We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable location, Florence with a view, would stay here again”
Review of Il Bargello B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Il Bargello B&B
Ranked #84 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Exceptional value right in the heart of Florence. Gabriella and Krista provided very good service before our arrival and during our stay. Breakfast was standard European B&B fare, the rooms were recently renovated, private baths, beds were too firm for both couples, 76 steps to the B&B from the ground may be a bit too much for some as there is no elevator, shower curtain in one room was too light and a real bother in the shower. This B&B has a roof top terrace with shelter, table and chairs with a view that could not be beat-three bell towers, the Duomo, etc. Magnificent! Common area to use for the guests including free use of the kitchen an the high quality espresso machine. Would highly recommend and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Navfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

I stayed there for a longer weekend. The rooms are quite small but for a 3,5 days it did not matter much. It is perfect for visiting most of the landmarks offered by the city of Florence.
Clean and comfortable versus its price. Simple breakfasts served in the morning were included in the room rate. As it was summer I struggled at night with mosquitoes in the room but this can be of course prevented if you use the AC and not open the windows.
If I will ever be back in Florence, of course I hope to be, I will definitely stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warszawianka68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My mother & I stayed here in late June, and fell in love with this charming B & B. The owners are helpful, the rooms are cozy, the common rooms are spacious, and the atmosphere instantly put us at ease. The location was wonderful; we were able to walk everywhere with no problems. If I return to Florence, I would absolutely stay here again. HIGHLY recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MackieFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

As usual we had a wonderful stay.
I just love all the common areas which are so comfortable, to be able to come and go as you please during the day is a big plus, if you feel like a rest you can relax on the terrace or in the lounge it's wonderful. Having the kitchen is great too as if you don't want to eat out you can get produce from the super market which is really near or one of the two local markets and make dinner for yourself or maybe get a takeaway pizza.
The interaction with the other guests is always an enjoyable part of our holiday here, it's so interesting finding out where everyone has been, or is going on to, there is usually someone to have a chat to and breakfast is an ideal time with just the one table which everyone shares, a good time to catch up with the previous days sightseeing trips.
Gabriella as usual is an excellent host. I can not understand why people complain about the noise from the street as this is part of the whole character of the city and the B & B is in one of the quieter streets and areas anyway. I love to hear all the hussle and bussle and the bells ringing from all the different bell towers. Ask for a room at the back if you think this may be an issue for you as they are not above the street.
I have now lost track on how many times we have visited (eight or nine) Plus other members of the family have also loved comming here.
Thank you Gabriella and Massimo for all your hard work in making this a home from home for us.

Room Tip: Rooms at back are away from the street and therefore quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strogili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Travelers looking for historical ambiance, helpful & gracious hosts, a beautiful space and great location in the old part of Florence would be wonderfully served by Il Bargello. We stayed three nights in late May and can confirm all of the previous comments. The roof terrace in particular was a plus. Every evening we sat with Chianti & cheese (& even slices of leftover bistecca alla fiorentina) to watch the sun set over the city. Don't be daunted by the long flights of stairs if you want to stay in historic buildings in medieval town centers - they are the norm. And they get you in shape for climbing the Duomo.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyFeet-Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay in Florence. Gabriella is a gracious hostess and Canadian expat (native English speaker). She provided lots of helpful advice from the bus to Piazzale Michelangelo to museum access and best way to car rental office. I highly recommend Piazzale Michelangelo as a first stop in Florence at sunset as it provides sweeping views of the historic center, and the opportunity to catch Gregorian chants at vespers at San Miniato just a bit further up the hill.

The room was small (by far not the smallest we stayed in Italy), but the bed was comfortable and not assembled from two twins. Breakfast was great including friendly conversation with fellow travelers. The location is perfect, right across the street from the Bargello, one of the must see sights in Florence. As mentioned by others, four flights of stairs with no elevator, but this is not uncommon in Italy unless you restrict your stays to 5 star hotels (at 5 times the rate). I prefer to be pleasantly surprised by the occasional elevator rather than expect it and be disappointed. Also, effective air conditioning is much more important and rare in Italy.

Gabriella warned us that the Bargello no longer sells the expensive buy highly worthwhile Firenze Card, which bypasses ticket lines for many Florence venues, now including the Duomo. Fortunately, the Palazzo Vecchio was the perfect alternative, as it was open until midnight, uncrowded after dark, and Piazza della Signoria is magical after dark. Check with Gabriella, as the late open venues change periodically.

Room Tip: all rooms are equally quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Agree with many others: best part of this B & B is the location (within easy walking distance of all the "must sees") and the rooftop terrace (what a view!). Friendly, helpful managers/owners, simple but adequate breakfast, nice "common room". Not for the elderly (too many stairs!), but if you're going to Italy, you had better be in shape: there are lots of stairs (and hills)!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathycpope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Maxim
Hotel Maxim
#232 of 411 in Florence
758 reviews
Duomo
Ferdinando II dei Medici
Ferdinando II dei Medici
#274 of 411 in Florence
75 reviews
Duomo
B & B Cimatori
B & B Cimatori
#75 of 659 in Florence
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
B&B De' Biffi Firenze
B&B De' Biffi Firenze
#87 of 659 in Florence
122 reviews
Duomo
Residenza Giotto
Residenza Giotto
#128 of 659 in Florence
416 reviews
Duomo
I Quattro Poeti
I Quattro Poeti
#100 of 659 in Florence
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Bargello B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Bargello B&B

Address: Via De' Pandolfini 33, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: £69 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Bargello B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your special “home away from home” in Florence. Come and enjoy the spectacular view from our roof top terrace amidst Florence’s historical Towers. In March 2004, my husband and I opened Bed & Breakfast Il Bargello. Our objective was to create a comfortable and central meeting point for travelers from all over to come together and share their experiences. Located on the 3rd floor (no elevator service) in a historical building dating back to the 1400’s, we created 6 comfortable rooms all with private in suite bathrooms. To satisfy the growing demand for groups & families, in February 2014, we added a self-contained apartment, our Executive Suite located right across the hallway from the Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Il Bargello B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Bargello Bed And Breakfast
Il Bargello Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing