We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad hotel, suspicious money-grabbing practices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MsnSuite Apartments Palazzo dei Ciompi
Ranked #209 of 297 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bad hotel, suspicious money-grabbing practices”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Everything else pointed out in other reviews is true. No cleaning, noisy, ridiculous 'self-catering breakfast', deceiving pictures on their website, bad wi-fi (which you pay for). And the location is not that great either.

But I'd like to focus on the rudeness and attitude of service there, especially a Russian-sounding receptionist called Irina who seems to run an elaborate money-grabbing scheme called 'late check-in service'.

Having arrived at 7.30pm on a Sunday, there was a note on the entrance of the hotel saying that check in after 7pm carries a fee of 40 euro, which I foolishly paid the day after. When I checked the hotel website though it said nothing about this, and my travel agency also told me nothing about a late check-in fee. Actually check-in times were advertised as '9-9 every day'.

When I challenged Irina about this, she said that the 7pm check-in fee applies only for Sundays. She then pointed out to the rules and regulations of the hotel in a frame on the wall of the reception. But then when I told her that the note I had seen posted on the door made no reference about 'Sunday only late check-in fee', she said there was no note and indeed it had been removed since I last saw it the day I moved in! When I told her that the website says nothing about this and challenged her to see this for herself online, she said she 'couldn't find this information on the website'.

It became obvious to me that this late check-in fee is completely arbitrary, never communicated to customers and probably a scheme the receptionist (or even the ownership) of this god-forsaken hotel runs for personal benefit.

The day after I let her know I'd be coming in with the police. This must have shaken her and she then gave me an email sent to her by the 'mediatore' of my reservation (not my travel agency) which confirmed the rules of check-in that had never been given to me. But on the email printout was also her original email, on which Irina wrote in Italian: 'Can you please do something about this as the client said he'll go to the police and even though I'm sure they'll send him to hell, he's very annoying'!!! Such nerve to give me a printout where she was calling one of her clients names!!! And of course who the mediatore is and how truthful their answer is, remains doubtful.

In addition to the above, Irina gave me no receipt for the 40 euro she took from me, just a self-written piece of paper with her signature. I have now left Florence but a friend of mine lives there permanently and intends to pursue this money-grabbing scheme by involving the Polizia Finanziaria. On top of this, it's obvious this hotel runs a very dodgy business advertising things it does not offer. The touristic police of Florence will have to look into this and my friend intends to let them know as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank manu035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    74
    30
    33
    36
See reviews for
81
64
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Nobody to meet us , they finally arrived 2hrs later at 2am. Rooms dirty, curtains grey and hanging off rails. Toilet stained dark brown, shower blocked for 4 days with 4ins of dirty water, rubbish left outside room.No air conditioning, no satelite tv , cleaner once once in 12 days, no breakfast for 5 days. We have to buy cleaning products and toilet rolls. We were also informed by a local resident that we were located in a know drugs area. In the morning before the streets were cleaned we had to walk through broken bottles. Cocktail lounge was in fact just a local bar.Nobody around to help us , local bar had to book our taxi for us.Florence was great but Msnsuites ruined our holiday, no way was it 5* luxury accommodation. Do not stay there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We arrived at the reception desk with the print out of our reservation and the confirmation sent 2 days before.We were informed that we were not on their reservation list,that the apartments were fully booked,the receptionist had never heard of LateRooms.com,that every hotel in Florence was fully booked,and as we did not have a reservation with them she was not going to help us.Her expectation was that we would leave,not her concern.
The check-in line behind us was starting to lengthen.I spoke in both Italian and English so that all the other guests could understand the situation.One party of American ladies behind us were checking into an "identical" apartment for 6 people,like the one that we had booked. l produced an Italian ID card.Her attitude changed.
A phone call was made by her ,apparently one party was not arriving until the next day;l do not know if this was true or not,maybe they were bumped off as they had tried to do to us.We were given a one bed room apartment with two uncomfortable sofa beds;it was very cold;minimal bedding;there was a gap in the attic roof in the kitchenette ,daylight and rain came in,water collected on the floor and dangerously on the work surfaces near electric sockets.The inclusive Wi-Fi package was not honoured.We were spoken to as if we should be grateful that we had not been thrown onto the street.
As with other reviews,l found the absence of staff in the building apart from check-in very unhelpful,but also they are not helpful when they are there.
To the credit of LateRooms.com,they have taken up our complaint in a concerned and courteous manner.Their customer service department tried over 10 days to contact the property;the telephone was never picked up and E-mails were not replied to.LateRooms.com have now informed me that they cannot risk placing any future clients in this property ,disliking in particular the lack of accountability and failure to communicate with the agent;the property has been erased from their site.As with other comments l agree this property has huge potential,it deserves more intelligent management.

Room Tip: Telephone before your arrival to confirm if you have a booking or have been double booked/bumped off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank marian_guglielmoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubbo
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for three nights in a two bedroom apartment. We have a family of five with three teenagers so need space. It had two bathrooms, kitchen, oven and stove, lounge area and washing and drying facilities( rare in Europe). We only walked 5-10 minutes to main attractions. Would return.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank family5Dubbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had a 4th floor apartment at the back, so nice and quiet. One entered to the lounge, with kitchen off (fridge, freezer, hob, dishwasher, oven, toaster, kettle & microwave), then went to a twin bedroom, with two iron frame single beds and no windows. Off this was a large bathroom with a rather weak shower and other usual facilities. Also off the inner bedroom was a 2nd bedroom with a double bed, bedside tables and wardrobe, and outside window looking on to the Jewish synagogue. The bed was comfortable, but sheets old and had a hole in one of them.
The lounge contained a table for 6, a put you up settee and a storage chest. There was a flat screen TV. Room prep could be improved, there were several lightbulbs out.
It was in a superb location, in easy walking distance of the main attractions, also a good local supermarket.
Reception not 24hrs availability, but helpful and had good English

Room Tip: rooms at the front overlooking the square are likely to be noisier
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Fantastic building, central location, spacious rooms decorated tastefully with antique and modern touches! The fresco in the living/dining room is as beautiful as the photos in the advertisement. Private, luxurious feeling yet totally affordable! I stayed in a large 2 bedroom with 2 bathrooms with 2 other adults and it was perfect! The best place to stay if you have more than a few days. We cooked a lot and enjoyed buying fresh ingredients at the nearby market open until 2 everyday. So the AC leaked a little, Who cares! These things are normal.
Absolutely fabulous! A true gem in the middle of Florence!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Dante apartment. Felt like my own apartment for a week. Love the antique furniture w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelakaCoralSkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

4 of us stayed 4 nights in the Fresco Ceiling apartment (Bottecelli) . Everything was clean on arrival and there was everything we needed except for a small occasional table that would have been useful for holding drinks etc when seated on the sofa/bed. The staff were extremely helpful and there is plenty of space in the rooms, all of which have high ceilings. Despite being situated 2 floors above 2 bar/restaurants, the double glazing made for peaceful nights sleep. The air conditioning kept the rooms at a welcoming temperature after roaming the streets of Florence in 32+*C!
We had booked 'with breakfast' and there was an ample supply of everything we needed - and this was restocked after 2 days. Only criticism was the sofa/bed which was a little uncomfortable where the mattress did not provide optimum cushioning from the the steel frame when used as a bed - never-the-less we slept well. Also the 'seats' when used in sofa mode had to be secured to the metal frame to stop them sliding forward - we didn't bother.
The ceiling is a wonderful feature that brings the ambiance of Florence into the apartment. Value for money is also good so we shall stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fotofundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
#225 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Le Due Fontane
Hotel Le Due Fontane
#238 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti
Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti
#176 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Alinari
Hotel Alinari
#321 of 421 in Florence
3.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Santa Croce
J & J Historic House Hotel
J & J Historic House Hotel
#168 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
San Marco
Hotel de la Pace
Hotel de la Pace
#177 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MsnSuite Apartments Palazzo dei Ciompi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MsnSuite Apartments Palazzo dei Ciompi

Property: MsnSuite Apartments Palazzo dei Ciompi
Address: Piazza Dei Ciompi 18, 50100, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 297 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — MsnSuite Apartments Palazzo dei Ciompi 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suite Apartments Palazzo dei Ciompi formerly "Palazzo Pascolutti- Giani" is a 19th Century building composed of 21 completely renovated suite apartments. The Palazzo Dei Ciompi suite apartments was previously home to the "Accademia dei Risoluti", which gave birth to the Florence theatre named "Alfieri". On the main gate there is an engraving of the "Cavallo Sfrenato" ( the galloping horse) symbol of the "Accademia dei Risoluti" whose motto was "valoroso destrier passa e non cura", (brave horse passing without fear). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your MsnSuite Apartments Palazzo dei Ciompi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Msnsuite Apartments Palazzo Dei Ciompi Hotel Florence
Palazzo Dei Ciompi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing