We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable, friendly”
Review of Il Bargello B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Bargello B&B
Ranked #77 of 675 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, comfortable, friendly”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Not only is Il Bargello B&B a fantastic location, but it was surprisingly one of the quietest rooms of our stay in Italy! This was definitely not what we expected, but we were very pleased. Lynn and Gabriella were fantastic hosts and very hospitable. Both are originally from North America so they understand what you are looking for and are very good about explaining the Italian culture to you. They really made our stay a home away from home with the friendly conversation and recommendations, the great breakfast (Gabriella made coffee for us each morning and set out breakfast while inquiring about how our stay was going and visiting with us) and the homey atmosphere. The weather was not great while we were there, so we didn't get to take advantage of the patio up top, but it looked lovely. We also enjoyed exchanging stories with other American travelers staying there at the same time. We highly recommend Il Bargello B&B for your stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    93
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
36
229
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Good points
- location
- price
- rooftop terrace
- clean
- good size room
- common lounge area (with computer available)
- staff made future reservations for sites
- comfortable mattress + good sheets
Bad points
- limited breakfast offerings when compared to our other 4 B&B's we stayed at during trip (one also in Florence)
- had to ask for coffee, and silverware, and napkin, not enough clean dishes + glasses, only 1 apple in fruit bowl (and that was rotten)
- shower had poor water pressure and temperature of water changed constantly + quickly back and forth from cold to extreme hot (both mornings)
- had a room with a private terrace but hundreds of red bugs (smaller than ants) on it so weren't comfortable using it or even keeping door open for fresh air. We were told they come every May + weren't of any concern even though she didn't know what they were.
- dark with poor lighting in room
- real squeaky bed
- no shampoo or wash clothes
- and of course the stairs

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We have just spent 2 days and nights at Il Bargello and it came as billed. The 77 steps with suitcases are somewhat of a challenge....the additional 18 steps to rooftop patio and view of the Duomo, makes it all worthwhile. The accommodations are spartan and the rooms are pretty tight. Breakfast is simple and basic. But what can you expect at bargain rates of 100 euros when everyone else in this same location is paying close to 200 euros per night. The place is clean and neat. Recommend trying to get a room not facing the street as Firenzians like to party into the wee hours of the morning and things can get noisy. We were advised to sleep with ear wax in by guests who were just checking out. I did not find that necessary. Gabrielle and Lynn are able hostesses who can provide lots of info on restaurants and museums. Florence is a wonderful city for walking, and this location..next to the Bargello...cannot be beat. If you don't need too many luxuries....and we do not....this B&B provides all that is necessary to make your stay in Florence memorable.

Room Tip: away from street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cantilevered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alliance, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stayed here for five nights in April, and we enjoyed it very much. O.K., first the stipulations. It is a bit of a hike up the stairs, but we only did it once a day on most days. I understand that the street facing rooms are a bit noisy on some evenings (weekend revelers), although our room wasn't. The breakfast was good, but not exceptional. Everything else was fantastic. The location is excellent. Old Florence is a small city, and the central location of Il Bargello means you can easily walk almost everywhere (the four of us did, and we are all around 65). The decor is quaint and well maintained. The rooftop terrace is wonderful--especially for some conversation with other guests (accompanied by wine and cheese, of course) after a day of sightseeing or museum-hopping. The other common living spaces are very nice, and lend themselves to casual conversation--which we really enjoyed. The staff is very friendly and eager to help with suggestions for places to eat, how to get to various locations, and booking reservations. We loved it here, and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra for a larger room, and it was worth it. We had our own little balcony, and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Fantastic location and a wonderful oasis from Firenze's tourist hordes. Gabriella makes you feel right at home; comfy communal areas--kitchen, sitting room and marvelous rooftop terrace--are for guests to enjoy. You can make yourself a cup of tea at any hour and relax with a glass of wine on the roof, literally a stone's throw from the amazing Bargello museum. Gabriella's restaurant recommendations were excellent. A relaxed, convivial atmosphere. The other guests were wonderful to chat with. Very restful, rejuvenating--perfect especially for North American travelers needing home comforts amidst the touristy bustle. Absolutely quiet, bed like a lovely nest, immaculately clean. A bit of a hike up many, many stairs, but more than worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loren154976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We spent three night at Il Bargello last week. Where to start?! The location is FABULOUS- a short walk to the Uffizi, Piazza Della Signoria and the Ponte Vecchio bridge to name a few. Gabriella was fantastic about making recommendations for dinner- we had the best food of our trip in Florence. She even helped us book our online train ticket to the Cinque Terre. We loved the rooftop patio- it must be one of the most fantastic views in all of Florence. Our room was comfy and super clean. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickelbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

My only complaint is the hike up to your room. We had seven flights of stairs.. and I was not prepared. Next time, I will remember to wear a backpack and not carry luggage.

The room served it's purpose. The terrace was a great place to relax and take in the ambiance of the city.

The breakfast was very good. A good variety of items.

The staff person was very helpful with tours and sites of the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LostSoul624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Dei Mori Bed and Breakfast
Dei Mori Bed and Breakfast
#251 of 675 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Duomo
La Residenza del Proconsolo
La Residenza del Proconsolo
#159 of 675 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Duomo
B & B Cimatori
B & B Cimatori
#83 of 675 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Badia Fiorentina Bed and Breakfast
Duomo
Hotel del Corso
Hotel del Corso
#24 of 675 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Duomo
A Florence View B&B
A Florence View B&B
#13 of 675 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Bargello B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Bargello B&B

Property: Il Bargello B&B
Address: Via De' Pandolfini 33, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 675 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Bargello B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of Florence's newest gems situated in a 15th century building in the very heart of downtown Florence. Our cosy, completely NON-smoking home was entirely renovated in 2004. All the rooms have their own private en-suite bathroom with shower, air conditioning, hair dryer, telephone and free wireless internet connection. Also accessible to all of our guests, is a roof-top terrace with a spectacular view of downtown Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Il Bargello B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Bargello Bed And Breakfast
Il Bargello Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing