We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed once...and came back.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Bargello B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Bargello B&B
Ranked #79 of 653 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    92
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
35
226
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2005

We stayed four nights in this excellant B&B. Our room and shower room was modern, clean with air-conditioning. The location was right in the centre of the historic area. A wonderful roof terrace allowed you to sit above the rooftops and listen to the sounds of Florence below. Only problem was the three flights of stairs which would be impossible for elderly or disabled. Thank you for your hospitality

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
22 Thank oilrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2005

We stayed at the Bargello for four nights the end of May and couldn't have been more delighted. Gabriella was the best host of any B&B I've stayed in. She gave excellent dining and touring information, even making dinner reservations for us each night. The price was a steal and the location was perfect. We walked easily to all the main attractions. The room, bathroom and home were spotless. Our was more cozy than spacious, and may have been one of her smaller rooms, judging from other reviews. We had to manuver a little around our suitcases, but this wasn't really a problem. If space is an issue, ask for one of her larger rooms. The roof top terrace was very relaxing in the late afternoon with a bottle of wine. However, being on the top floor with 3 long flights of stairs was a trek (but worth it!). If stairs are difficult for you, you may want to consider this. We would stay again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed May 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2005

It is my pleasure to highly recommend Il Bargello Bed and Breakfast in Florence, Italy. I stayed in this wonderful, comfortable place for over two weeks and it felt like I was with family - and the price is more than reasonable. Gabriella and Massimo are the most hospitable guests – they make you feel like home. Gabriella keeps everything immaculate and is always ready to help. She has great recommendations for places to eat – even making reservations for you. You can have a glass of wine on the rooftop terrace and enjoy the view of Florence. The three-story climb to this incredibly centrally located B & B keeps you in shape for all the walking you want to do in Florence. I wouldn’t think of staying anywhere else when I am in Florence.
Anne and Kurt from Tahoe

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2005

Il Bargello was the perfect stay for us, right from the cheery “we are on the 3rd floor” and the welcome sound of footsteps as Massimo hurried down to help us up the steps with our luggage, to the whole friendly ‘family’ experience.
The rooms were spotless and comfortable; breakfast was the perfect start to the day with freshly made cappuccinos, different types of bread, cereal, yoghurts and fruit juice.

It is very well situated within easy walking distance of all the major highlights of historic Florence, some of which can be seen from the secluded roof top terrace over a glass or two of wine, glasses and corkscrew provided, naturally.

Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for Gabriella; she has a wealth of local knowledge which can be invaluable when deciding on how to make the most of the vacation, from advice on the best ice cream shop to the perfect place for an evening meal.

We really enjoyed our stay at Il Bargello and would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
22 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2005

We were in florence for 4 nights in April. I found Il Bargello through TripAdvisor (of course!) and everything we heard was correct. It is true - the hikes up the stone steps are arduous, but once inside we found a haven of peace, quiet, and warmth. Gabriella seems to speak every language beautifully, which makes getting information on places to go and things to do very easy. She and Massimo are devoted to their guests, to the point of going to the airport for me to retrieve a forgotten cellphone - mille grazie! The room was immaculate, the private bathroom was new and more than comfortable, and the rooftop patio a perfect way to unwind and get the flavor of Florence. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank mariacaterina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2005

Il Bargello is a nice place to stay in Florence. Very central and quiet.

It's very high up and there's no lift. If you are even slightly disabled or struggle with stairs you might be better off elsewhere. With heavy cases it was a struggle for me, and I'd consider myself fit.

Gabriella is most helpful. There was a minor logistical problem shortly after booking - we'd booked for three nights and it turned out that Gabriella only had one night available. She called us from Italy, e-mailed us several times, sorted out the problem and found us somewhere else nice to stay. It was beyond the call, really. Breakfast is nice with brioche and cappuccino available. You do eat round one big kitchen table though, so if you prefer to sit on your own table and grunt lovingly at each other like some of us do first thing in the morning, you might find this off-putting.

Rooms were nicely furnished. Our bed was very comfortable. There was no telly and the bathroom was small, but as we were only there for a night it didn't incovenience us.

Overall we enjoyed staying at Il Bargello and would stay there again. If you contact Gabriella and she has no space, ask her whether she could find out if Bruno has rooms at the Badia B+B down the road [I don't think he's on Trip Advisor]. That's where we stayed for the other two nights we were in Firenze. Bruno the owner is lovely and his B+B's nice and comfy.

Paul and Sarah-Jane Venables

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank PRV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
#178 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Duomo
B & B Cimatori
B & B Cimatori
#87 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Duomo
Dei Mori Bed and Breakfast
Dei Mori Bed and Breakfast
#244 of 653 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Badia Fiorentina Bed and Breakfast
Uffizi
La Signoria di Firenze B&B
La Signoria di Firenze B&B
#27 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Duomo
Residenza Giotto
Residenza Giotto
#152 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Bargello B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Bargello B&B

Property: Il Bargello B&B
Address: Via De' Pandolfini 33, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Bargello B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of Florence's newest gems situated in a 15th century building in the very heart of downtown Florence. Our cosy, completely NON-smoking home was entirely renovated in 2004. All the rooms have their own private en-suite bathroom with shower, air conditioning, hair dryer, telephone and free wireless internet connection. Also accessible to all of our guests, is a roof-top terrace with a spectacular view of downtown Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Il Bargello B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Bargello Hotel Florence
Il Bargello Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing