74
    30
    33
    36
See reviews for
81
64
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Our long term ambition to visit Florence was shattered by this run down, filthy, poorly maintained
1 bedroom apartment that we were shown the other one that we shifted to the next day wasn't much better.
The dishes were dirty, the air-conditioning didn't work nor did the TV just to mention a few of the many things wrong. Definitely not satellite TV as advertised. One of the receptionists was a little helpful, the other one very lazy and unhelpful.
The so called handyman couldn't fix a thing.
The write up on this place is entirely false on the one bedroom apartments anyway.
Whoever the wholesaler is on this place needs to check it out thoroughly before recommending it to anybody.
T & G
New Zealand.

Room Tip: the two one bedroom units - wouldn't advise staying in either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

Minneapolis
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

This property hasn't had many good reviews lately, that worried me. We had rented here in 2009 and had a good experience. IMO some travelers rent an apartment or vacation property and expect hotel type service. That has not been the case in ANY of the apartments we have rented in Europe. This is my fourth trip to Italy. We travel with friends, and find apartments give us room to stretch out and also are a good value with 2-3 couples sharing the cost. If people want a hotel experience they should stay at a hotel!!! All the apartments in Europe are "quirky" with that being part of the charm and European experience for us. Europe is old, old furniture doesn't bother us.

Management was polite and responsive to our requests.Definitely would recommend apartment in back of building as there is a bar on street level, with noise for the apartments facing the street. Wi-Fi was 5E per day, but the Free washing machines and dryer were of great help to us.

Ciompi apartment Vespucci (top floor towards the back), has 2 bedrooms, two bathrooms, large living/ dining room, large fully equpped kitchen. Was great for 2 couples. Huge bedrooms with views of the Duomo, Santa Croce or Synogogue. Really large terrace with table and chairs overlooking the city and Chianti region. Apartment wasn't spotless upon check-in, but was cleaned within hours of our asking. Sofas need a good cleaning.Received follow up phone call from management regarding reported issues.

Would stay again.

Room Tip: Back of Building, Vespucci was really quiet. Apartments facing street would be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelopolos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We arrived Just before the reception closed. After waiting for the receptionist to finish talking to her friend (?) we checked in. We were made to sign a damages form, stating that any damages made by ourselves be paid for. We then got led to the fuse box and got given a lesson on how to turn the power back onto the apartment!

The room was large, which was good for a family of four but that's the best thing about it. The room photographs well, but has not been kept clean or well maintained. The floors were sticky to walk on and badly marked in a way that felt unclean. Dust was on high surfaces. And the wardrobe was broken (this made me nervous as we had just signed a damages document). The shower takes more than 10 minutes to warm up, so put it on, then came back to it! (I didn't like wasting the water, but I do like a warm shower)

Our hotel booking clearly said, and we had a copy of this, that a buffet breakfast was included. Well we heard nothing of this the night before but assumed there was a breakfast room to go to. So in the morning my husband went looking for the breakfast only to come back confused. We decided to take the kids down to the cafe 100m down the road for breakfast. When we told the evening receptionist (seemingly a chore for her to be at work) that our room information said it included breakfast she said "No it doesn't". He told her we had it printed off an Expedia booking form showing that it does. We ended up being offered a voucher (this was nice of her) for croissants, juice and coffee (hardly a buffet breakfast but better than nothing).

I think this place does have potential to be a lot better than it is. The rooms just need a great big spring clean and update of furniture, and the staff a lesson on customer service.
We would not recommend this place as it stands.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Shabby in need of maintenance in many aspects,handbasin not draining, wardrobe door fell off in hand on arrival and other furnishing old/broken not antique, though the building photographs well. Wall safe not working and comment was that it hadn't worked for a long time!!
Reception staff congenial but don't follow through.Given a lesson on how to deal with electrical fuses as power overloading an issue! Lift not working for 2 days and when reported response was, 'It's OK'.
Cleanliness level basic but only 2 washing machines for all apartments and drier used at all hours of the night.
Kitchen functioned, bed comfortable, airconditioning worked and supermarket not far.
Location was within reasonable walking distance of most tourist points of interest as Florence is lovely.
However the location has many negative issues especially if you have a front apartment. The piazza is a natural local hangout and drinking/busking spot, there is an all hours bar and a restaurant below so it is impossible to sleep until 3.30 maybe 4.00am every day. We got lucky on our 4th night ....it rained at about 10.30 pm!! Look for alternate accommodation.

Room Tip: Maybe a back apartment if you are desperate but noise isn't the only issue this property has!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 23Flower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights, suite was exactly as pictured on website. Lovely building, apartment had tiled floors throughout, huge windows with quaint shutters and antique furniture. It was clean and comfortable, although there were about 6 lightbulbs needed replacing throughout the rooms!
The location was excellent, in less than 10 minutes we were in centre at the Dome, just following a straight road. Even from Santa Maria Novella station, it was 20 minutes walk. Everything in the centre is within walking distance, and I think this is the best way to see the sights of the cit, and saves on taxi fares!
The only problem with the apartment was the noise, it was incredible! On the Saturday night there was live music playing in the piazza outside, and every night until the early hours there was a constant noise of people passing by outside and sitting chatting in the piazza, then after the noise died down, we were awakened before 6am by the sound of the street being swept (and there always seemed to be bottles to sweep up!!) and the sound of people outside again.
Due to the noise, I would not stay here again, but would try somewhere not quite so close to the centre.
The towels were also not changed and there was no service in the apartment for the full 4 days of our stay, or on the 5th morning when we left, although this is supposed to happen every 3 days - at least there were extra towels in the wardrobe, and it was warm enough for towels to dry quite quickly when hung up.
Florence is a beautiful city, and there is plenty to see and do, I would recommend getting the Firneze Card, which gets you entry to about 30+ museums/ galleries and also allows free bus travel (local buses, not the open-top tour bus) and lasts for 72 hours, if you go to 3 or 4 museums then you cover the cost of the card, 50euros, so anything else is a bonus!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We booked this apartment through lastminute.com as a secret hotel. When we arrived t was a little unclear as to which door we should use. I've read some mixed reviews about this place and overall I can't understand them. Our apartment is massive. It has two double bedrooms, one en-suite. Large shuttered windows and rooms bathed in Florentine light. We paid £155 for 3 nights here on last minute which is exceptional value. I can't comment on how much it would be booking direct.
The supermarket is just down the street and it is a big market. The apartment's kitchen is well equipped and we have cooked both nights because we're a bit tired of eating out. Apartment has a laundry room, with dryer.
Apartment is centrally located, main tourist sights are about 10min walk.
We had really enjoyed it here and from our experience, the staff have been friendly and helpful, contrary to some other reviews.
We would say here again and bring friends because the place is perfect for it. I add that outside noise was minimal.

Room Tip: Ask for Dante apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courts_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Le Due Fontane
Hotel Le Due Fontane
#239 of 421 in Florence
469 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti
Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti
#171 of 421 in Florence
920 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
#223 of 421 in Florence
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Alinari
Hotel Alinari
#328 of 421 in Florence
290 reviews
San Marco
Hotel de la Pace
Hotel de la Pace
#174 of 421 in Florence
144 reviews
Santa Croce
J & J Historic House Hotel
J & J Historic House Hotel
#172 of 421 in Florence
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MsnSuite Apartments Palazzo dei Ciompi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MsnSuite Apartments Palazzo dei Ciompi

Property: MsnSuite Apartments Palazzo dei Ciompi
Address: Piazza Dei Ciompi 18, 50100, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 297 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — MsnSuite Apartments Palazzo dei Ciompi 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suite Apartments Palazzo dei Ciompi formerly "Palazzo Pascolutti- Giani" is a 19th Century building composed of 21 completely renovated suite apartments. The Palazzo Dei Ciompi suite apartments was previously home to the "Accademia dei Risoluti", which gave birth to the Florence theatre named "Alfieri". On the main gate there is an engraving of the "Cavallo Sfrenato" ( the galloping horse) symbol of the "Accademia dei Risoluti" whose motto was "valoroso destrier passa e non cura", (brave horse passing without fear). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your MsnSuite Apartments Palazzo dei Ciompi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Msnsuite Apartments Palazzo Dei Ciompi Hotel Florence
Palazzo Dei Ciompi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing