We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place to stay”
Review of Il Bargello B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Il Bargello B&B
Ranked #79 of 640 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We spent 4 nights here and loved it. It is very central to all the sights in Florence. It is clean, well air-conditioned with windows that can be opened if the weather is nice. It also has a great private terrace from which most of the dome can be seen. Gabrielle and Simone were very friendly and helpful. We would definately stay here again. The only improvement/recommendation I would make would be to add some protein to the carb heavy breakfast, perhaps a boiled egg or some cheese.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jswTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    94
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
38
231
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arvada, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

First stay in Florence, there were six of us traveling from the states. We could not have asked for a better place to rest our traveling bodies. Gabriella makes you feel at home, with a wonderful cup of coffee in the morning, great conversation, and a garden terrace that provides a roof top look at the city of Florence. Her location was perfect to all the sights we wanted to see and Gabriella and Simone provided little tips on restaurants and shopping that helped us a lot in a city we were unfamiliar with. Highly recommend this B & B!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Our first stay in Italy was a great way to start our vacation, what a gem of a B&B. Gabriella makes your stay even better, what a wonderful hostess. Our room was so comfortable, and we really enjoyed our small balcony. Breakfast in the morning was a wonderful start to each day, we visited
with all the other guest and Gabriella, met new friends, and the cappuccino is awesome. Gabriella
was always so helpful with directions, attractions, and resturants, so happy to help in any way. Just remember there are many stairs to climb to get to her door, but well worth it !

Room Tip: 3 flights of stairs to climb to get to the B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shayroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This B&B was very nice. The owner and her helper were friendly and very helpful. We arrived in Florence much earlier than expected (10:30 am) and were a little hesitant about showing up at the B&B too early. When we rang the bell and told them that we had reservations, the owner responded with a very friendly exclamation of my first name and expressed excitement that we have arrived. I knew from other reviews that they were on the 3rd floor (4th for US) and that they had no elevator. The owner and her helper came running down the stairs to help us with our luggage. Once at the B&B, they were more than eager to get us settled even with our early arrival. Throughout our stay they were very friendly and continued to provide helpful information.

The location was ideal and very convenient. The hotel is only a half a block from the Bargello Museum and 1 block to the Uffizi Gallery. It was only about a 2-3 block walk to the Duomo.

Room Tip: Our room had a balcony which was a very nice place to kick back and relax for an hour before heading...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights. Location is perfect- close to everything we wanted to see. You can see the top of the Duomo and the tower of the Bargello from the rooftop deck, which is an excellent spot for early evening wine and snacks. Gabriella is a great hostess, and we enjoyed the breakfast in her kitchen along with the conversation. The room was small, but neat and clean. The only complaint we could make would be the outside noise at all hours of the night. But, that comes with sleeping in the heart of a tourist filled city. The steps to the rooms are steep and long, which might be tough for some. Bring small luggage!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Boscoe1695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed at Il Bargello only one night, as we only spent one night in Florence. The location was fantastic! The owners were very nice and were there to greet us the afternoon we arrived. They gave us a quick tour and then let us hit the town. The rooms were nice, with great views. The roof top terrace is a must see. We grabbed a bottle of wine from a local shop and enjoyed the late evening views. Breakfast was good, they make a mean cappuccino. We got up a little early so we were trying not to wake other guests. If anything, the walls are a tough bit thin, so you could hear people stumbling back in during the wee hours. The stairs are a bear as well, it feels like you will never get to the top ;-)

But alas, the place is a great place to stay. Clean, close to everything, and only a 6-8 euro taxi ride to the train station, and about 15 minutes to the airport. It was really a gem, we wish we could have stayed an additional night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrangeCoLumberTruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, FL
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Just finished another stay at il Bargello, this time with my grown daughter and a good friend. I have stayed at il Bargello several times in the past few years; in different rooms and in the apartment. I would stay nowhere else in Florence. Beyond the cleanliness, the view from the terrace and the unmatched location, it's Gabriella who makes this B&B an extraordinary experience. Over several stays she has fought the airlines on my behalf about lost luggage, given great advice about navigating Florence, helped me try to sound like an Italian when ordering food...and does it with vitality that always impresses. Frankly, I don't know how she does it. She genuinely makes you feel at home.

Simply, I would not stay anywhere else in Florence. My advice is that you cannot go wrong and will be delighted with all aspects of il Bargello. I wish I could give more than five stars.

My daughter and friend thanked me several times for insisting we stay at il Bargello.

My only reservation about giving five enthusiastic stars is that I will shoot myself in the foot by contributing to her popularity and she will become so booked-up that the next time I seek a booking, she won't have a room. I would probably rearrange my trip to get a room with her (and I'm not kidding).

Go to Firenze, stay at Gabriella's and it will be gold lining to your trip.

Note...I saw one reviewer complain about breakfast. I'm not sure if they didn't take their medicine or they come from another planet, or have never been in Italy before or what, but I'll be polite and only say I strongly disagree with them.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent...just pick one and enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Dei Mori Bed and Breakfast
Dei Mori Bed and Breakfast
#285 of 640 in Florence
87 reviews
Duomo
B & B Cimatori
B & B Cimatori
#80 of 640 in Florence
301 reviews
Duomo
La Residenza del Proconsolo
La Residenza del Proconsolo
#212 of 640 in Florence
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Panella's Residence
Panella's Residence
#90 of 640 in Florence
270 reviews
Duomo
Badia Fiorentina Bed and Breakfast
Duomo
N4U Guest House
N4U Guest House
#192 of 640 in Florence
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Bargello B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Bargello B&B

Property: Il Bargello B&B
Address: Via de Pandolfini 33, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 640 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Bargello B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of Florence's newest gems situated in a 15th century building in the very heart of downtown Florence. Our cosy, completely NON-smoking home was entirely renovated in 2004. All the rooms have their own private en-suite bathroom with shower, air conditioning, hair dryer, telephone and free wireless internet connection. Also accessible to all of our guests, is a roof-top terrace with a spectacular view of downtown Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Il Bargello B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Bargello Bed And Breakfast
Il Bargello Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing