We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with a view”
Review of Hotel Bretagna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bretagna
Ranked #125 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel with a view”
Reviewed 26 October 2012

This hotel was recommended to us by a friend and it was perfect, an easy walk from the railway station and great views over the Arno. The staff were so friendly and gave us a list of nearby restaurants, nothing was too much trouble.
There is a balcony just off reception and we would come back and sit outside with a glass of wine and watch the world go by. There was also a comfortable lounge with internet access.
The breakfast was amazing with a fantastic choice so no need for lunch. I would certainly stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodloversedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    431
    105
    37
    29
See reviews for
200
554
80
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Hotel Bretagna is in the best possible location for your stay in Florence. The staff was helpful beyond the call of duty and the breakfast was excellent. My bed was HARD which caused some back pain, but this is better than too soft.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This hotel will fulfill all your expectations at a reasonable price. The rooms are beautiful, the service is wonderful, the breakfast is elegant and it is right on the Arno one bridge away from Ponte Vecchio. My friends and I swooned over this lovely little gem. I can't wait to bring my husband back here.

Room Tip: The rooms with a view are for more than one person. So, come with a friend or a partner. My little s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2012

This is the first time I have ever taken the time to write a review online. I am a frequent traveller that has seen much of the world and stayed in many hotels. I feel that it is necessary for me to recognize the excellence of this hotel. First of all the staff at this hotel go above and beyond to ensure that you enjoy your stay there. I am 25 years old and was traveling on my own this summer, the Staff especially (Martina) spent a lot of time planning my visit in Florence, as well as making great recommendations for my future travels in italy. I can honestly say that I was extremely shocked with how amazing they were. I work in the customer service industry and I look up to the way that the staff treated me at Hotel Bretagna. On top of the amazng staff the location is absolutely beautiful and the hotel is extremely clean. There is honestly nothing bad that I can say about it, except that you have to see it to believe it. Thank you so much to the Staff at Hotel Bretagna, especially Martina.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5Kasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Old, very tired hotel. Only positive is location. Front desk staff are very nice and friendly. However, the rooms are very spartan, basic, simple but at least clean. We were lucky to get a room over the Arno. No bell staff to get your luggage upstairs (lobby is on second floor with tiny 'lift' and no help with parking a car out front. Breakfast simple, basic and in a small plain room. There have got to be tons of better options. Really not worth saving the money for this very antiquated place.

Room Tip: Demand a view of the Arno; if not, look elsewhere. In fact, look elsewhere anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We spent a week at the hotel; we found the staff excellent, very pleasant and ready to help.
Breakfast was buffet style, with plenty of choice, although the only warm food available was scrambled egg and frankfurter -type sausages.
Our room was good, but would benefit from having the facility to make your own tea / coffee. The location was excellent, very close to the Ponte Vecchia, and overlooking the river Arno.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

This hotel is on the Arno about 2 blocks from the Ponte Vecchio so you can walk to everything of interest in Florence. The staff is outstanding - friendly, helpful with advice about very good, medium priced restaurants and tourist sites.We emailed them in advance of our visit and they made reservations for us at the Uffizi and the Accademia Gallery which saved us from waiting in line. The rooms are large and colorful - this is an old palazzo. Especilly at sunrise and sunset the view from their balcony overlooking the Arno is scenic and worth checking out for memoriable photos.
If you arrive by train, as we did, and your luggage is on wheels this hotel is within walking distance from the train station.

Room Tip: the superior rooms are substantially larger and nicer than the standard rooms - the historical junio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJBKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#63 of 412 in Florence
606 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#48 of 412 in Florence
1,531 reviews
Uffizi
Torre Guelfa Hotel
Torre Guelfa Hotel
#84 of 412 in Florence
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
#179 of 412 in Florence
409 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Della Signoria
Hotel Della Signoria
#49 of 412 in Florence
451 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#33 of 412 in Florence
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bretagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bretagna

Property: Hotel Bretagna
Address: Lungarno Corsini 6, 50123, Florence, Italy (Formerly "Pensione Bretagna")
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Florence
#85 Family Hotel in Florence
#89 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bretagna 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bretagna **, as well as Residenza d'Epoca Bretagna, are located within the Gianfigliazzi Palace (former home of Louis Bonaparte King of Holland). The position of the building is the best we can expect to enjoy the artistic and architectural beauties of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bretagna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bretagna Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing